We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a top level resort at beautiful Lake Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
High Sierra Golf Package
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Finally a top level resort at beautiful Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spa is superb and available to all guests. Food and drink service ordered pool side at spa or at family pool. Adult spa pool immediately adjacent to wonderful; spa with "Experiential" shower room with about 20 nozzles at various places, whirlpool tub with powerful jets, steam room and sauna. Service is impeccable at every level and all the time- very consistent. Kyle at the front desk especially stood out even in a field of such superlative staff. This is the place to stay in winter but it is also good for some pampering in summer even though about 15 mins from Lake. Great hiking and mountain biking right outside the door. Manzanita restaurant was excellent as well with great food and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Mountain and resort view rooms are actually equally nice though listed at different price points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    52
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
108
128
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent a few days at this enormous hotel neslted in the Northstar ski area. We enjoyed exceptionally cordial service, a very hospitable Concierge floor lounge and a spacious well appointed room. We were unfortunately given a room with no view despite being present during a slow period. Most disappointing however, was the ubiquitous whiny country rock music that could not be escaped once outside the room. Dreadful noise which should be banned. Nice pool and spa.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited in May, which is after ski season but before the summer rush which meant that there were very few guests at the hotel. We had three grandparents visiting for their granddaughter's 5th birthday.

Since it was a special occasion, the hotel OFFERED to give my daughter balloons and a doll on the morning of her birthday. These things never materialized. We had to go to the front desk and then it took a long time for them to get organized and delayed the start of our day by a couple of hours.

Later that day, my wife, daughter and the two grandmothers also booked a manicure at the spa at 1 PM. When they went down there, there was ONE manicurist and they had to each get a manicure 1 at a time rather than all together. This took several hours......

At the same time, the hotel removed a "construction discount" that they had offered us (lots of work was being done during the slow season). I had to ask them to put it back on. I also had to give them my Marriott rewards number several times to get it to stick.

Throughout all of this we dealt with 2 hotel managers. One manager would offer a concession and then you would see the other manager later and he would offer a lesser concession. They were not on the same page and it seemed like we were being "downgraded." In the end, we did get some concessions (a few massages and a manicure), but they were based on us coming back to the hotel for another visit.

This is not likely to happen.

The hotel is very pretty and the rooms are great, but if you are expecting service....look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't think I have ever received better service and hospitality from a property. The Ritz is famous for their service and this property delivers. This is a well managed, staffed, and maintained operation. Friendly, attentive, helpful staff and amenities galore. The fitness center was very good - what you would expect from a resort. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. The setting in the mountains is beautiful. This was a very relaxing stay. If there is a downside, it is the limited dining options. Still, they earned my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is amazing! My husband and I follow a vegan, oil-free diet, and Chef Jeremy and the entire kitchen staff were MORE THAN EAGER to accommodate. The food was creative and delicious! Every member of staff was helpful and truly acted like they appreciated us staying with them. I had a great spa experience, and the hiking around the property couldn't have been better. Not to mention that the views take your breath away! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really one of the best. It's at the top of the hill and you are greeted by valet. During my 4 day stay, I was treated like a queen. I returned home and already miss the friendly atmosphere. Pleass try the spa, gym and whirlpool. The food is wonderful! This was an unforgettable experience and I hope that I can return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This property is small, but very beautiful with lots of fireplaces. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by valet, he is an intern from South Africa. He was the nicest staff person that we had encountered during our stay. Then the service went downhill, especially from the front desk (throughout the entire stay and not just one incident). We were surprised because we have stayed in Ritz Carlton before and I was shocked and appalled.

Anyway, do not want to pour the dirt on the hotel but do not set your expectations too high or you will fall fast.

Room Tip: away from Gondola
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.