We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Visit - Gift Shop not well stocked” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Spa Getaway
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Dublin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Visit - Gift Shop not well stocked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I went back over the Veteran's Day weekend to celebrate both our birthdays. Like last year, we had a very nice time, however, I was disappointed in the gift shop and their lack of supply of personal products. Normally, hotels would have a shop with snacks, gifts,personal products, etc. On our departure date, I needed to purchase women products. When we went to the gift shop all they had was a small basket with sample sized products. I recommend if you go, that you bring enough of aspirin, stomach meds, tampons, etc. just in case. I asked the lady there if she had a particular item that most hotel gift shops would have and she said no. My husband and I went to drug store on the way home. I know this is a high end hotel, however, they should have these types of products especially if its snowing and you don't want to leave the property to buy it elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    49
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
104
117
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The food here was amazing. It was honestly some of the best food I've had at any hotel. I can't speak to the cost of it, however, but the quality was great. Eve things that they represented as basic box lunches were really amazing.

I'm a platinum Marriott guy and have states at many top marriotts and ritz hotels but this was truly a world class experience.

Rooms were dead silent, bed was great. Tv was good.

The drive up to this place is a bit much but I wouldn't factor that into my review, many people want this isolation and its the only way you can get this kind of location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

OMG is all I can say ! It was beautiful! The service was as always out of this world ! We had a top floor, 2 Queen bed room facing the pool and mountain. It had breathtaking views. I would highly recommend it. It actually snowed when we got there and the kids loved it. They had nightly s"mores by the firepit. They have a hotel car that takes you down (for free) to the nearby Northstar village. Breakfast at Manzanitas was a little expensive BUT DELICIOUS and very filling, no need to have lunch. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. You must take the drive around Lake Tahoe, what beautiful views and wonderful, relaxing drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA ROSA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is like something out of a movie. It's beauty sits nestled back against the mountain. Very warm & cozy. The only drawback would be the lack of food options. The restaurants are very, very, expensive! The Club Level lounge is only open during the winter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

With its busted budgets and larcenous tax rates, California seems an unlikely place to find one of North America's best mountain resorts, but here it is -- about four hours east of San Francisco, just outside the town of Truckee: The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe. It's perched on the side of a mountain like an enormous Bavarian castle. It feels deliciously isolated. The views are of sheer ski runs, tranquil mountain meadows, and verdant fog-shrouded valleys. Think the famous helicopter shot that opens the movie "Sound of Music." Looking out the giant picture windows of the public rooms, one expects to see Heidi coming down a trail, piping her goats. The guest rooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated, and super clean. The spacious bathrooms extend a luxury worthy of the Ritz-Carlton brand. Our stay happened to coincide with the San Francisco Giants playing the fourth game of the World Series. Curiously, the only bar with a TV was quite small. It sat ten, to be exact. Meanwhile, the much larger bar in the restaurant went virtually empty that night. Am I a proponent of turning every luxury hotel's oak-beamed taproom into a sports bar? Hardly. But be forewarned: If you are with a group and intending to see a sports event on TV, you'll have to fight the other hotel guests for precious real estate in the lobby bar, or settle for watching the game in your room. Enough about digital distractions. This hotel is about serenity, romance, and connecting with the mountains. As such, it's a wonderful getaway no matter what the season. (If you book it right, you can get a highly competitive rate during certain "shoulder season" months -- October, for example.) The on-site restaurant, Manzanita, is stunning. It's worthy of patronage for breakfast, lunch, and especially dinner. The menu selections will keep you engrossed for days in a row, if necessary. The service in the restaurant is attentive and appropriately friendly. Watching the chefs at work in the large, open kitchen, you'll feel like you're privy to a lavishly choreographed culinary ballet. And you are. If a Ritz-Carlton stay is within your budget, I highly recommend the Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe. Paying California taxes makes me feel like a serf. Two days at this hotel made me feel like a king.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton. NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The rooms are very nice, but what most impressed us was the expansive, and useful, common areas. Lovely places to sit, have a snack or a drink. The understated elegance suited us much more than the usual glitz at some of the Ritz Carlton's we have stayed at in Florida. The staff is very nice and we enjoyed the hotel's gondola. It is a short drive to the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was 5+ stars. The staff was amazing, the property is amazing... I didn't want to come home. I was blown away by the attention to detail at this hotel. We were with a large group and almost all of the staff welcomed us by name. The only negtive thing about my stay was that it was in the summer. Don't get me wrong, there is plenty to do during the summer but this location would be perfect for ski season.

Room Tip: I would reccomend having a car to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list