We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoy your winter wonderland vacation in luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hit the Slopes Package
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really enjoy your winter wonderland vacation in luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

What an awesome location...right on the mountain with a mountain valet that helps you with your snow gear. We loved this place...we just wish we could afford to stay here more.

The staff was very friendly and the location was so convenient with the mountain just steps away and the Northstar village a short (sometimes slow) gondola ride away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    68
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
119
156
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
são paulo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

If you want the top accommodation and service, this is the hotel. The bedroom is extremely confortable, the spa is great and the employees are polited. They make everything they can to make you feel better. The location is also perfect, is near from everything (snow/skis, restaurants, shops). I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I'll let someone else talk about Tahoe/Truckee in general. This review will cover the Ritz only.

This 5-star hotel was gorgeous inside and out. It is rather secluded, so be prepared to drive to Kings Beach (10-15 min) for dining, shopping, etc. With the exception of the private, free gondola ride from the Ritz down the mountain to "the Village" - which provides a "Downtown Disney" type of dining and shopping environment, along with the prices! "The village" is a Hyatt Residences timeshare property which includes dining, shopping, Northstar activities, and a skating rink. Very luxurious. Very beautiful. Lots of outdoor gathering areas with padded sofas and chairs, curtained patios and firepits.

The Ritz' architecture is very impressive as well as the decor. One of the most beautiful rooms I've ever been in. Every room has a fireplace and flat screen tv. Tiled bathroom with an oversized bathtub. Their toiletries are above average and plentiful. And the bed is an otherworldly experience in and of itself.
The resort is pet friendly, we saw many guests with their dogs walking the vast property.
The grounds are arranged like you might want in your own backyard with many gathering areas, comfortable chairs, firepits, excellent sound system, bar service and spectacular views of Northstar and the surrounding forests.
Because it is considered "summer" now (high's in the upper 60's), the lifts are obviously closed to snow sports, but are now open to mountain biking. Yep, pop your bike on the lift to the top of the mountain and bike down like your hair is on fire. You've gotta be nuts to do it, but it's fun watching these maniacs scream down the mountain from my comfy chair next to the firepit sipping a chocolate martini!
Friday afternoon the resort had a entertainer playing excellent guitar music and singing out on the patio area by the pool. People danced and laughed and talked. It was like having a great party in your own backyard.
There are a few other activities available nearby such as hiking trails, normal biking trails and horseback riding.
I would also like to make a special point of the excellent service we received. From the valet to the front desk, every aspect of the service was exceptional. Unfortunately, since there is no other parking option, you HAVE to pay a nightly rate of $35 for valet (and don't forget to tip them, they really are very nice and informative), oh, and then there's the bag handler, and the bar staff, and the room service guy... This adds up after a few days. There is also a $25 "resort fee" added daily. I'm not sure what this could be since we already pay to stay at the resort. ?
My husband likes to make his own breakfast in the morning, so we requested a microwave in the room, until we found out there was a $35 charge!
Unfortunately, we had to discuss a few of the charge errors on our account, but they really went above and beyond to straighten everything out and maintained excellent communication throughout. Service here is top-notch.
We ate dinner with our conference group which was right on par with any gourmet restaurant and very impressive. I assume this was from the Manzanita restaurant.
We didn't use the spa or the exercise facility.
We would love to come back in the winter, though the roads may be rough to drive because it is almost 3 miles from highway 267 to the resort entrance. Winter here would be magical.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights over the "Memorial Day" weekend. The hotel was transitioning from a winter schedule to a summer schedule. The "Club Level" was not open and the Manzanita restaurant, the coffee shop, and shops were on a limited schedule. Disappointing. Having opened in December, 2009, there seemed to be some growing pains. This beautiful resort is adjacent/attached to NorthStar. We had planned to take a gondola ride between resorts but that was closed too and would not open until June 11. Another shortfall is that this resort has only one restaurant. The Manzanita, which is excellent but pricey, would not be conducive to dining with kids unless you have a big budget for food.

All of that said, The Ritz-Carlton lived up to its 5 star rating but needs to improve on food service and needs to keep this hotel running at fever pitch regardless of the time of the year. So, beware of this. Ask the questions prior to booking.

In short, beautiful rooms, views, grounds, pool, hot tubs, atmosphere, attention to detail, amenities, and outstanding staff. However, prepare to pay, if you want to stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Ritz, Lake Tahoe, was such a memorable experience for our 6 year wedding anniversary, from the service to the rooms to swimming under the stars in a perfectly warm pool whilst listening to fabulous music. It is 10/10!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

After staying here close to its opening, I'm thrilled to have come back here and give a rave review! What small bugs needed to be worked out have been and the stay, once again, matches the Ritz's standards. The service is amazing, the spa - to die for, the pool was open and in full swing. Manzanita restaurant served great food both nights we stayed. Excellent Bread salad, and all our main courses were above expectations. I was pleased to see how busy it was over the weekend. I am confident this place sets a new standard for Lake Tahoe!! We will be back again and again - summer and winter!!

We recommend rooms facing the mountain. They look over the pool and have a wonderful sunrise. The lobby bar has some of the best comfort food out there - Bison sliders are so great, along with the Fish Tacos. Drinks were generous and the staff attentive in the bar.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I thought this property was exceptionally well designed. The new rooms are beautiful, with high quality furnishings and accessories. For example, a cashmere throw is included to snuggle up in when in front of the fireplace after skiing. The site is gorgeous and there are enormous picture windows all over the place to enjoy the scenery. I thought room service was excellent, from the morning pastries to dinner.

In fact, I preferred the hotel menu (including in the lobby "living room") to the signature San Francisco restaurant Manzanita. It wasn't so much that Manzanita was particularly expensive, because it wasn't more than you'd pay for a good restaurant at home. Rather, we just didn't like what we had. This is a very "advanced" menu, and perhaps with more exploration we could have happened upon something we enjoyed. A fried duck egg with asparagus, for example, looked good. But what did order was not very good.


We had some unusually warm weather so I got to try out the pool, which I thought was great.

The best recommendation I can give is that when we stayed in the Destination Club Residences for the 2nd half of our stay, we thought the hotel part was nicer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.