We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy Mexican” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Bravo

El Toro Bravo
10186 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161
(530) 587-3557
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 99 Restaurants in Truckee
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Greasy Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a local favorite. Not my favorite though. It's a little rough on the inside. In the summer they have a good deck for outdoor seating and lots of TV's to watch football, the complimentary chips and salsa is nice. And the bar staff is pretty good, but the food is greasy american-mexican. It's not that well done. It's a good place to go when you just don't want to cook.

A word of caution, check your bill at the end of the meal and make sure they totaled it correctly. This has happened to me twice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearlake Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT DRINKS!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The drinks here are reasonable and very good!! However the food?? Food is ok, good.. over the top? no.. Food is a bit overpriced for what you get..
We had a special at $7.99 Chili Relleno w/rice/beans, not bad.. Lunch menu with a beef taco (size about like taco bell $1 taco) and Chili Relleno $13 plus!!
My advise would be to have the specials.. no tacos as they are super expensive!!
Food was decent..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Margarita and apps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped by for a drink and some apps on a friday afternoon. We had the ceviche and chips and salsa. We also ordered a couple of margaritas, I can't remember what the name was but I'm pretty sure they cost $9. At first I thought this was a little steep, but this was a seriously potent cocktail. It easily had double to triple the tequila that you would get at other places and they actually used a good tasting tequila (i.e. 100% agave, not jose cuervo). I enjoyed the ceviche and the salsa was great. Good service. I really wanted to back here for dinner but ran out of time. Next time I'm in Truckee I will go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Bartender!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Sit at the bar and enjoy your meal while watching the bartender whip up great margaritas. Try the shrimp chimichanga for a twist and order extra salsa. The food is really good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unfortunate experience for someone who has eaten here many times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Service never replenished our chips or salsa, I had to get out 2nd pitcher of water because nobody came back after we ordered. We had 5 people during a non busy Monday evening, they got one of the orders wrong and said it was ready but it took another 10 minutes to bring it out. We asked if we could order margaritas and the waiter said yes and left. He then asked me how many and what kind when I approached the water pitcher table. Then they were slow getting them to us and mine had a hair in it. He did comp our drinks however but it was still a poor experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Bravo also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to El Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.