We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service and Best Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
High Sierra Golf Package
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Service and Best Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Loved my stay here. Ski in ski out resort with a boot and ski check. No need to tromp from your room in ski boots while holding your skis. They took my skis and boots upon arrival and they were waiting for me at the front door when I left. To ski each day you walk to the boot check, exchange your shoes for your boots, walk 20 feet to the ski check, the guy takes your skis and places them on the snow for you, step into your skis and off you go! Great service! Try the Bison Chile in the lounge area it's amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    51
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
106
124
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here during Spring Break. We have never been let down at a Ritz Carlton. It is my favorite place to stay when we travel. Extremely romantic & secluded. The fireplace was fabulous & the huge bathtub was very relaxing. We did not get a chance to ski, but it looked great from the window. The gondola takes you down to the village where you can shop & eat. We tried the sushi restaurant, it was so good. This is a beautiful place to stay if you are in the area or looking for a spot to get away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We accidentally discovered the Living Room restaurant when we were skiing at Northstar. What a beautiful hidden surprise! You can sit at a large table, or a small table, or in sofas with a coffee table, or in a large leather easy chair by a fireplace. The food is interesting (wild boar nachos?) and reasonably priced. The staff is unbelievably friendly and welcoming. We had our dinner in one area, then chose to have our dinner beside a fire. The restaurant area is three stories, open around a huge stone fireplace. The staff run up and down stairs to look after guests, and are completely cheerful and fast. Families with children were able to sprawl over the sofas as if they were at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at this property on the club level. People make a huge difference to us when we stay at places at the high end, and this was the big difference between this and other properties, most notably RC Bachelor Gulch. There were stars like Hassan Shabbaz, but more often folks were average for high end hospitality. We love the Hampton inn, but expect more when we are paying $900 a night. To be fair, this property I believe recently came out of receivership, so it's difficult to know what management,and their expectations, have been like. There was not a single rude person, just not a lot of finesse and polish.

Property was very nice, well thought out and clean. Manzanita was very good. Maybe not on par with Spago, but we all cleaned our plates. Club lounge was spacious and the food offerings were above average.

We didn't use any spa services, but the fitness center was sensible for a ski resort and very clean. I think at the end of the day, this was a Marriott experience at Ritz prices.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the minute we pulled up to the Hotel until we sadly drove away our every need was attended to. If you are just using the ski valet day service or spending the night the Ritz will surpass even the most veteran traveler's expectations. The Ski Concierge staffed by the lovely ladies from South Africa was especially welcomed as they are extremely well trained to anticipate guests every whim. Do your self a favor and stop by next time you are on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great so take what they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A stay at the Ritz Carlton Tahoe (Truckee) is well worth the short drive from San Francisco.
The hotel sits up on a hill overlooking NorthStar village. Beautiful vistas can be seen from almost all of the rooms. The Deluxe rooms are quite spacious and the furnishing comfortable. They have fireplaces in each room. They offer connecting rooms for families. The staff is extremely welcoming and try to do everything they can to make your expierence a pleasant one. The ski in and ski out facility in the hotel is great. You can rent your skiis from the facility and they will also store your booths. The morning you want to ski the Ski Concierge will have your skiis waiting for you. They offer ski school for all ages. There are also Kids programs. Even though I did not partake in the Spa facility it was quite nice. There is a seperate jacuzzi for men and women. The heated pool is a short walk from the Jacuzzi.
There are numerous areas to sit and relax either near a fireplace, at the bar, or on a cozy sofa looking out at the lovely view. The Ritz has a Club Level that offers various meals, snacks, drinks throughout the day. I had a minor housekeeping problem and the problem was taken care of immediately with various people following up to see if I was happy. From the moment we arrived to the time we left the service was exceptional in all areas. The restaurant in the hotel , Manzanita, is very good. I had breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfast was good, the lunch and dinner very good. The Ritz offers a free Gondola ride to take you to NorthStar Village where there are shops and a few restaurants. Truckee is a short 20 minute ride where you will find more shops and excellent restaurants. Great Getaway. if you can go up during the week the rates may be less and the facility less crowded.

Room Tip: Most rooms have views. Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our return visit after staying here last winter. We upgraded to the club level and I highly recommend doing so. For the additional fee, you get breakfast, lunch, snacks including wine n beer n dessert. The food is terrific here and the service was excellent, especially Billie at the club. Overall, the rooms are ample sized, the staff and valets can't do enought for you and the location being ski in n ski out to Northstar is awesome. They will even help you put your ski boots on if you need! Overall, a great place to stay n highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.