We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trokay

Trokay
10046 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0363
+1 530-582-1040
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 100 Restaurants in Truckee
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to a family lunch, with two little ones. The hostess was great, found a location for the little ones. The food was great - especially the pastry plate, and the BLTA. The pork belly was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    4
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Drove all the way to Truckee from Reno based on Tripadvisor reviews ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Drove up during a busy, very windy day today. Really looking forward to a wonderful lunch, based on the reviews. First of all, we liked the venue and the Hostess was very nice and extremely pleasant. But, after that, we were very disappointed. Asked for lemon with our water, took several requests (finally asked the Hostess). Next, ordered the onion soup and fish chowder. After a while, waitress came back and said they "just" sold the last order of onion soup (this was at 12:40 ... really?). Got our fish chowder, albeit with hardly any fish at all - supposed to have sea bass, black cod and dungeness crab; they couldn't have even dunked any of those 3 in the chowder. Actually, the chowder itself was excellent, although missing any fish. Had to ask if they had any bread to serve with our chowder and they said certainly. When we were almost done with our chowder, waitress came by and said it would only be another minute. More than 5 minutes later, they brought some wonderfully crusty bread; too bad we didn't have anything to eat it with. Then we ordered the Maine Lobster Roll - guess the chef has never been to Maine or even seen pictures of a Maine Lobster Roll.

Hostess did give us a decent recommendation on a reasonably (?) priced bottle of wine.

I would really like to give them another chance as we do not have many really nice restaurants in Reno/Sparks, Truckee and Northshore Lake Tahoe for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Incredible surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Traveling an a city like Truckee, anything you expect except a stylish restaurant.
So I'm pretty surprised to write this review for a restaurant that I found excellent, but in the middl of a small village.
They offered us some pretty interesting appetizer, including something gluten free prepared just for me.
As a main course i got sliced lamb with a ratatouille and few "secret" ingredient on a side. It was really excellent as well as the chocolate marquise i took right after.
More, they have a very good selection of wines, including some excellent bottle coming from Italy.
Waiters are extremely kind and professional and do their best to make you comfortable and explain all the beauty of the menu.
In summary, I do not know if I will ever be back in Truckee, but if I do, then I will certainly go to Trokai

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Unique ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We ate here with friends who wanted to have the chefs tasting menu. Since everybody at the table has to have the same we also had it .At $140 this is way more expensive then any other restaurant in Truckee. You do get 10 courses and and Amuse Bouche for this price. All of us had eaten at the French Laundry which is considerably more expensive but this was our bench mark. Overall we were pleased with the meal but it was bit over the top in ingredients. This is a list of all the ingredients where we had to ask the waiter what it was: Tat Soi, Ponzu, Vadouvan, Eapzote, Grains of Paradise. Other ingredients we knew such as Douglas fir was but "smoke of dying needles", bee balm, all a little unusual. Some of the things worked very well the pork belly was delicious, tenderloin of veal (if you like veal) , others less so. This is a restaurant where presentation is king. Personally three desserts was way too much for me. The corn variations was nice not great, likewise peach dessert, chocolate was tasty. Service was good, very friendly and mostly well informed. Ambience is Truckee rustic casual with exposed beams . I would like less courses and slightly bigger portions. This was a tasting menu, where the portions were sometimes so small, it was hard to taste the ingredients

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Overpriced for what we got”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ordered the Breakfast sandwich and it was appalling! Small hard biscuit with one egg on top with cheese and sausage. The biscuit was so hard you had to cut it with a knife. All in all very disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trokay also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Trokay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trokay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.