We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic property and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constellation Residences at Northstar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Constellation Residences at Northstar to your Saves list
Constellation Residences at Northstar
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   13051 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Dr, Truckee, CA   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lake Tahoe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Epic property and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I visited Constellation in November along with 8 or 9 other ladies. We enjoyed the 4 bedroom condo complete with a fabulous layout. The view was priceless! We cooked a sensational dinner in the luxury kitchen and had enough seating to sit at the grand dining table. The staff was overwhemingly accommodating and friendly. I drew the smallest straw and slept on the sofa sleeper, but it was certainly as comfortable as the beds. The benefit of enjoying the amenities at the Ritz-Carlton is a huge plus. There isn't anything to yearn for as it's all included. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who asks and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney M, General Manager at Constellation Residences at Northstar, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We hope to host you and your friends again in the near future. Please check out our blog on our website for upcoming events and specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We can't say enough good things about this property and its staff. We went to the residences over Thanksgiving this year with our family - a group of 7 adults and a 9-month old baby.

Even before we got to Northstar, I wanted to write a glowing review because of all the help I received from the staff prior to even traveling there. Christine, Ruben and the rest of the staff helped me to make Thanksgiving meal reservations, ski rentals and lesson reservations, and baby equipment rentals. Everything was perfect and hassle free. The staff were always attentive, friendly and available.

The residences themselves are also fabulous. We stayed at the Ritz hotel for a couple of nights prior to moving over to the condo and were so happy to make the switch to Constellation (the staff at Constellation also made this transition seamless but bringing all of our luggage over for us). Having the 3 bedroom condo was SO much better and more comfortable than 3 hotel rooms at the Ritz. Especially for my 9-month old baby - we had much more space in the master at Constellation than we did at the Ritz. The set up with a baby was much more convenient at the condo than at the Ritz.

We were also able to save some money by cooking in our kitchen once we got to the condos (kitchen was also well stocked). Your dining-out options in the immediate area are limited, so this was a huge plus. The village at Northstar is quaint and a fun option - and is accessible via the gondola right outside the front door of Constellation. But most of the limited amount of restaurants in the village close by 5 pm, so your dinner options are few - which is why having the kitchen was a must for us.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are just as comfortable, if not more so, than the Ritz. The bathrooms also have heated floors, which was great - and just felt luxurious! The Direct TV worked great and we watched many football games in HD on our TV in the living room (another plus for Constellation over the Ritz).

We went skiing during the early part of the season, so there were only 7-10 runs open at any time, but we had a great time skiing regardless. The ski in/ski out valet makes skiing convenient and helps you to not feel trapped into skiing all day. The spa at the Ritz is pricey, but is definitely worth a trip. We all really enjoyed our treatments and the time we spent just relaxing in the spa's amenities.

Overall, I cannot recommend Constellation Residences at Northstar enough. My family has travelled all over the world and been to many 5-star resorts, and we can't stop talking about what a great time we had here. And we can't wait to return!!! We will definitely stay here again next time we are in the Tahoe area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney M, General Manager at Constellation Residences at Northstar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. Please stay tuned for our special winter offerings and programming! The mountain is looking great, as the snow is currently falling! We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here in early November with some friends and thought the condo's were superb. Being able to use the Ritz's amenities next door (within walking distance) was an amazing perk. I stayed in their 4 bedroom condo which had the most luxurious bedding, furniture and appliances and the most incredible view overlooking Truckee. I highly recommend this location to anyone staying in the Truckee area. I am sure staying here in the winter would be magical too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney M, General Manager at Constellation Residences at Northstar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! Please visit our website for our winter specials and list of hosted events! We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Gorgeous in fall and super relaxing thanks to fewer crowds. Beautifully decorated rooms and very friendly and accommodating staff - enjoyed every moment. We were a large group of ladies that wanted to hang out, relax and enjoy dinner in. Our unit was perfect for us. We were able to fit around the large dining room table and everyone had a comfortable bed. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney M, General Manager at Constellation Residences at Northstar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We value creating memorable experiences. Please visit our website for our winter offerings and special events! We look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staying at Constellation was a wonderful experience. The staff was great ~ very friendly and accommodating ~ and they all gave the impression that they truly enjoyed their jobs and where they worked. I would not hesitate to recommend Constellation to all of my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney M, General Manager at Constellation Residences at Northstar, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! The snow is falling and the mountain is looking great! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

W were greeted with such genuine warmth when we arrived at the Constellation and this set the tone for the rest of our all-too-short stay. From the stunning views to the sumptuous accommodations to the impeccable service, we could not have wished for more. As professional event planners, we understand and appreciate what it takes to provide hospitality at this level so this recommendation is given without hesitation. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Amazing apartment and resort, best hotel we have stayed in the USA.
Couldnt fault anything, staff very helpful, pool relaxing and open 6am-10pm as a pool should be, detailed hikes from hotel door, night sky, gym, s'mores and you feel like you are totally in the wilderness.
Well equipped and designed apartments.
Seemed expensive when we booked but a real 5 star resort and really worth the money.
We did go sept between seasons, spent 3 nights and it wasn't enough time to do half of what was on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney M, Guest Relations Manager at Constellation Residences at Northstar, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are very appreciative of your sincere review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write it! We encourage you to come visit us again during the winter months! We will have daily activities for all ages including cookie decorating, snowman making contests, and wine tasting! Finish the day off with a gourmet s'more and a cup of Constellation Cocoa by the fire pit. Thank you again and we hope you can stay with us again in the future!

-Jessica Barton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constellation Residences at Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constellation Residences at Northstar

Address: 13051 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Dr, Truckee, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Constellation Residences at Northstar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constellation at Northstar is a limited collection of 17 luxury ski-in/ski-out residences situated perfectly mid-mountain with stunning views, unparalleled mountain access, luxury five-star services and access to amenities at The Ritz Carlton, Lake Tahoe resort. Home Features - Built to The Ritz-Carlton’s strict five-star level of construction and interior finish standards including concrete construction with superior acoustics.- Fully-furnished homes featuring hardwood flooring with area rugs, open living rooms, fireplaces, full-size washer and dryers, and large bedroom suites featuring plush beds, desks and space to accommodate guests. - Master bathrooms with heated stone floors, jetted soaker tubs, spacious showers and fluffy towels- Balconies with gorgeous mountain views. - Gourmet kitchens featuring Viking Professional Series appliances including personal wine refrigerators- State-of-the-art technology package with wireless Internet, Bose sound system, widescreen HDTVs with DirecTV, Apple TV, and DVD playersAmenities include access to the facilities at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe resort with connection via an enclosed sky bridge:- Spa and fitness facility including sauna, steam, whirlpool and adult-only lap pool- Dining at acclaimed restaurant Manzanita, MountainBlue Café, Patio Bar & Grill in addition to room service and resort charge capabilities- Ski Valet Concierges, in the Constellation building as well as The Ritz-Carlton resort- Outdoor fire pits and s'more toasting area- Arcade with PS2 Playstation pods- Outdoor family pool and Jacuzzis- Expansive lobby and cocktail lounge with 360° fireplace and ample gathering - Two professionally-equipped fitness centers with complementary fitness classes - 24-hour business center- Access to the Northstar Village Recreation and Fitness Center with saline pool and spa at the bottom of the Highlands Gondola- Complimentary Highlands Gondola to the Village at Northstar- Full-service concierge, luggage bell service, and valet parking garage- 24-hour security- Housekeeping options available- All utilities, Internet, cable, landscaping and snow/trash removal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Constellation Residences at Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constellation Residences at Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.