We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge
Save
You added Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge to your Saves list
4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Truckee B&B and Inns
Dallas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in 1-BR studio. It had a small kitchen with full set of utensils, fireplace, washer dryer. It had everything we could hope for with perfect location and great view out of the window. Place is very neat and clean, elegantly furnished and under 50 yds walk from Gondola, skating rink, etc... Village & skating rink area offer enough so you can go out and spend you evening either sitting by the fire or enjoying coffee or a drink, etc..

Place is good for skiing at all levels, but being a beginner we had a better skiing experience at Mt. Rose skiing.

There are good restaurants in village and Truckee downtown offers more options. We ate at Pianeta which was really good.

Good - Lodge & facilities, Under ground Parking, village, skating rink, great view, ski area, most importantly Starbucks :)

Things that could improve - late night food options, food at mid-mountain, skii lessons at ski school, more activities can be added to make evenings more interesting...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our first time staying at this resort. We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed our stay. Stayed at the Big Horn lodge and very close to the ski lifts. Rooms were soooo clean. We had a 2bdrm. Kitchen was well stocked, except there were no foil or saran wrap. Didn't bother asking housekeeping. So you may want to bring your own. Safeway is about 10 mins away. Staff was very nice and welcoming. Will be back for the winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Big Horn Lodge this winter A L! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this review as well as to provide a great tip to our future guests...We have most of your kitchen needs taken care of but do bring the saran wrap, foil and any spices that you may want to use while cooking! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyvale
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our first time, and we will surely be back. We are a family of 4 (2 preschoolers) and we stayed in the 1 bedroom apt. The apartment was great, well maintained, felt new and the kitchen was really well stocked with all the essential utensils. The quality of utensils/silverware/appliances/sheets/bedding etc was all really good.

The reservations service was great - right after we made the reservation online (in a few minutes), Katie Hoag called to let us know that the resort will be closing a day after we arrived (we had no idea) - and her call was a very thoughtful one. I dont think any resort/hotel has ever called us to alert us before for anything. And she sent us information from the Concierge on what was open, times etc. We decided to go anyway (we really needed a break, and other slopes were open nearby) and really had a great time.

Overall a great stay, with very friendly reservation staff and wonderful apt. Only two concerns:
- the website for reservation is REALLY slow. It took me 20 minutes to complete the reservation online. really.
- the pull-out sofa bed in the living room had a really terrible mattress. They need a much better quality pull out mattress. (the king bed in the bedroom was great). If you are planning to use the pull out bed for more than one night, I would recommend you get a two bedroom instead.

-1 star for these two reasons. Otherwise, a wonderful stay and a much better value than any hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you so much Kay for taking the time to provide a review of Big Horn Lodge! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit during one of the quietest times that we have in the village. It can truly be a fantastic respite to the hustle and bustle we all have in our lives and it sounds like it was a great opportunity for your family to have some downtime and re-connect! I thank you for letting us know about the delay you experienced during the online booking process, it has been fixed so you should not experience a delay such as that when you visit us next! I have also let our homeowner liasion know about the discomfort that was experienced on the sofa sleeper. We look forward to having an opportunity to host your family again soon! Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have been going at Big horn Lodge for the 4th time and we really like this place. northstar is a good skiing place for all levels Of skiers or snowboarders. this year in january 2012, There was'nt much snow, but the slopes were great in northstar with the snowmaking.So snow is guaranteed! Besides, the 2 room apartment is great, well furnished, confortable beds, the kitchen fully stocked and you also have a washing and drying machine! after ski, you can go to the recreation center with jacuzzi, swimming pool, steam room, fitness equipment, pool table and babyfoot with the kids! When you stay at Big horn, you only walk 10 meters to get on the gondola ! The village is very Nice with the ice skating ring, a good pizza and sushi place.

Room Tip: The apartment on the second floor can be ski in if there is enough snow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank You So Much KarineTahiti for your fantastic review of the Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging BIg Horn Lodge! Since this is your families 4th visit I think it goes without saying that you all truly love to visit our lodge and Northstar California! Your description of all that you have consistently experienced and enjoyed is fantastic and so appreciated! I too give much kudos to the Northstar California snowmakers and the incredible job they have done to make the mountain so much fun with a bit less than average snowfall. I look forward to hosting your family again soon and I hope you have a wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had such a wonderful time here! The kitchen was fully stocked, all the rooms were well cleaned and comfortable for our entire lenth of stay. The ski school, ice skating, concierge and resturants were wonderful! We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you so much NamashaW for taking the time to review your visit with Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging at the Big Horn Lodge in the Village at Northstar. It sounds like you and your family did an excellent job making sure to enjoy all the high points of the village and mountain when it comes to activities right outside your Big Horn Lodge door...ski school, the skating rink and our village restaurants just to mention a few. Glad our concierge could help you with your planning so that you could enjoy yourself and focus on fun and excitement for the family when you arrived. We hope to see you all back here soon and that you have a fantastic New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I needed a quick get away from our busy jobs and needed to get to Tahoe for a little R & R. Truckee is usually our get away place as we used to live there and still have friend to visit. On a whim I checked into renting a condo in the village. The price was not much more than hotels in the Truckee area. We were very pleasantly surprised. The condo was very nice, clean, comfortable, and the staff were outstanding. It was off season so the village was quiet which is just what we were looking for. I'm sure that would change in ski season. Overall and very enjoyable experience and we will definitely be back. After living in the Truckee area, if you're going during ski season, the parking alone is a solid "5" to stay here. It's underground and heated. Awesome.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor (500's) if available - high ceilings and good views of the village and mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Hi ChrisL and thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging in the Big Horn Lodge. Glad you had the opportunity to find your new "home away from home" for your visits back to Truckee! You are so correct when you talk about the price...we are similiar to the other hotels in the area but the value is so much greater! I also have to say "Cheers To You" on your comments about our "underground, heated garage" in the winter...You especially would know how much of a treat it is to all of our guests staying with us and experiencing the amazing amounts of snow that are normal around here! We look forward to your next visit and hope that you and your family has an incredible 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We were both adult novices looking for a great ski holiday as part of our honeymoon. Northstar is definately the resort to go to as it has a fantastic mixture of nursery/green/blue runs as well as a few black runs. It was the last few weeks of the ski season so the ski school was great - low numbers, no queues, almost 1-on-1 tuition from very experienced tutors and really good weather. All in all the mountain totally exceeded my expectations.

The 1 bedroom apartment was huge, with a very high standard of furnishings, etc. The kitchen had everything you could need and a small balcony looking right over the bottom of the slope - so definately 'ski-in-out'. There is a seperate locker room at ground level to keep all the bulky and damp equipment so no puddles in the apartment. Everything was very clean and well maintained with limited maid service to make the beds and tidy up. Heated underground parking for the car was good too, with a lift and luggage trolleys to get direct to your room.

Northstar village is nicely laid out with shops, restaurants, coffee shops but a surprising lack of bars...and the ones that were there closed by 21.00hrs. As we were on our honeymoon and therefore not travelling with children we were a little dissapointed by this, as I had specifically asked the resort prior to booking the trip if there would be enough 'apres ski' to keep us entertained. We were only there for 3 nights and were then moving on to San Francisco so it didn't affect our enjoyment too much, but it would be nice if some bars stayed open until at least 23.00hrs for guests who don't have children!

We booked one dinner at the Hyatt Resort (a lovely short gondola ride at night from the centre of Northstar Village) and had a great meal and wine with a fantastic view over the mountains at sun-set. And the bar was open until gone Midnight - hurray.

All in all Northstar Resort and the Big Horn Lodge are great and you get a high standard for your money. They could maybe just cater a little more for the punters without children in tow.
Great holiday - just a bit quiet.

Room Tip: Better view from rooms at locker room end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge all the way from the UK! I do agree with you about only having a few bars that are not open late in the village. Perhaps on your next visit we can get you to the little historic town of Truckee for some local flavored nightlife or to the Crystal Bay casinos about fifteen minutes from the village where you can be treated to an eclectic selection of entertaiment options. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge

Address: 4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bighorn Lodge, situated at the base of Northstar California ski resort, features professionally designed studio, one, two and three-bedroom condominium-style, ski-in, ski-out residences. Each luxury unit includes a gourmet kitchen (or kitchenette) with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, as well as finishings such as a fireplace and outdoor terrace. The Village at Northstar offers an unparalleled, quintessential Tahoe experience with boutique shops and restaurants, a skating rink and endless family fun and activities. Additionally, guests have complimentary access to an outdoor swimming pool and hot tubs, fitness centers, steam rooms plus heated, underground parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Big Horn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.