We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looooong wait” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jax Truckee Diner

Jax Truckee Diner
10144 W River St, Truckee, CA 96161-0319
530-550-7450
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 99 Restaurants in Truckee
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looooong wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Went on a weekend for lunch. Waited close to an hour to be seated. When we were taken back, counted 10 empty tables. This stayed consistent as we ate - line waiting grew as tables stayed empty. From other reviews, seems commonplace. Food was alright.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    84
    34
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Upscale Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were staying at Northstar Resort just 8 miles from Truckee and were looking for a place for some good home cooking. All the local folks recommended Jax Truckee Diner (Jax by the Tracks) and we were not disappointed. All the food is freshly made with local ingredients when available. I had the turkey dinner with all the fixin's and thought I was at mom's house on Thanksgiving. All the portions are huge and a great value. Found out that the restaurant was featured on Food Network's "Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives" back in 2010. Plenty of parking next door, no wait for a table at 7:00 p.m. and the staff was very friendly & couteous. Go if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Curse of the Food Network”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Apparently having the Food Network stop by gives you the right to ignore your guests and treat them poorly. We walked into an empty diner (about 5pm) and waited at least 15 minutes to be served water. Waited another 15 minutes for our order to be taken. When I tried to order the famous Kobe beef meatloaf I was told that would take another 20 minutes so I ordered the french dip. Guess what... it still took 20 minutes to get our food! Then as we tried to leave, our kids wanted to order milkshakes to go. We were told that a table of 13 was just seated and they all wanted milkshakes so our order would be after theirs, another 20 minutes, even though we were there first. Poor, poor service and just OK food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The building appeared to be an old 40s diner, and the food was typical diner food. It was passable for lunch, but nothing special.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just had sliders and beer and sat outside, but had a fun time. We found the staff to be prompt and friendly. We would go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jax Truckee Diner also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Jax Truckee Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jax Truckee Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.