We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Sushi in Truckee?!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly Restaurant and Sushi Bar - CLOSED

Dragonfly Restaurant and Sushi Bar
10118 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0352
530-587-0557
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring Street
Transit: We are located in the center of Historic Downtown Truckee across from the bus depot. All public buses stop here.
Stanford, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good Sushi in Truckee?!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We haven't been back in a few years, but still remember the high quality of the sushi, which could rival some Bay Area places. We did find the cost very high for sushi, which has kept us away, but it is still worth trying if you come to Truckee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    11
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mixed happiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We came in with a large party for lunch on Labor Day weekend after breaking down camp in a downpour. They accommodated us quickly which was fantastic. Food got love it or hate it reviews. They accommodated the children with kid friendly options - loved it. The salad eaters - loved it. The pad Thai eaters - loved it. The bento box folks - so disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ordered many plates of appetizers and everything was so delicious. Get a seat with a view we were there during Thursday night street fair.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always love this restaurant .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This afternoon I had my usual fish & chips. My friends had crusty salmon & cobb salad. Everything was excellent as usual. We had the eggplant dip as an appetizer too. Also great!
I highly recommend this Truckee restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Creative and superior service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's on the second floor of a downtown row of stores so it's easy to miss. My wife and I usually don't appreciate Asian fusion cuisine. But they did it right, keeping close to traditional Asian flavors. We decided to split two entrees and our server brought us 4 plates. We could clearly tell that each plate had more than 1/2 of an entree on it, so that was a very generous move on the restaurant's part.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Restaurant and Sushi Bar also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonfly Restaurant and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.