We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely surprise, once we got to it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hit the Slopes Package
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Northern California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise, once we got to it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Was really looking forward to checking out this property since reading about it online. It was off season, end of the summer, so it wasn't too busy. I love staying off season as you get a better price and hotels aren't as crowded as they would be in peak season.

This property is tucked away in the woods at the top of a hill at the end of a LONG driveway. Very secluded but worth every minute of the drive. There is a gondola that runs from the property to the village at Northstar. I was only running Friday afternoon thru Sunday the time of year we were there and we didn't get a chance to ride in it. Instead, we utilized the house car (Cadillac Escalades) to take us and pick us up from the village. We had a very nice young man that drove us each time. Turns out he is from our home town in the the Bay Area. Always fun to find someone from your hometown on vacation. Due to it being off season, the house cars were readily available with little advance notice. LIKE!

Our room was a standard room that overlooked the gondola and the RC Residences. See photos. Room was very comfortable and the kids and I enjoyed it completely.

Spent time both days at the pool...poolside service was consistent. Drink and food choices we ample. Many families with children at the pool which made it nice for my two children. Early evening they had a Smoreologist at the firepit teaching the kids how to make s'mores and they fixings were complimentary. Kids totally loved it! As the Mom...I thought the timing was off as it was just before dinner time. Oh well, while on vacation...we tend to bend the rules.

Overall, lovely property and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Would prefer a room with a more scenic view...next time I'll ask ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    68
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
119
156
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The drive up the mountain to 7,000+ feet elevation is an adventure of itself and builds the anticipation of what may well be the nicest place you'll stay. The staff is ready and waiting to serve your every need and the hotel is not at all "stuffy" like some luxury 5-star properties often are. It was very comfortable surroundings and the rooms were quite roomy and comfortable.

Although we were there during October when there was no snow on the adjacent slopes, it was a rare opportunity to venture outside the hotel and hike the paved slopes for an amazing vista of the surrounding area and looking down onto Lake Tahoe.

The resort services and amenities were amazing and made the stay very enjoyable. You did not feel at all isolated, especially because you could ride the gondola down the mountain to the village of Northstar. But everything you could have wanted was right there at the resort.

I can't wait to take my family back there for some skiing and additional sightseeing in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the courtyard and the ski slopes rising above the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our 2 nights at the Ritz Carlton in early October was a luxurious comforting stay that provided us an escape from all the hustle and bustle of life. The rooms were spacious and we had wonderful views of the property. There were activities to keep everyone happy including the 4 year old in our party who thoroughly enjoyed the Smores activity and Frisbee golf. The Manzanita was an excellent, if not indulgent, choice for dining, but since we were celebrating a significant birthday it was just right. To sum up the success our memorable stay, the youngest member in our party said, "Let's come back to Lake Tahoe!" Thank you Ritz Carlton!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Amazing lobby, rooms, service etc as would be expected at a Ritz Carlton. We stayed 3 days in mid September so it was practically empty which was so peaceful. Due to its secluded location, we ate every meal there and the food was amazing...dinners were some of the best we've ever had with a terrific server. Additionally, the spa is one of the nicest I've ever seen.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A wonderful property: the building is beautiful, common areas superbly designed and furnished, the room was gorgeous complete with fire, views are spectacular, great staff. We ate at Manzanita and it was excellent.
No-one likes the resort fee and the additional parking fee, but at least they make those two charges very apparent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent three nights here on our California tour. We knew about resort fees with no free Wifi amd about $35 valet parking, so there was no pain there. BUT we thought this would be a peaceful out of ski season haven, such as you get all over France and Switzerland with great hikes. Be warned it is not! From the moment you drive up you are screamed at by pop music. It booms from the bell mans area, it booms by the pool. It is channelled everywhere, bar and restaurants, and it is not background relaxing stuff as we had everywhere else in the US. As my wife said, "if I wanted to go to a Robbie Williams concert I would book it and go, I do not want it 24/7". Turn it down or off. Get peaceful mood music if you must have it. Is this pop music really turned up for bored staff in the off season when they have few guests?

The room was as expected. It was good, but if you opened windows to enjoy mountain air, yes you got The Spice Girls and we really, really did not want them right then!

The eating experience was average, with the buffet breakfast speedy and quite healthy, but dinners were not great and there is no where else to go. Their recommendation of a Japanese style chain restaurant in the resort below was so dire I would not review it. I was going to score the place POOR but think average is fair.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just stayed 2 nights at this fantastic hotel. The rooms are amazing, fireplaces and large deep bathtubs for relaxing. It was very quiet during our stay, even so there were 3 weddings on the property Friday-Sunday. The buffet breakfast is amazing and LOVE their "hot potatoe salad."
It is great for hiking and being outside to relax. The spa has great staff and the wellness area is pretty good, 3 out of a 5, 5 being the best spas we have been to in Europe.

The only negative, we stayed there as our 5 year anniversary holiday, and I had requested from the front desk a special dessert or pastry to be delivered to our room on Saturday evening from the pastry chef's kitchen, it never arrived. When I make a request, I expect it to happen, so they get a negative star on follow through for this. It was to be a surprise for my husband and I was disappointed. If you decide to do something special during your stay, I would double, triple check with them to ensure it happens. I expected the best service from a Ritz and was disappointed to not get it.
They have a great opportunity for outdoor seating per suite, but it is not with all suites, we had a room that "appeared" to have outdoor patio, however, when you opened the sliding doors, you found a space, 15' x 1' sectioned off by a waist high fence. If you really want a patio to sit outside, make sure you ask for it.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floor is great, backside of the hotel, you will have amazing views from almost any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.