We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Inn

Save Saved
You added River Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Street Inn
10009 East River St, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Truckee B&B and Inns
Pacifica, California
1 review
“Sweet time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Went up for a combined family birthday. Thought the train would be a great way to arrive from the Bay Area. Engine broke, so Amtrak put us on a bus. The vaca started the minute we arrived! They were so accommodating and welcoming. Our bus was a bit early, but we were able to check our stuff and head out to town. I loved the train sounds at night, some may not. The place is sooooooo comfy and NOT overstuffed with chintz, love that. I highly recommend this place to stay and Moody's to dine. Fabulous food, great chef!

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is quieter. Less train and street noise, but the proximity to train and town d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Forget frilly and timeworn; chose instead this comfortable bed and breakfast with its relaxed while indulgent atmosphere. A quick walk from the Amtrak station, The River Street Inn provided just the perch from which to explore the wonders of winter.
Innkeepers Wendy and Matt could not have been warmer, more accommodating while effortlessly juggling the demands of a busy season.
More than once each of them went above and beyond to ensure that this traveler could soak up every delight offered by Truckee in high winter.
Rooms were more than comfortable; breakfast was casual but fortifying for the snow days ahead, and Wendy and Matt were full of recommendations and insider information on the area.
A quick plug, too, for the Amtrak service from the Bay Area to the Sierras. Especially if you'll be enjoying the River Street Inn! See you next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Beautiful spot overlooking Truckee River from the back decks and main street Truckee and the trains from the front. The inn is an older building with high ceilings, lots of windows, nice wood trim and very clean. The great room (combined living room and open kitchen) has comfy sofa and chairs for reading, visiting with other guests and watching the snow gently falling out the windows and large dining table for coffee and continental breakfast. The proprietors Matt and Wendy were very special, volunteering help with heavy luggage to and from Amtrak station, providing tips for skiing and being safe in the snow, giving info. about Truckee and surroundings and, above and beyond the call of duty, searching through the trash to find our lost Amtrak ticket!!!! The snow was awesome and being car-less and having such easy access to downtown Truckee and the transit center at Amtrak Station was the best. I highly recommend and will return soon...projecting ahead to summer on the back deck overlooking the river.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Although close to train tracks - this is, after all, Truckee - that didn't keep us from having a fabulous time. I came with thirteen family members ranging from 15 to 80 years of age, and all had fun. Some went snowboarding nearby, some went and hung out at a local lodge, some went shopping, some stayed and played in the snow. It was incredible to find a central place that had a little bit of everything for everyone, and the Inn was so incredibly comfortable (not too hot, not too cold) and cozy and convenient that everyone had a great time. And when we all came together back here, we could assemble in the common area and play games or hang out in comfortable furniture. Any time I hear someone's going to Tahoe or nearby, I'll recommend this place again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We are very happy repeat customers at the River Street Inn. We first stayed a few years ago for a ski weekend, and were so happy with the owners and the location that now we go back 3-4 times a year. The location for skiing is great - Northstar is literally minutes away, with Squaw and Alpine very close as well. And then you can't beat the location for walking into town for dining and having fun!

Wendy and Matt are extremely friendly, very accommodating hosts, and it's always fun to see them on arrival. We plan to continue to staying here as many times as we can each year for skiing, and feels like home to us now!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We arrived at the River Street Inn late and the innkeeper was helpful to tell us how to get in, came over to the property to get us checked in and recommended a restaurant. Our room was cozy with a nice bath with a claw foot tub. So far so good. Went out to dinner and came right back. Then the first train went by (around 10:00 pm) on the tracks that are one block away. Let me note that because of the crossing the trains are required to blow their horn and it is loud, even with the window closed.

We went to bed and the next train came by around midnight. Another one at 2:30. There was another one, I think around 5:30 or so. I realize that it is no fault of the innkeeper that trains go by constantly. I just want people to be aware that if noise wakes you up, bring earplugs or stay somewhere else, although Truckee is so little that I imagine that at any place you stay in town you will hear the train.

We got up and went down for the continental breakfast. What to say? I guess when I heard "continental breakfast" I assumed there would be some nice pastries or something freshly baked available. At every other B&B we've stayed in we were served a hot breakfast with the innkeepers present and chatting with us. Let me say that we were aware going in that a continental breakfast was to be served. At The River Street Inn that consisted of English muffins (packaged), raisin bread from Costco, granola, juice, corn flakes, coffee, milk and maybe something else I'm forgetting. Everything was laid out on the counter and it was serve yourself with the innkeeper nowhere to be found. She did show up for about 5 minutes, saw that everyone was talking, and left again.

Checkout consisted of us leaving our room key on the desk.

We were not impressed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here many times - since the inn first opened, in fact. Previously we'd stayed at the Truckee Hotel, across the tracks, and used to look longingly at this place, wishing someone would open it as a hotel. When Wendy Smith and Matt Brown did so, we gave it a try - and now never book anywhere else. The hotel is a piece of Truckee history, updated in a way that gives all the comfort of the modern age without sacrificing any of the charm. Location is awesome - right in the heart of shopping and dining and drinking of Old Truckee. You can hear the train when it goes by - but that's one of the reasons I love Truckee. Never been bothered by traffic noise or other guests. And Wendy and Matt treat us like family - they couldn't be nicer or better hosts.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 10009 East River St, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.