We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Chinese take out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wong's Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wong's Garden
11430 Deerfield Dr Ste B1, Truckee, CA 96161
(530) 587-1831
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 103 Restaurants in Truckee
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Solid Chinese take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We could have gone to Panda Express, but this was better. Solid quality and taste, plentiful on the quantity. The restaurant is tucked away behind the McDonald's, you have to look for it but it's worth the effort.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not great Chinese”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The menu is very standard. The environment is a bit worn, nothing glamorous. The food is barely acceptable, and I find it greasy with overcooked veggies.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Been to Wong's many times. Food is always great and portions are huge. Usually wind up taking some home. Lunch is an awesome value, but dinner is pretty reasonable, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Love this restaurant. The food is great and so reasonably priced. It is unbelievable how much food you get for so little money if you go for lunch, or the early dinner. Lemon chicken is excellent. Assorted appetizer platter is fantastic. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wong Place to Dine!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have dined at Wong's Chinese Garden for many years. However, we will not dine there anymore. Last week, we ordered take-out of Champagne Shrimp and House Chow Mein. Upon arrival at home, we found that the Champagne Shrimp was a very spicy Orange Shrimp and the House Chow Mein was almost black in color, full of grease and basically nasty and inedible. The house salad, which is included when dining in, also cost an additional $5.95 for take out. Our order of two entrees and two salads was about $40. Really?

What a shame as this truly was the only decent Chinese restaurant in town. The interior of the place has also greatly degraded. It has become less than clean and smells! A complete renovation, that includes replacing the chef, is definitely in order.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wong's Garden also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Wong's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wong's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.