We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella

Stella
10918 Brockway Rd., Truckee, CA
530-582-5655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Excellent contemporary American cuisine. Lots of class. Superb tastes.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were staying at the Cedar House and went to Stella one night. It was excellent!! It should not be No.2 (to Trokay) but No. 1. The food we ordered was really good; my wife and I always share and she accused me of eating more than half of the entree. The amuse-bouches added special flair. Best of all was the chef (Jacob) participating in the room and that we were waited on by all the servers; apparently they just fill in for each other as needed, and all were expert and charming. When do you move to Hermosa Beach? Mike and Sandy Lawton

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    20
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent gourmet fare. Outstanding service. Extras too numerous to name. Aside from the dishes we ordered, the waiter brought quite a few extras between courses that made it a truly memorable dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OMG the worst possible dining experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to Stella's on the recommendation of our concierge. We had the worst dining experience ever, so bad that I a writing this hours after our return. What went wrong - service was horrible, we asked for salt and pepper and it took forever to get it. Out of 8 of us, 5 of us ordered the halibut. It was not stated on the menu that the fish was served at room temp. But the absolute worst thing that happened was when my husband asked what was in his fish, he didn't have his glasses on, and I gagged when I saw this WORM wiggling in the fish. I am sick just remembering it. Most of us would've left but we were guests of friends and they didn't suggest that. They comped us my husband's dinner and dessert. It didn't matter cause nothing could've made it ok. After that, it was only a minor thing that my friend never got her coffee. It was awful!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful every which way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Cedar House, it was a treat to discover it now also has such a great restaurant. Was greatful for the fresh, ingredients that were creative and full of flavor. Enjoyed the surprise of amuse boushe at the start and end. Pricey...but worth it. Staff is attentive and knowledgeable about all of the choices. Combined with the Cedar House it is now just about my favorite place to stay almost anywhere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this chef and his food and staff's service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What's not to enjoy at this hidden gem food great for a foodie, the chef's food tastes and presentation well as good as any San Francisco restaurant. Don't miss this place we will be going back and pray that the chef is still there because he could go big in time. The staff service is like watching a professional team all on the same page. The are helpful but also funny at the same time. All for one and one for all a place hidden away in Tahoe Truckie City if in the area don't drive by.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.