We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trokay was a great meal and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trokay

Trokay
10046 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-0363
+1 530-582-1040
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 99 Restaurants in Truckee
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trokay was a great meal and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were visiting an old friend in Truckee and had a fun and delicious evening. We started with what I understand is a new/hot thing -- using a sword/knife to open a bottle of bubbly from the rear balcony of the restaurant. Each course was beautifully presented and prepared to perfection. With 4 of us at dinner, we were able to sample the full range of the restaurant's varied offerings. I would highly recommend a visit to Trokay if you are in the Truckee/North Tahoe vicinity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    4
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location is on the main street in Truckee, across the street from the train station. The a-la-carte choices are not that many, and the portions are small. They must realized the same, so brought small fillers before and after your orders. The appetizers we ordered (tomatoes and beets) were great, but the quality of main dish is average at best (we had lamb and suckling pig). They were either too salty or too sweet. The ambience is fine with moderate level of noise, and the waitresses/waiters seemed attentive (although our request for bread was not fulfilled). For the price it charges, Trokay Cafe Restaurant faired only average in our opinion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Truckee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Read positive reviews on Trip Advisor and thought we would give the restaurant a try as the menu looked more innovative than others in town. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was tasty, well prepared and presented and the service excellent. Overall, a very positive experience. We will definitely return and bring our friends.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Danko and Keller in Truckee?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What an amazing meal! My wife and I had the four course pre fixe menu. By sharing, we were able to get a taste of 8 great dishes along with several amouse bouche tastes that really showcases the talent of the chef and kitchen. All the dishes were inventive and reminiscent of dining at Danko or The French Laundry with a little less pomp and circumstance. The wait staff really knows their stuff and provided the right amount of attentiveness. The cool beer list has lots of selections not found anywhere else and nearly every Mikkeller produced if you fancy a variety of European Style Beers. This was a just a wonderful dining experience truly fit for foodies. We will return at least a few times a year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a wonderful place. We had an excellent dinner with the wine pairing. This was a wonderful experience. Returned for breakfast before leaving town and I had the Kobe beef and eggs. OMG! And the coffee they serve is to die for. What a wonderful place for this little town. We will return, over and over again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trokay also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Trokay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trokay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.