We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trails for all abilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northstar California Mountain Bike Park

Northstar California Mountain Bike Park
Truckee, CA
+1 916-562-1010
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 53 Attractions in Truckee
Activities: Mountain biking
Attraction details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great trails for all abilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Some friends and I spent a day at the Northstar downhill circuit and rode everything from blues to double-diamonds. There was a good variety of trails, from fast and flowy moderates to some jump-fests diamonds to some technical butt-clenchers. The trails were generally very well maintained, and while a few key runs were closed due to storm damage, we had no trouble lapping some favorites to keep ourselves amused. And many trails were manageable by a range of skill levels -- if it's not hard enough, you're not going fast enough.

A place like Mammoth has more scale and a bit more gonzo features, but we were very happy with out experience at Northstar. Our only qualm would be the price of rental bikes -- it's painfully steep, more so than anyplace else I've looked. I brought my bike so didn't have to worry about rentals, but my friends opted to go hiking the second day rather than foot another day's rental bill.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I (wife and 3 kids aged 13, 15, 17) took the 101 course with David and had the highlight of our Northern California vacation. The experience was unforgettable and the staff was top notch and very helpful. It was challenging enough for everyone without being intimidating. One of the top travel experiences I've ever had.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My son wanted to go mountain biking but never did it before (we live in the midwest with lots of flat land). Hooked up with the bike folks at Northstar and he had a great time. Lessons are available for beginners. Trails are well maintained and well marked. Almost impossible to get lost. Staff was very friendly, never felt rushed or treated like a "newbie".

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A whole different perspective!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The mountain is as great to ski for all levels, providing spectacular views of the lake as well. In the summer, it is an awesome treat to rip down the trails from the top, as you and your bike are shuttled up the mountain the lifts just a few months back you were bundled up on with your ski gear. Most years, you'll still find patches of snow at the top, event with temps in the 70s or 80s. Fun for all skill levels!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“These ski runs are good for more then just snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good Times and easy access. Fun terrain for the whole family. Bring your bike and bomb the hills!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northstar California Mountain Bike Park also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Northstar California Mountain Bike Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northstar California Mountain Bike Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.