We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the cafeterias” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rubicon Pizza Company

Rubicon Pizza Company
6001 Northstar Dr, Suite 6105, Truckee, CA 96161
+1 530-562-2199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 86 Restaurants in Truckee
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Description: Rubicon Pizza Co. Was established in 2007 and is the sister restaurant of Fireside Pizza Co. In Squaw Valley, CA and Base Camp Pizza Co. In South Lake Tahoe, CA. We specialize in Californian styled pizza dishes but also brush the palette on a wide variety of pastas, salads, beers, wines, and desserts. We have a passion to serve and it is our goal to provide our customers with the best family dining experience in the Northstar Village.
Oakland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than the cafeterias”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good sit down and eat option.

Pizza is good, appetizers are good, beer is good. What's not to like?

Tip: Midweek happy hour!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    34
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“+ delicious pizza selection, + good drink selection, - could be cozier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my fourth time at Rubicon in Northstar and I think it is time for a review.
After a long day of skiing/snowboarding their delicious pizza is a real treat and my favorite amongst all dining options in Northstar.
The only thing that bothered me a little bit after getting to know other branches of the small local pizza chain is that Rubicon it is lacking coziness compared to Basecamp in Heavenly. Moreover, the Rubicon staff is less friendly than their peers in Heavenly. Maybe something the owner should take care of.
Otherwise I highly recommend coming here and trying their BBQ Chicken Pizza!

+ delicious pizza selection
+ good drink selection
- could be more cozy

Small pizza: $12-13, medium pizza: $17-19, large pizza: $22-26, pasta $12-15.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Very good pizza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good pizza and a more reasonably priced alternative in Northstar village. Atmosphere is full of families and is noisy. But you are at a ski resort. Would definitely go back

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Go when there are no rotten kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Actually exceptional pizza, we were blown away at how good it was! Also, unlike most things at Northstar, it was reasonably-priced. However, the families absolutely take this place over, there were rotten, booger-nosed cretin kids running around wild everywhere when we were there, it really diminished the experience.. fortunately we got a corner booth so it shielded us from the craziness.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really tasty pizza, great family spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a few time, again last night for dinner after a ski day. Pizza hit the spot, nice crust and good selection of combinations. TVs with sports keep tired eyes occupied. Family favorite while at Northstar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubicon Pizza Company also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Rubicon Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubicon Pizza Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.