We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort

Save Saved
You added Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   970 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Truckee
1 review
“Pampered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

An amazing facility. Rooms well-stocked. Beautifully decorated. Makes me very happy to be a Welk owner. Ski valet is very nice. Access to the exercise facility a nice bonus. The only thing missing are barbecues, and a after ski wine and cheese reception.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed in 3-bedroom unit with family of 4 for 4 nights. As others have said, like staying in a beautiful condo with high end finishes everywhere. Mountain lodge aesthetic mixed with contemporary finishes. Bring groceries and take advantage of outstanding, well-equipped kitchen for eating in and save $ vs. pricey restaurants in the village (this is not a standard hotel with room service). Staff was super friendly and helped quickly with several things. Had their own ski valet service which was very helpful. Right next to gondola to Ritz Carlton - which provides more dining options at mid-mountain (cafe there good and reasonable price for lunch). Don't miss the 16-person high-end home-style theater - reserve it early and pick from their long list of DVD's or bring your own (no extra fee). Have their own exercise facility that isn't huge but is well equipped with modern equipment - the non-skiier in our family used it every day and loved it. We've already booked return visit for next year.

Room Tip: rooms facing north star village have better mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spingfield
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is beautiful!! The rooms are very large and spacious. The appliances are top of line!! The beds are comfortable and sheets are so soft. The view is beautiful with the gondola right outside our window. It snowed here too which was beautiful! You can't go wrong here. Also Welk bought this property so I'm really excited about that!!! All their properties are Top Notch!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have enjoyed numerous hotels throughout Tahoe over the years. This is my favorite. The views from this hotel are incredible! The rooms were very nice and comfortable. They have a rustic,but,modern and comfortable feel. For all the amenities that this hotel offers, the rate was reasonable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I am looking forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Just like having a well equipped condo. This place sits literally a 20 foot walk across all the action of downtown. Restaurant none, but there exist a very nice sf serve continental breakfast. StF is sooo friendly and accommodating. Price is what it is, everyone wants to stay there, so there you have it. I loved it more than the Ritz.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I used to love this place. We have stayed here several times with my family and have enjoyed each time. However, my feelings have been altered. We made plans to stay over Thanksgiving weekend. My daughter, who attends college on the East coast, will not be able to make it home for Thanksgiving. I cancelled our reservations, but I am past the two week deadline by two days. I would have been very happy to have a portion of the trip (pre-paid from September) to be a credit for future use. This is not an option and full payment of the trip will be forfeited. Please be aware of this policy prior to booking your trip so that you will not suffer the same misfortune as us.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

These apartments are really nice. They are beautiful and don't yet have the trampled and worn feel of a tired ski lodge. We were two families staying in a 3 bedroom - plenty of space. The kitchen was well equipped and the unit had it's own laundry facilities. The gas fireplace on the balcony was a nice touch. There is a large lounge on the first floor that leads out to a patio with gas fire - we spent evenings there roasting marshmellows for s'mores. The lounge looked like a nice place to hangout for apres ski evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort

Also Known As:
Northstar Lodge - Hyatt Residence Club Hotel Truckee
Northstar Lodge - Hyatt Residence Club Hotel
Address: 970 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the mountain and two minute walk to multi-activities Village Core, Northstar Lodge boasts ski-in/ski-out, adjacent to Big Springs gondola and Swim and Fitness Center. Features exclusive exteriors with native materials for a naturally weathered appearance, while luxuriously warm appointments set the mood within creating a high-alpine sensibility. All two and three bedroom residences feature a private deck with in & outdoor fireplaces, hickory floors, alder cabinets, spacious fully equipped full-size kitchens including Viking ranges, and ranch house design interiors. Other amenities include a spacious lounge, media theater, ski and boot valet (winter) and bike valet (summer). Hiking closeby and 15 minutes to Lake Tahoe, Horseback Riding, and other outdoor sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northstar Lodge-A Welk Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.