We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hike, bike and swim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donner Memorial State Park and Emigrant Trail Museum

Donner Memorial State Park and Emigrant Trail Museum
12593 Donner Pass Road at Highway 80, Truckee, CA
+1 530 582 7892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Truckee
Type: History Museums, State Parks, Museums, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum documents the fascinating and tragic history of the Donner Party's journey to the west coast.
Truckee, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to hike, bike and swim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We walk through the park frequently and take our dogs swimming on the shore of Donner Lake. The museum is being rebuilt and due to open Fall 2013, we have also camped there. Very nice, roomy and shady campsites. Only complaint was the all night highway 80 traffic noise.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    21
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This state park is over-rated for visitors. While it may be an excellent place to camp and hike (Donner Lake is near the visitor center and is beautiful), the visitor experience is very weak.

Let me say I don't mind spending $8 to park. The CA state park system is short of funds, so I'm willing to pay my part. What I do mind is a poorly organized museum that relies mainly on long written plaques. Very non-interactive. Also, there's a shortage of information about the Donner Party - which was our main reason for visiting.

A very pleasant nature walk outside, but again, there's very little information. Surely, the CA state park team can do a better job for a site of such historical importance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Donner Memorial State Park Camping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at this campground for 3 nights. It is a beautiful state park , it's just to bad the staff wasn't as nice. They are very rude and treated our family with disrespect. The restrooms were disgusting, with feces and urine all over. Granted, this is 95 percent people but, there is no hand soap, no towels or hand dryers and at times no toilet paper. My husband and I had to take our own cleaning products to clean in order for our granddaughters to be able to use it. I will think twice before I go back to this campground.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We frequent Truckee/Donner a few times a year. This time we decided to camp instead of rent a cabin. The info on the Donner party is interesting and you can find several info boards on the Lakeshore Interpretive Trail which is about 2.5 miles round trip. The campsites were clean, hosts friendly and hot showers which was not bad at a price of 0.50 for 5 mins but at the calm of night you can hear the highway. We rented some paddle boats and paddle boards which was a great deal at $20.00 an hr.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Truly heavenly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Family and I visit this park often and enjoy it each time. While it may seem crowded in the mid-summer when driving in to find parking, there is always parking available. There is always a spot to set-up for day use under the trees and right next to the water. The water seems much warmer than Lake Tahoe, the Truckee River, or the ocean. The people encountered are always polite and pleasant. There is a watercraft rental area close by. Hiking/walking under the very tall trees, beautiful blue sky, near the emerald green lake with a balmy breeze blowing - who could ask for more. Plus, there are flush toilets not outhouses. The whole area is lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donner Memorial State Park and Emigrant Trail Museum also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Donner Memorial State Park and Emigrant Trail Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donner Memorial State Park and Emigrant Trail Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.