We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Ritz Carlton property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hit the Slopes Package
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another great Ritz Carlton property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Lake Tahoe property, as the end to a great week of wine tasting in Napa/Sonoma. We used RC Reward points for our stay and were upgraded to the Club Level. The upgrade was a great surprise! Mr. Hassan Shabazz, the Club Level supervisor, went above and beyond with all service - a true Ritz Carlton gentleman! The Lake Tahoe Ritz is my 13th RC property and this rivaled any property in style and service. The only negatives, and they aren't specific to the Lake Tahoe property, are the exorbitant nightly valet fee ($35) and daily resort fee ($25.) Psychologically it makes me feel nickel and dimmed to death! I would much rather pay a higher nightly rate than see all of the additional fees.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    63
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
116
150
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The snow was melting away, and our small family of 3 just couldn't wait to ski one last time in the spring. From the minute we pulled up to hotel until we drove away, we can genuinely say, we experienced the world-class hotel with top-notch service.
We booked the club-level for 3 nights, and in true ritz style, getting the impeccable club services was the way to go. The choice of food at the club lounge was great and the club staff was very attentive and personable. We would like to give a big shout out to the two club supervisors, Alaine Lewis, and Hassan Shabazz, who attended our every need, above and beyond our expectations.
Best of all, the ski-concierge service was A-1. The minute we rented our skis and bought the lift-tickets inside the Ritz's "Mountain Concierge" desk, we realized the concept of the convenient ski-in, ski-out, is at best experienced here. The ski staff pampers you all the way to the slopes of the ski runs, meaning you don't have to hold your skis and walk to the lifts/slopes. They bring the skis out for you all the way to the slopes before you arrive.This was the whole new level of convenience and luxury of any ski-in, ski-out hotels. Of course the ritz stay comes with a premium price. For at least once in a season, why not splurge a little; it's worth it.
There were some minor inconsistencies with the housekeeping. The toileteries were not replenished on the second day, but on the third day, everything was replenished in doubles. So, not enough to complaint. Also, on the first night, the evening turn down service took away the wet robe from the bathroom, but did not replace with the new one. We didn't want to get charged for the missing robe. It felt embarrassing to call at night.
The only big negative was, the huge "hurt me" price tag of $35.00 per night of valet parking. In Tahoe ! Why so much, when the outside is so spacious.... Just because, it's a "Ritz".. Seriously, it is unfairly overpriced and especially at this location, ritz should consider reducing it to a reasonable price. We like to arrive and leave the hotel (like Ritz) in style, and love the valet service as it is, and as the only option for guest parking, but why not make it more affordable.
Other than this, our first time stay at this Ritz, northstar, was a very enjoyable and relaxing one. We are sold to come here again next winter.

Room Tip: No need to pay more for a view room. At check-in, they usually upgrade to a preferred view room, upo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

What can one say about the Ritz? Ritzy it is. Beautiful it is. Pricey, you bet. But oh what a wonderful place to be. The view was just breathtaking from every direction inside and out. The outside wedding backdrop was the beautiful mountainside of skiers coming right down very quietly behind the couple saying their wedding vows. It was like seeing two beautiful shows simultaneously for the price of one. After retreating inside for the reception, we dined in front of a a humongous picture window of cable cars coming up and down the mountainside. If the windows had been open, you could almost reach out and touch them. The food tasted like something from a different world. Creamy potato soup for starters and I ordered the Halibut and my wife ordered the Steak of which both were presented beautifully with either Kale, just the way I like it and or Green Beans cooked just right with creamy mashed potatoes along with red and white wine and of course champagne for the toast to the bride and groom..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just returned from our two night stay at the ritz with our family of 5. I have to be honest, my expectations were not great. Two years ago my husband and I spent two nights here and is was not so memorable. We decided to give it another go, but this time with our 3 children. We decided to splurge on the "club level" which really made the trip perfection. The club level offers so many wonderful amenities- breakfast, lunch and deserts daily. Drinks (alcohol included). To travel with three children can be quite pricey regarding constant snacks and beverages so this option really paid for itself and the kids loved it! The convenience of the ski in ski out location was perfect. The service was top notch. Surprisingly there is a lack of 5 star hotels in the Tahoe area so the ritz is a real treat. Prices are high for everything but this should be expected with the name. I highly recommend this hotel for a family trip to the snow.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I will divide my review into Great and Needs Improvement.
1. Beautiful Location and hotel itself--just know that it is pretty isolated from the rest of the conveniences. A drive to a CVS (in unlucky event you get sick) is good 20 minutes each way
2. nice large rooms. We had a suite connecting to a regular room--perfect arrangement if you have kids
3. great spa--and you have unlimited use of spa facilities for FREE--it is a part of the resort fee that they charge
3. Gondola ride down to the Northstar Village--kids really got a kick out of it (just bear in mind that there is not much to do once you are down there...nor are there many restaurant options there either so you are pretty limited in your menu options...
4. Looked like a perfect hotel if you ski (we don't but we enjoyed watching other people skiing)
5. Impeccable service from all staff members--truly memorable

Needs Improvement:
1. Food. We had dinner at the LIving Room--very mediocre and they messed up the order twice.
2. TV programs for kids. Absolutely NOTHING for little kids (ages 2 and 4) to watch UNLESS you buy a show ($3 for 25 minuted of Super WHY...) There was a TON of little kids at the resort and it would be nice if the hotel offered some Nick JR or Sprout programs in the room. After all, they cannot spend all day outside and at some point you will need your sanity time in the room while they are occupied..
3. Sledding. The Resort gives you sleds for the kids for free. Great! BUT they do not designate the areas where you can actually use them...not so great as there are skiing trails and you cannot take little kids sledding because you will get knocked over. Moreover, the guys at the ski/sled booth advised us that we cannot sled down the hill. ????? then why do you offer free sleds??? we did use them of course. Once the resort patrol advised us not to sled in a certian area because if we hit the nets it is a liability for the resort. Again. ??? There are no signs anywhere that say "no sledding here" nor are there signs that say "sled here". Ritz needs to designate an area where kids can safely sled down the hill just like they have designated an area where little kids learn how to ski. What is so difficult about that? With the volume of families they have, this is a MUST. Don't give me the sleds and then tell me I cannot use them--that is just ridiculous.
So...if I was there with my husband for a couple's vacation, I would give the resort a 4 star rating because there was not much to complain about but food. However, as I was there with my little kids, I am giving it 3 starts as they really need to work on improving the family experience. Little things make a difference. And one more thing to remember--the rooms that overlook the ski slopes, the pool etc. are VERY NOISY at night because of the slope grooming machines. They do sound like construction vehicles and they work ALL NIGHT. If you are a sensitive sleeper, I suggest you get the rooms looking the other side of the resort...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Loved my stay here. Ski in ski out resort with a boot and ski check. No need to tromp from your room in ski boots while holding your skis. They took my skis and boots upon arrival and they were waiting for me at the front door when I left. To ski each day you walk to the boot check, exchange your shoes for your boots, walk 20 feet to the ski check, the guy takes your skis and places them on the snow for you, step into your skis and off you go! Great service! Try the Bison Chile in the lounge area it's amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here during Spring Break. We have never been let down at a Ritz Carlton. It is my favorite place to stay when we travel. Extremely romantic & secluded. The fireplace was fabulous & the huge bathtub was very relaxing. We did not get a chance to ski, but it looked great from the window. The gondola takes you down to the village where you can shop & eat. We tried the sushi restaurant, it was so good. This is a beautiful place to stay if you are in the area or looking for a spot to get away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.