We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wong's Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wong's Garden
11430 Deerfield Dr Ste B1, Truckee, CA 96161
(530) 587-1831
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 95 restaurants in Truckee
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Benicia, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

While staying at The Inn at Truckee just down the sidewalk, I ordered a takeout meal from Wong's. I had a chicken, scallop, shrimp dish with egg rolls and it was great! I only had to wait a few minutes, and the server thought to ask whether I needed a fork and napkins. (I did.) The restroom was a bit dirty and neglected, but I didn't eat in there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    3
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Love this restaurant. The food is great and so reasonably priced. It is unbelievable how much food you get for so little money if you go for lunch, or the early dinner. Lemon chicken is excellent. Assorted appetizer platter is fantastic. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wong Place to Dine!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have dined at Wong's Chinese Garden for many years. However, we will not dine there anymore. Last week, we ordered take-out of Champagne Shrimp and House Chow Mein. Upon arrival at home, we found that the Champagne Shrimp was a very spicy Orange Shrimp and the House Chow Mein was almost black in color, full of grease and basically nasty and inedible. The house salad, which is included when dining in, also cost an additional $5.95 for take out. Our order of two entrees and two salads was about $40. Really?

What a shame as this truly was the only decent Chinese restaurant in town. The interior of the place has also greatly degraded. It has become less than clean and smells! A complete renovation, that includes replacing the chef, is definitely in order.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Food is ok. Atmosphere dull and placew in need of repair. The service was poor and not very friendly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I have my favorites there...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The waitress remembers our order each time we go. Our favorites are the lemon chicken, walnut shrimp, & beef and broccoli with a one sake and 2 sauvignon blanc.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wong's Garden also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)

Been to Wong's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wong's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.