We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottonwood Restaurant

Cottonwood Restaurant
10142 Rue Hilltop, Off Brockway Road, 1/4 mi south of downtown, Truckee, CA 96161
+1 530-587-5711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 95 restaurants in Truckee
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cottonwood has been a fixture of Truckee's vibrant dining scene for 25 years, and was voted North Lake Tahoe's "Best Fine Dining Restaurant" for the past six! Housed in a historical ski lodge, constructed in 1928 to serve as a warming hut for the town of Truckee's ski and toboggan hill, the restaurant is a virtual museum of historic photos and artifacts. With spectacular views of downtown Truckee from the Dining Room or expansive Deck, Cottonwood is the restaurant of choice for Truckee locals and visitors alike. A diverse menu consists of eclectic menu of steaks, pastas, seafood and vegetarian dishes using fresh organic produce and sustainable meats and seafood whenever possible, complimented by a full bar and adventuresome wine list. Home to a vibrant acoustic music scene, Cottonwood features free live music every Thursday and Friday nights, and features a nightly Happy Hour until 6pm. Groups and special events are welcome.
Truckee, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Annual Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Cottonwood has become an annual event. The food is consistently good and is matched only by the service and ambience. The portion sizes are quite generous but always save room for the home made desserts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    62
    45
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

With a local friend's recommendation, we ate at Cottonwoods last evening. Glad we went early as the happy hour menu was great and the place really started filling up about 6:00. The cheeseburger was excellent. Be sure to order the Caesar, which is big enough for at least four people, and you eat it with your fingers! My wife had the happy hour fish which was excellent. Will definitely return!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, NY
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“A must-eat-here when in Truckee or environs!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The building is historic...old and inviting. The view is of old Truckee down below. Eating on the deck, weather permitting, is fun! There is a large bar, well stocked. Bartenders and waitstaff are friendly and knowledgable.
The menu is eclectic. Appetizers are provocative and delicious! There are a large choice of main courses, varying from fine-dining fare to a burger!
Desserts are amazing!

Although this review is not verbose, don't get me wrong. This is an awesome dining experience. The chef has got it down! Don't miss the Cottonwood!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my best meals ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had one of the best meals I have ever had at a restaurant here. I was here with 5 friends for appetizers one night. The server was really knowledgeable about wine. We loved the appetizers so much that we came back for dinner another night. I had the Basa fish dish... had never heard of that type of fish but it was mild and prepared just right. My other friends loved their dishes as well. One friend had a filet mignon (sp) that she said was melt in your mouth. We had dessert too which was amazing. Highly recommend! The atmosphere is laid back and fun as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best View While Dining in Truckee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed a leisurely dinner at Cottonwood while the sun set over Truckee making for a romantic night! Inside the restaurant we found that there were several rooms with very rustic decorations reminiscent of the area's history. Since the weather was beautiful, we chose to dine on the deck overlooking downtown. You have to do this, especially if the sun is out! Umbrellas for shade and, when it gets cool, blankets are offered making for a cozy evening! Our food was more expensive than expected, but quite good and creative. With the view, it was well worth it! I started with the baby back ribs. They were meaty, smokey, with a little heat at the end - delicious! The wife and the small, chopped caesar, which was fresh, crisp, and tasty. For mains I had the Meyer Ranch cheeseburger, she had the Niman Ranch New York steak. (They seemed appropriate because of the western flavor of the place, but we didn't see any ranches nearby!!) Both were superb and filling. The facility itself is kind of remote, but not far, overlooking the town. Don't let the several shacks and open concrete leading to the restaurant deter you. There must be some "cleaning up" going on. What you will find is prompt service, a small but creative menu, and a view to die for when dining, especially at sunset. Grab a loved one and make them happy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottonwood Restaurant also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Cottonwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottonwood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.