We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Spa Getaway
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best hotel in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really one of the best. It's at the top of the hill and you are greeted by valet. During my 4 day stay, I was treated like a queen. I returned home and already miss the friendly atmosphere. Pleass try the spa, gym and whirlpool. The food is wonderful! This was an unforgettable experience and I hope that I can return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    49
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
104
117
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This property is small, but very beautiful with lots of fireplaces. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by valet, he is an intern from South Africa. He was the nicest staff person that we had encountered during our stay. Then the service went downhill, especially from the front desk (throughout the entire stay and not just one incident). We were surprised because we have stayed in Ritz Carlton before and I was shocked and appalled.

Anyway, do not want to pour the dirt on the hotel but do not set your expectations too high or you will fall fast.

Room Tip: away from Gondola
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu, ca
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had 2 lovely nights at the Ritz. The hotel gets 5 stars, impeccable service, attentive and just perfect. The Manzanita Restaurant is the downfall of this property.
The hotel is remote to other eats, and guests are almost a captive audience for the food.
The salmon at dinner was dry, the clams with pasta had the pasta stuck together. It was precooked then heated. Breakfast for 2 mornings, not much better. Pancakes were not edible and French toast was ok. The hotel itsefl is perfect for the location of ski in ski out and walking after ski season is ideal. The food quality and preparation is a major downfall. Guests will choose the Hyatt residence down the hill and go to Starbucks before eating at the hotel restaurant., or the Hyatt at the Lake.
The waiter was embarassed when we complained, and the food and beverage manager agreed something needs to be done sooner than later. The decor of the restaurant was lovely, however the food is poor at best. Such a disappointment for the Ritz which otherwise would be 5+ stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

3/13 - The Ritz Carlton Lake Tahoe is located on the mountain of NorthStar - the scenery is amazing and secluded (when you compare it to south shore). When we arrived the bellmen unloaded the car and took our snowboard/skis and boots to the mountain club - so we didnt have to carry any of our equipment.

Our room over looked the outdoor swimming pool/ hot tub and the big easy ski lift of Northstar. The room was extremely nice - and included a private fireplace, a sink-in tub and - my favorite - a nice cozy robe. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were dreamy.

During the turn down service we received note was from the front desk - Kyle Huscher - who checked us in. He provided us with a map of Northstar and a note offering his favorite run at Northstar and if we had any questions to contact him or the staff since we talked to him during check in about snowboarding the next day. The staff a the Ritz Carlton really went above and beyond in the service department to make sure our trip was personalized and relaxing.

The only average part of this trip was the spa service for the price we were paying. The spa amenities however and the receptionists at the spa were so nice and helpful.

This was my first trip to a Ritz Carlton and I hope it isnt my last - my documented trip can be found here: http://goshrooney.blogspot.com/2013/05/lake-tahoe-north-shore.html

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Was here on a convention, so we had a discounted group rate. Very comfortalble room. Service is impeccable. Nothing negative to say, except that hotel is so isolated from Lake Tahoe and Truckee. There is nowhere around to walk around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I just came back from The Ritz-Carlton Lake Tahoe after a weeks skiing with my 5 year old twins.
Upon entering the hotel I was struck at how big it was yet still maintained an aura of chalet like cosiness thanks to all the comfy armchairs , sofas and fire places. The massive floor to ceiling windows in the lounge area had a great view of the slopes and swimming pool and was another huge plus. It was the perfect place to chill after a hard days skiing.
The staff were wonderful our children and the highlight of their stay was the indoor tents and camping goodies that were set up in their bedroom. They had hours of fun playing in them and even 'camped out' and slept in them one night. Like everything else there however, they were not free and quite an expensive perk.
The ski concierge was super helpful and put all the pre work out of skiing, they helped us with our boots every morning and our skis were always ready for us flat down on the slopes every day with our poles on either side. The childrens ski lessons although extortionate were very good and their teachers were enthusiastic and super friendly. By the end of day one our twins had made a lot of progress and they both professed that skiing in America was far more fun than in Switzerland! The slopes themselves were immense and were able to accommodate beginners to advanced skiers and some of them had some epic views of Lake Tahoe.
The food at the hotel was mostly locally sourced and fresh with a good selection of restaurants and room service options.
The spa was good but the massages were average, I had one which was amazing but I got lucky with the lady who was allocated to me, Melissa. I had a facial which was disasterous and left me with a small scar for a few days.
Other than that the other let downs were the astronomical cost of any extras, and the fact that we were there towards the end of the season when the snow had started to melt and the staff were minimal and some of the restaurants had begun to close until the summer season. This resulted in quite a lot of slow service within the restaurants and the hotel in general.
I would love to go back in the winter when it is more peak season and snowy. I am sure that it will be even more magical and the convenience of the amazing ski in ski out facility and gondola's straight into Truckee are second to none.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is clean, the hotel staff are friendly, the location is awesome, and the views are stunning. I wished we could have stayed longer than 2 days and 1 night. Our 13 month old daughter was with us and every employee here took their time to make her laugh and feel welcome as she walked all over the property. The club room here had great views, great food and drinks, and awesome service. It is a ski in, ski out property which is nice for all the skiers, you are basically steps away from the slopes. It also has a tram that takes you to the Village at NorthStar where there's shopping, restaurants, and an ice rink. We will definitely come back here when our daughter is old enough to ski and enjoy the awesomeness of this property!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.