We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place shame about the trains. Deep sleepers only!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added River Street Inn to your Saves list
River Street Inn
10009 East River St, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Truckee B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place shame about the trains. Deep sleepers only!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Only stayed one night and had no sleep, we were checked in for 3 nights but left after 1 due to noise of trains continuing through the night. This is not just train noise but very loud horns going intermittently all through the night. Shame as the place is quite cute. Oldy worldly sort of charm in keeping with the area, comfy beds and self serve breakfast. No manager on site though, they seem to live elsewhere and turn up to put out breakfast then disappear again! Friendly couple though when you see them. We explained the problem and we got a refund for 2 nights out of the 3.
If you are a deep sleeper I highly recommend however if not stay away from the town centre as Im sure most central accommodation would have the same noise issues.

Room Tip: As far away from the train tracks as possible, and the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Love the location, homey feel and friendliness. Across the street from Jax Diner, featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and a few more steps away from downtown. However, you fall asleep to the sound of the peaceful river and are startled awake by the train. It is incredibly loud.

Room Tip: Room 86 is nicely appointed. Room 88 has the best airflow with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a ski weekend in January and enjoyed it so much that he came back for more, and we have two future stays booked. If you like friendly accommodations that are funky and unique, you will enjoy Truckee's River Street Inn. I am dieting, and it was easy to choose a healthy low fat high fiber breakfast from the food offered. There is an active Union Pacific track 200 feet from the Inn, so if you are very sensitive to night noise, this place may not be for you. We went to bed around 11pm and heard one train as we were falling asleep. There were more in the night, but they did not wake us in our comfortable queen sized four poster bed. It was quite high though, which along with the charming claw foot tub might be trouble for people with mobility limitations. This is where we plan to stay all ski season this year!

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are on the east side in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at The River Inn last night, and to be honest I wished I'd spent more money and stayed at the Hampton Inn just outside town. The train noise was very intrusive throughout the night (and I got very little sleep); my bed was so high I could barely get into it, and the continental breakfast was 'do your own' toast, cereal and muffins (only over-ripe bananas for someone with a wheat intolerance).
If the Inn described itself as a hostel, and had lower prices I wouldn't have been so disappointed. But $130 for do-it-yourself service was less than satisfactory

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Went up for a combined family birthday. Thought the train would be a great way to arrive from the Bay Area. Engine broke, so Amtrak put us on a bus. The vaca started the minute we arrived! They were so accommodating and welcoming. Our bus was a bit early, but we were able to check our stuff and head out to town. I loved the train sounds at night, some may not. The place is sooooooo comfy and NOT overstuffed with chintz, love that. I highly recommend this place to stay and Moody's to dine. Fabulous food, great chef!

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is quieter. Less train and street noise, but the proximity to train and town d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Forget frilly and timeworn; chose instead this comfortable bed and breakfast with its relaxed while indulgent atmosphere. A quick walk from the Amtrak station, The River Street Inn provided just the perch from which to explore the wonders of winter.
Innkeepers Wendy and Matt could not have been warmer, more accommodating while effortlessly juggling the demands of a busy season.
More than once each of them went above and beyond to ensure that this traveler could soak up every delight offered by Truckee in high winter.
Rooms were more than comfortable; breakfast was casual but fortifying for the snow days ahead, and Wendy and Matt were full of recommendations and insider information on the area.
A quick plug, too, for the Amtrak service from the Bay Area to the Sierras. Especially if you'll be enjoying the River Street Inn! See you next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Beautiful spot overlooking Truckee River from the back decks and main street Truckee and the trains from the front. The inn is an older building with high ceilings, lots of windows, nice wood trim and very clean. The great room (combined living room and open kitchen) has comfy sofa and chairs for reading, visiting with other guests and watching the snow gently falling out the windows and large dining table for coffee and continental breakfast. The proprietors Matt and Wendy were very special, volunteering help with heavy luggage to and from Amtrak station, providing tips for skiing and being safe in the snow, giving info. about Truckee and surroundings and, above and beyond the call of duty, searching through the trash to find our lost Amtrak ticket!!!! The snow was awesome and being car-less and having such easy access to downtown Truckee and the transit center at Amtrak Station was the best. I highly recommend and will return soon...projecting ahead to summer on the back deck overlooking the river.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 10009 East River St, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.