We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hit the Slopes Package
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Can't say enough good things about the hotel. The mountain ski valet handles your skis and boots from arrival to departure and has them ready for you every day you ski. Rooms gorgeous. Food outstanding. The spa was very nice. Spend the extra money, it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    68
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
119
156
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I eloped here over Christmas, and the hotel took care of EVERYTHING. Allie planned our event flawlessly, Natalia gave me the best hair ever and Chef Jacob delivered a one of a kind six course dinner at Manzanita in celebration of our wedding. We've stayed here five or so times, but our future visits will be so much more meaningful :)

BTW, Janice from Ceremony of Love was irreplacable...talk about alleviating the stress of a wedding. She arranged the officiant, photographer and flowers. We just had to show up!

Room Tip: No, I won't give away my tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I am frugal. My wife enjoys paying for a luxury experience, I do not. With that in mind, we recently used the AMEX special at this hotel and it was worth every cent. I never touched my skis once. Not once. The ski valet is awesome- I think they would even ski for you if you asked. The staff were warm and friendly. They gave us an upgraded corner room with 2 glass walls and a view to die for. The Spa is awesome (and I am not really a spa guy). Food at Manzanitas for breakfast was very good, even the room service food was good. All in all I will save my pennies and bring the kids here next year, no question. The only down side is that I can no longer argue with my wife about value versus cost.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms- larger, more windows, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is beautifully designed & sits in a panoramic area. They offer numerous amenities and most of the staff is extremely attentive. Unfortunately we found the dining room lacking. While the room itself was inviting we found the waitstaff as faulty as the food. Once our waitress finally arrived with our breakfast almost 25 minutes later in a nearly empty room, we never saw her again. We had to flag down another waitress to get a refill on our coffee and yet again to get our bill which was extremely high for such tiny portions. Despite that single bad experience we highly recommend a stay in the Ritz in Truckee.

Be sure you're aware of all the extra charges you'll incur when you make the reservation. We were surprise by the amount especially since we knew we were not going to use most of the options we were charged for.

Room Tip: While the most scenic rooms face the valley but the ones facing the pool offered more sun when we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times and loved it. Service, cleanliness, decor and surround is A+ will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel was top notch. Because it was built a few years ago, it is still new, clean, and fresh feeling. It is decorated beautifully--to take advantage of the beautiful natural surroundings, yet is not too rustic. The basic rooms were great--plenty of room. Plenty of storage for ski coats, gear, clothes, etc. Nice deep bath tub for apres ski soaks. Each room also has a fireplace that keeps things toasty! The spa was also nice--not too fancy, not too rustic. The pool area was fantastic--great hot tub. The bar and lounge area was perfect for meeting up after a long day of skiing. The ski rental shop is conveniently located in the hotel and the attendants fall over you to help get your boots on/off, get your skis, etc. We didn't have to lift a finger. The ski school classes meet right outside the hotel, and the lifts are just a minute ski ride away. SO CONVENIENT for all levels of skiers. I was completely spoiled here by the Ritz and will have a hard time going anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. It is nice to be on the spa/ski side for quick access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed in the hotel with my family during Thanksgiving. We shared a room with two queens. Hotel is very ice with nice lobby and decent breakfast. Restaurant in hotel is great and kid friendly. My son liked the game room although there was no airco in there and certainly 80F. We tried the hot tub which is just next to ski piste.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.