We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to learn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boreal Ski Area

Boreal Ski Area
Interstate 80 at Castle Peak Exit, Truckee, CA 96160
530-426-3666
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 53 Attractions in Truckee
Activities: Snowboarding, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snowboarding ski resort, offering snow play activities for everyone, including special programs for toddlers.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good place to learn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have been a taken the kids here many times. It is easy to get to from 80 and one of the closest from Sacramento. Come here to learn or night ski. For other advanced skiers you will be bored. The Lodge needs a facelift and moderization. Food is mostly fast food from what I saw.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    11
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Snow tubing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After trying every single snow tubing place (almost) in the Tahoe area, we settled on Boreal because it was the cheapest for the longest time...and some were already closed for the season.
We parked close the the snow tubing area, walked right up and paid our $25 for 2 hours and headed for the slopes.
It is an easy moving sidewalk up to the snow tubing runs...the attendants are helpful to kids...it was very organized.
There is a snow play area for those little kids who are not snow tubing.
Boreal is not a Northstar or Heavenly...it is a small ski area right on the freeway. We have passed it by many times on the way to the more upscale fancy resorts.
I was pleasantly surprised. It was a very good day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Boreal's great beginners' package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a fun first-time skiing experience for your family, Boreal is the place to go. My son and I and my friend's son signed up for the 1-2-3 Ride Free program. We were all taught by helpful, experienced instructors and after our third lesson, we received a free lift pass for the rest of the season. Even though we visited during Ski Week, the classes were never very crowded; sometimes we were the only students and at other times, there two or three others in the classes. Best of all the resort is quite small so it was easy for us to meet up on the slopes or at the restaurant and the whole environment felt very safe for children. Weather permitting, we hope to go there again this season because the Boreal runs cater well to beginner and more advanced skiers and boarders alike!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocklin
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not the best place to learn- excellent place to race train”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I have had the opportunity to snowboard at several tahoe resorts. This is it a good place to learn to ski or snowboard. You run the risk of being am usher and eu over by the park rats. I don't like, that as a spectator to a race, you need to purchase a $5 pedestrian pass. (No prob for me - have snow shoes will travel). This pedestrian pass was instituted because there was such a high occurrence of people not purchasing a lift ticket (that is still the best deal in Tahoe) and walking up to the super pipe and riding in the pipe and park for free all day. There is also an inordinate amount of theft at the resort. Although the lodge clearly says no skis snowboards inside everyone brings their gear right on in - including me. Even for a short bathroom break. The race arena is something to be admired. First of all, the race team gets priority in the race arena. This is not the case at larger more well funded resorts. The pitch of the hill is breathtaking and the run is generally iced over making it perfect for race training. The coaching staff is awesome and there is a wonderful twilight program. We have benefitted greatly from the twilight program. I would remind people that you get what you pay for when it comes to ski resorts.

The cafe and bar need a serious make over. They are so 80's i am half expecting John Kusak to come skiing dowwnnthe hill in jeans and leg gators!
There is a chair and runs on the backside, but no one is allowed back there to ski/snoweboard back there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place to rest or ski or board”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have had several great experiences at Boreal. Our kids are beginners and this park was perfect for them. They offer a fantastic lesson package called 1,2,3 ski which is $70 for the first lesson which includes all gear, lesson and lift ticket. $30 for the second with all gear, lesson and lift and $30 for the third lesson all gear, lesson and lift. (lessons are 2 hours). After the third lesson the skiier gets a season pass. This deal cannot be beat and the park is a great place to ski. If an adult doesn't feel like skiing they can sit in a window upstairs at the bar and watch the action all day (I've done this twice).

The resort is older so the building is a little run down. The bathrooms had leaky toilets and were out of paper towels twice, but I don't really care about this stuff, some people are more picky. The food is overpriced as it is at every attraction but we brought our own and had lunch in the car or at one of the picnic tables outside. A coke and hot chocolate in the bar cost me $10.
We love Boreal!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boreal Ski Area also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Boreal Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boreal Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.