We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Tahoe - Just to hang out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Tingo.com
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Spa Getaway
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lake Tahoe - Just to hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We tried the Ritz Tahoe just for a weekend to hang out and relax. It was toward the end of the ski season, but since my wife and I don't ski, we ended up just taking it easy on the property. The fireplace and bar area are terrific for reading and people watching, and the views are spectacular. We did check out the spa one day, and I have to say - it is well worth it if you have the time to try it. Overall, we only spent a couple nights there, but have already added to our list to get back there this year for some R&R.

Room Tip: We liked the view of the mountains overlooking the pools and hot-tubs. While considered the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    49
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
104
117
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

They doubled the prices over President's weekend. We are paying 6 star prices for 4 star amenities. The evening turn down came at 9pm when we were ready for sleep after a full day of ski, we didn't receive new shampoo etc, new coffee for the morning, or new bottles of water. We expect these small luxuries especially when paying 6 star prices.

The only nice thing was the mountain concierge. They were attentive, but then again this is expected at double the prices during this long weekend.

We are a family with 4 children so the turn downs should have come earlier. The food was mediocre as well.

Just had higher expectations.......

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIchmond, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Ritz Carlton, located at the middle of Northstar Ski Resort is a great place to stay. They continually run specials that make it more affordable to stay at this luxury resort.
Everyone was very friendly and we first thought it would be a little "stuffy" but happily the people working plus the guests were very friendly.
The service was great from the ski valet (complimentary) to the stores and restaurants. The rooms were very comfortable with large bathrooms which made it nice coming back from a day of skiing. They have a outdoor pool which is heated to 94 degrees and stays open year round, a large fitness center and a spa which my wife said was excellent.
The food was a little expensive and there is a resort fee of $25 per day but overall it was worth it.

Room Tip: Rent a car, drive 10 minutes to the North shore of Lake Tahoe and experience some great dining with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is breathtaking. From the moment you pull up and see the property on the mountain to the views from the rooms! We stayed on the club level and the service was incredible. The concierge was very attentive and personable. We enjoyed sitting with him and listening to stories about his life. He was new and did not have business cards yet but delivered personalized letters to us with his contact information. They knew the named of everyone in our party when we walked into the lounge. The staff was willing to do anything for us- even made fresh iced tea when my daughter asked if they had some. The rooms were incredible. We had two adjoining rooms with a foyer connecting the two. The restaurant was wonderful and the pool area and hot tubs were spectacular with the fire pits and the view. We would live to experience this property in the winter also. This is definitely a Ritz Carlton property

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first visit to the Ritz, and I was admittedly a bit nervous about the stay, after having read that the hotel's ownership transferred hands at a fraction of the building's original construction costs. I questioned whether the Ritz' customer service would be compromised.

But I was pleased to find everyting as it should be ... the room was beautifully appointed; the hotel’s atmosphere was comfortably luxurious but without ostentation; and the staff was friendly and accommodating, without being obsequious or – worst – in any way arrogant.

We had to change rooms shortly after our arrival and the Guest Services (reception staff and bell service) was gracious and helpful. After we relocated rooms, I left an item behind and, again, Housekeeping was able to find and move it back to my new room without fuss.

The best part about the stay (in addition to the service) is the ultimate convenience of being able to ski-in and ski-out of the patio and buy lift tickets or rent from True North, operated by Northstar (which I wasn't pleased with, but that's another review). In addition, for little ones, the area immediately surrounding the outdoor patio (complete with its own firepit) is perfect for building snow things (snowmen, snow forts, you name it). And for those parents, like me, who are just watching the little ones or waiting for family members to return from a day on the slopes, the firepit area was a perfect location for keeping warm while sipping a drink and reading.

We decided to dine in at Manzanita, the hotel's restaurant, on Saturday night to avoid the crowds and chaos down at the Village during the peak of the weekend. I half-expected it to consist of what every parent dreads - an upscale restaurant that catered to childless empty-nesters who frown with every squeal from a delighted child. But I was pleasantly surprised to find it to be filled with the noisy laughter of families (with young ones like mine) having a good time and enjoying wonderfully prepared food.

While we didn't bring our dog, we did see other families with dogs at the hotel - and it was nice to know that they are dog friendly. Next time, our four-legged "first child" will definitely come along.

The only major disappointment was the fact that the Ritz did not offer a buffet-style breakfast for its guests. In past years, we rented at the Hyatt Residence Club down at the Village, and one of the best amenities they offered was a full-spread complimentary breakfast. It took the stress out of the daily need to decide what/how to feed a family without having to worry about getting a table, waiting for food, and paying the bill.

Aside from that and a few minor nits about the size of the in-room refrigerator for storing special juices and the complications of operating a non-integrated DVD-player, we loved our stay and wished we had more time here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the worst Ritz I have ever stayed at. Spend one night there, in a suite. The room was horrible. From the missing covers on the walls for the light switches and outlets. To the bed in the master bedroom that was broken. And if you layed on the right side of the bed, you actually rolled completely out of the bed. Impossible for two people to sleep in the one bed. And then when I asked for a roll away bed, they actually wanted to charge me $100!! After I already paid the rate for a suite! Needless to stay, they didn't do anything to help make the stay enjoyable. Horrible for a Ritz Carlton. Thank god for the club room and complimentary happy hour cocktails!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Cant say enough about the customer service at the ski rental and ski valet area. Great aspect and deserve to be tipped well. We loved the outdoor fireplace, indoor room fireplaces, and club level.

Eventually, had a room facing slope side after the first room offered was of the backside resort, no issues with changing that. Sad we weren't offered the first one to begin with given the prior contact with concierge, rewards members status, and frequency of stay with the Ritz but again no issues and very little time wasted changing.

We ate lunch at Manzanita and the food was good, the setting great. Other times we just enjoyed Club or went off property. Maybe it's because I'm from the South but the fried chicken wings from room service far exceeded my expectations.

The "magic refrigerator" in Club was always stocked with quality beverages and all our travel companions had to do was ask for Grey Goose and grapefruit, for well drinks. A bit expensive but for the location and the luxury that close to the slopes, harder and harder to find these days.

Spa service and amenities were great, too.

Room Tip: All rooms have fireplaces. We enjoyed slope side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list