We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
High Sierra Golf Package
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Ritz Carlton at Northstar is a delightful experience in every way! I've never had an easier ski in ski out experience with ski valets right on the snow to take your skis whether coming in for lunch or for the day. Then the boot valet just inside the doors and you are walking in your own shoes minutes after skiing ends! Cocktails in lobby bar outstanding! S'mores around the firepit in the afternoon. Of course luxurious rooms. Just perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    57
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
112
132
18
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Unfortunately, I stayed at the Ritz outside of ski season since it is practically right on the slopes. During the remainder of the year there isn't near much it, although it is a nice, quiet location.

Check-in was quick and the bellman brought our luggage to our room quickly. The room was very nicely appointed and seemed quite new. Also, it was very quiet - one couldn't hear noises from outside, the elevator or surrounding rooms. The gas fireplace in the room was a very nice addition. The bed was comfortable, bathrobes nices, tub was huge, and had two sinks and a separate shower. All very tastefully done.

After my wife took a bath the tub wouldn't drain and a repairman was up very fast, did the repair, and when we returned to the room there was a small give with a handwritten note apologizing for the inconvenience and thanking us for allowing him to rectify the situation. (This is what makes a Ritz exceptional.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in interconnecting rooms for one night as a family to check out the famous Lake Tahoe area before we finished our trip across the US.

The rooms are lovely with fantastic fireplaces, good quality bedding and linen and good sized bathrooms.

The pool area was nice for a quick dip to relax.

The restaurant where we had both dinner and breakfast (Manzanita) - had a warm and cosy decor but was not exceptional at its price. However, it served its purpose. It's probably the only thing I had to criticise about the hotel.

The drive to the Lake was very quick and the whole area is beautiful. I'm sure it's all amazing during the winter.

The service was exceptional all-round - from the door, to the front desk, to the restaurant. The front desk even gave the kids smores kits for the open fires outside in the evening!

Lovely stay and would recommend this place for families - high price for low season but you're paying for quality of accommodation and top-quality service. Well worth the trip from San Francisco for one night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family and I have stayed here during summer, winter and over Thanksgiving. Each visit was excellent. The staff are wonderful, food is great and location is spot on. Take the lift up to ski or down for ice skating or bungee jumping.
They have gone above and beyond every time for our young daughter. And you must try "Smore-ology"! The chef comes out to the fire pit in back to help everyone young & old make smores. You cannot get any better.
We plan on making the Ritz Carlton our family Thanksgiving tradition!

Room Tip: We enjoy the slopes/pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ritz in Lake Tahoe and absolutely can't say enough positive things about this place. The resort is a bit secluded (2 mile drive off the highway) but is enchanting sitting on the mountain surrounded by the trees. The staff is top notch. I have stayed at 3 Ritz locations this year and this property's staff is the best I've experienced. I stayed in a resort/mountain view resort and loved my room. Very cozy with an instant fireplace and an amazing shower and tub. Part of our group stayed in the Ritz Carlton Suite and it was spacious and beautiful. We had a group dinner at Manzanita and the food was excellent.

There were a few downfalls like the bar closes by 10:30 and their was construction in the middle of the outdoor area. However, I consider these things as small items considering how great everything else was. I will absolutely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The gold standard was at it finest at this property. The staff was above and beyond, the smores, firepit service was great. The room was cozy and the fireplaces were very nice in the room. Of all the places we ate in Lake Tahoe, the hotel restaurant, Manizinata was by far the best food. Even the breakfast was superior in quality. The spa was very good, not the best we ever had, but was good. Spa services are very pricey.
Construction started the day we checked out for a new outside restaurant which is scheduled to be completed by December 1st. The construction crew was very courteous. I would recommend a room not facing the pool area. We did try to sleep with the sliding door open, but we had to close in the early am when the staff washed down the outside patio area.
Don't make the mistake of checking into the Lake Tahoe Hyatt after staying here, it felt like a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Better not to face pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I asked for a quiet room, and paid extra for a premium room. From 5 AM to 6 PM I hear construction noise from new condos they are building and from food service and garbage trucks backing in. It was quieter in the city.

Room Tip: Don't come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.