We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort to your Saves list
Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   970 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30 to 40% off Every Night
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First class resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came to Tahoe to visit my family living in Reno. My wife and three sons and Mom and Dad fit comfortably in the three bedroom condo at the lodge. My sister and her husband actually came and spent a couple of nights (9 total) and it worked perfect. Each family had space and their own bathroom. The condo was super well appointed with high end appliances and all the accoutrements of a five star hotel/lodge. Flat screens mounted in each bedroom, granite surfaces in kitchen and baths. Tile and glass showers in baths with high end plumbing (Kohler) fixtures throughout. Hardwoods in kitchen and living area with plush carpet in bedrooms. Nice furniture with room for 9/10 to gather in the den. Nice audio/video set up with Directv and DVD players in each room. Dining room table was large and also a bar for additional seating. Indoor and outdoor gas logs which was a nice feature for sitting outside on deck. Kitchen well stocked with whatever we needed. We hit the grocery store on the way in and stocked up with food and cooked 75% of our meals which was nice for visiting and also saving money (the resort is expensive but everything is at Tahoe!). This is not a hotel so don't expect concierge type service but with that said, the front desk is manned 24/7 and they were super helpful anytime we needed anything. They have a state of the art movie theatre you can rent out and watch movies or ball games on the hd projection screen. Also, they have a first floor gathering area with couches and work spaces and gas logs and TVs. This was nice for me as I could come down in the early morning and get work done and catch up on news without waking others. This is also the level you would "ski in/out" utilizing the ski concierge they offer at the lodge. This would be more appropriate if there would have been snow but that is not something the lodge has any control over. Last thing, the detached outdoor pool with a huge hot tub were a hit with the kids and adults. They have a workout room and also billiards room with foosball and a nice TV setup for watching games etc. In a nutshell this place was awesome. I would certainly come back, and hopefully next time we will see colder and snowier conditions. TIP: enjoy Northstar and the village, they are super nice and the set up is really cool. But if you want the best snow, try Mt. Rose.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi dwhitley,
Thank you for staying at Northstar Lodge. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as some of the activities and amenities we have on-site. Your comments will certainly help our future guests envision some of the great things to expect while staying with us. Thank you for taking the time so share your experience, we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and looking for a special place to stay that didn't require a plane trip. Since we are members of the Welk Resorts, we decided to try their Tahoe place. We were concerned that we might not have enough to do since we are not skiers but we dismissed those concerns when we approached. The place is beautiful, clean, and perfectly located. The Northstar Village is right there with fun little stores and an ice skating rink. The Gelato was my favorite! We could take the lift right from the resort or village to enjoy playing in the snow and tried snow shoes. We had a three bedroom suite that had the perfect layout and the kitchen was stocked with all the kitchenware needed. It was definitely more than what we needed but the roominess made it feel like home. We played pool in the rec room and checkers by a fire. The jacuzzi felt perfect and we made use of it nightly. The staff was very friendly especially a young man named Colby who always had a smile and gave us great information about the area. We look forward to returning at different times of year and with family. We may even try to learn to ski!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Patizone,
Thank you for your excellent review and for choosing to spend your anniversary with us! I appreciate you taking the time to share you insights with our future guests. It sounds like you really got a chance to enjoy the village. We look forward to you returning for another awesome vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was ideal for the ski in/out. It is located well and only a short walk to local shops and restaurant. A large group of us went so clean towels were always replaced and rooms were always tidy. If we needed anything the staff would always help :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi KatherineParrish,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I appreciate your compliments and excellent review. It is great to here that our staff was always there to help out. We thank you for staying at Northstar Lodge. We hope to have you back if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this as an up market place to stay having just been at Squaw Valley Lodge. In comparison this is one star higher and Welk Resorts do try and give it an upmarket feel with the rooms being well appointed and the kitchen fully-equipped.

However we were shocked to find on our return from skiing that the rooms had not been cleaned and would not be till our departure.

Apparently this is a feature of the resort - not great when you are paying $2,500 for 3 nights.

So if clean rooms matter I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

and right at Northstar Resort. For ski/snowboarding fans this is a ski-in, gondola out resort. Everything is well kept, the rooms well stocked, and the staff couldn't be better. The furnishings are top notch and complement the mountain environment. The Northstar Village is just out the door with a winter ice skating/summer roller skating area and plenty of shops and restaurants. A great place! Park your car and leave it for a week!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We had a 2 night reservation. We didn't realize it was the start of the "shoulder season" so the Village was dead. My only complaint with this place is there is absolutely no service. My husband had a bad asthma attack, had great difficulty breathing in the thin air, and we had to check out after only 1 night. I went to the front desk and told the clerk we had to leave - I had to get my husband to the hospital. I told him I was going to get a cart to bring our things down. He didn't offer to help me, and was no where to be found when I went through the lobby with cart, luggage, and very sick husband. I would have liked an offer of help.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here Aug 10-14. The address is Truckee, but the resort is closer to Lake Tahoe than Truckee.

A fabulous place to stay; beautifully furnished and FULLY equipped, right down to wine glasses, martini glasses, and a martini shaker. Also had a set of 10 Henkel knives in a wooden block. Silverware seemed brand new. The hair dryer was brand new and had a "remove before use" tag. There is a ski gondola next to the resort, and that seems to be the main focus. No restaurant on site, and the adjacent village is pretty much dead in the off season.

Pool, hot tub, and exercise room are 60 yards away. That might be a problem in winter. Another hot tub under construction on site. No barbeque grills--staff told me they were located in the construction zone and would be reinstalled after completion of construction. Rooms in front have nice views--ours in back faced the gondola and the resort parking lot. Staff were helpful, courteous, knowledgeable, friendly, etc. Obviously well trained.

Very, very quiet in the off season. I thought we pretty much the only ones there until I went to the pool and found it filled with two dozen kids. The hot tub was nice, but the pool was in the low 70's--too cold for us.

I highly recommend this place. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms in front face the village and are probably noisy during ski season, but that's the place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort

Address: 970 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Truckee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the mountain and two minute walk to multi-activities Village Core, Northstar Lodge boasts ski-in/ski-out, adjacent to Big Springs gondola and Swim and Fitness Center. Features exclusive exteriors with native materials for a naturally weathered appearance, while luxuriously warm appointments set the mood within creating a high-alpine sensibility. All two and three bedroom residences feature a private deck with in & outdoor fireplaces, hickory floors, alder cabinets, spacious fully equipped full-size kitchens including Viking ranges, and ranch house design interiors. Other amenities include a spacious lounge, media theater, ski and boot valet (winter) and bike valet (summer). Hiking closeby and 15 minutes to Lake Tahoe, Horseback Riding, and other outdoor sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar Lodge - Hyatt Residence Club Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.