We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location Ski-in and out. Right at the Village.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge
Save
You added Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge to your Saves list
4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Truckee B&B and Inns
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,254 helpful votes
“Excellent Location Ski-in and out. Right at the Village.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We found this resort online and we were very please with the unit. The rental company we used was called Lake Tahoe Mountain Vacations. They manage several units in Tahoe, but we were only interested in staying at NorthStar. The resort at Big Horn Lodge is one of the newly built condo complexes and it was lovely.

The management company does a wonderful job. They had the unit stocked up with amenities, and had detail directions on how things worked in the unit and around the Village.

The unit was new, it had a fireplace, good sized full kitchen, and it had a washer and dryer in the closet in the unit. The bathroom was large and offered a separate shower and oversized bath tub.


The location could not be beat. We were in a unit with a view of the Gondola, directly across from The Tavern 6330 restaurant and bar. The patio from the unit overlooked the village below and you could here the music playing in the room when they had a band set up below.

The village has so much to offer in terms of restaurants, shops, and an outdoor ice rink. Also, the Gondola to the ski slope is only a few yards from the exterior of this unit.

We rented the kids skis right at the village too. All of it was super easy and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved the unit overlooking the village across from the gondola Big Horn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hi Melissa- We're thrilled you & your family enjoyed Big Horn & all that the Village at Northstar has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The search is over, this is THE PLACE. Not perhaps the Big Horn specifically, but just the whole Tahoe Mountain Resorts program, impeccable.

We visited in January 2014 and had an incredible time. Upon check-in, and throughout, the staff were all extremely courteous and helpful and our room was ready hours ahead of schedule (perhaps attributed to the fact that business was slow post-New Years and with only scant snow, nonetheless, we were impressed). The underground parking too, forget about the rat race outside clamoring for an up close parking place, just use your room card a 'voila, a private underground parking oasis awaits you. After we checked in and pulled our car underground the bell boy (?) was waiting right there for us at our car to assist us with our bags. Just up the elevator our 1 bedroom condo awaited us. It was virtually perfect in every way. The only thing I can think that wasn't completely awesome... the pullout sofa... but nobody ever slept on one of those and liked it, right? The kitchen was fully stocked, and we took advantage, hitting the grocery store to load up the fridge. The Big Horn is so close to the gondola lift it blew my mind. The ski lockers couldn't have been any more convenient. The Northstar Village is just lovely. The ice-skating rink, as the centerpiece, hours of fun. There are lots of shops and an adequate number of restaurants. Both of these tended to be pricey, but we anticipated this and took advantage of our well stocked kitchen as much as possible. There is a terrific little craft shop directly under the Big Horn that offers different activities like candle-making and pottery painting. There is the standard Starbucks and a froyo shop. Everyday at 3:00pm, it is S'mores O'clock... the staff cruise around the village offering fresh warm s'mores to all of the guests. We loved this! It is a quick 10 minute drive to the lake or alternatively to the adorable town of Truckee. We rented our gear at a small rental shop on the lake as the rental rates at the Northstar Village were double the price, quite pricey. So, we cut corners to save money where we could, but we certainly don't regret our stay at the Big Horn. We absolutely did not want to leave when our 5 nights were up. It might be on the pricey side, but you get what you pay for, and with this resort, IT IS WORTH IT !!! We absolutely plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
What an amazing & thorough review-- thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your residence & all that the Village at Northstar has to offer. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Understand that I research a destination to death befor planning a trip for my family of 4, traveling with young children it pays off. When making a decision I depend on good informative reviews so I hope this is helpfull. #1-staff was great, reservation process & check in easy. They got us in our room early, the items I requested (crib & high chair) were in the room. #2. 4-star accomadations, fantastic new two bedroom condo, perfect, clean, included everything we needed (including a washer & dryer with laundry soap). #3-on site restaurants, shopping, swimming pool, kiddy pool, fitness center, hiking, movie theater, kid activities, and so much more. When you travel with kids its not easy having to constantly get everyone in & out of the car, to be able to walk to dinner is priceless. #4-the location......absolutly beautiful. 10 minutes to the lake, grocery store, casino, touristy shops, and restaurants. So many people stay at rentals and hotels on the lake it can get congested and crowded, it was nice to go back up the mountain at the end of the day and enjoy the peace and quiet.
The trip was fantastic and we will return to North Stars Big Horn Lodge.

Room Tip: I preferr the top floor (4-floors) because the views seem better. We had a view of the mountain and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We're so happy you had a wonderful stay, Tommie A! It is very smart to research your lodging options, especially with children, as having the right accommodations in the right setting can make (or break) a trip.
We hope to see you again soon.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I just checked out of my stay at 210 Bighorn and it was top-notch. I couldn't ask for a better experience. The location cannot be beaten with a prime location in the village at Northstar. The patio is private with an unreal view of the stars without light pollution. The unit is ski in/out, and since it is summer I walked out the back for a spectacular view from the overlook which was just steps from the patio. The inside is spectacular with all the upgrades, including a great stone fireplace, an unbelievable stainless steel and granite kitchen, fantastic bedrooms and bathrooms. I saw a few other units friends were staying in; all the units are great but this one takes the cake. The upgrades inside and ski in/out location make 210 a step above the rest! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pick room 210, hand down the best spot to be!! I walked right out of the patio and was steps from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you had a great stay at Bighorn & hope you will stay with us again soon.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I only say wrong time of year because although it is summer and the kids are out of school, I am told that Tahoe (or in this case Northstar) doesn't pick up until after June 28th.

The village itself was so dead; sometimes we never saw another sole except the employees. Normally that wouldn't bother me but it meant that the restaurants and shops were either closed or had limited hours and more importantly, when we wanted to take the gondola up the mountain to hike, we were told it was also not running and no one was allowed up the mountain for safety reasons. Lastly, we booked a two bedroom condo in Big Horn through Tahoe Mountain Resorts. We were looking for a relaxing week of hiking and tennis. After we booked, we found out that the tennis center was not available to us with exception to booking a class/clinic or by paying $30 a hour to use a court. This was very disenchanting but we ended up paying for both a class and court time. This would be the only factor that might keep me from coming back.

Aside from the tennis, we also had a separate pool and gym that was shared with the Hyatt properties. It was somewhat chilly during our stay so we only made use of the pool for one afternoon. There is a gym next to the pool and another closer to Big Horn which my husband and kids used almost everyday. It also had a sauna/steam room and a couple of jacuzzi's.

Now for the condo itself. All I can say is "wow"!. This condo was beautiful and they truly thought of everything. So well stocked and everything was very nice quality. I've stayed at a number of rentals and no one has compared to this one. I brought along so many things in case they didn't have them and never needed to use them. However, if you stay more than a day or two, I would bring sugar, spices and foil. Other than that, they pretty much covered it.

We did venture into Truckee for "Truckee Thursdays" and to Sand Harbor beach to kayak and had a great time. Everything is so close so driving was easy.

If you are not interested in the tennis center and come at a different time of year, I would definitely recommend these condos.

Room Tip: Possibly higher floors for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hi Namakaathome- We're pleased you enjoyed your residence & stay in Tahoe. Do let us know the next time you plan to visit so we can share some ideas on places to go & things to do no matter what time of year it may be. There are great weekly Farmer's Markets in Truckee & Tahoe City as well as concerts in the park running June - September and more.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

LOCATION - great. Right at the village across the gondola but away from the noise of the village
SERVICE - good friendly staff. Very helpful, prompt and cheerful.
APARTMENT - clean. Very well furnished.
Great kitchen for whipping up a feast! Beds- comfy.
Bathroom- nice and spacious. Huge vanity top.
SKI-LOCKER - conveniently on site. Could use with a little more space in the locker room.
DOWN SIDE - was woken by the noisy snow mobiles at 5am almost every morning. Bummer!
Feels like home.
Great home away from home.
Be back next winter!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeMountainLodging, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for submitting your review & feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your residence; our apologies you were awoken by the snow cats grooming the slopes.
We look forward to seeing you again this winter!
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in 1-BR studio. It had a small kitchen with full set of utensils, fireplace, washer dryer. It had everything we could hope for with perfect location and great view out of the window. Place is very neat and clean, elegantly furnished and under 50 yds walk from Gondola, skating rink, etc... Village & skating rink area offer enough so you can go out and spend you evening either sitting by the fire or enjoying coffee or a drink, etc..

Place is good for skiing at all levels, but being a beginner we had a better skiing experience at Mt. Rose skiing.

There are good restaurants in village and Truckee downtown offers more options. We ate at Pianeta which was really good.

Good - Lodge & facilities, Under ground Parking, village, skating rink, great view, ski area, most importantly Starbucks :)

Things that could improve - late night food options, food at mid-mountain, skii lessons at ski school, more activities can be added to make evenings more interesting...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.0 mi away
Northstar Lodge - A Welk Resort
24.1 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
7.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging Iron Horse Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge

Address: 4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bighorn Lodge, situated at the base of Northstar California ski resort, features professionally designed studio, one, two and three-bedroom condominium-style, ski-in, ski-out residences. Each luxury unit includes a gourmet kitchen (or kitchenette) with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, as well as finishings such as a fireplace and outdoor terrace. The Village at Northstar offers an unparalleled, quintessential Tahoe experience with boutique shops and restaurants, a skating rink and endless family fun and activities. Additionally, guests have complimentary access to an outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, fitness centers, steam rooms plus heated, underground parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.