We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hit the Slopes Package
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Danville, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Resort in Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have stayed at this property numerous times with our German Shepard, Gabe. The entire staff, from the front door to Manzanita to houskeeping to management is the BEST in California. We highly recommend this property, not just during the winter or summer, but year 'round.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    68
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
119
156
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

Great setting in the mountains with the ability to ski from the hotel at Northstar. Staff service was excellent especially club floor level. Pool and hot tubs were perfect warm temps as you watched skiing around you. Loved the gym as well.
Overall, family had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel management must read its reviews! Housekeeping has stepped it up a notch - rooms were promptly cleaned and stocked, turn down was during dinner. Staff is still stellar. WiFi worked well. Restaurant choices could improve; but found something to make us happy at every meal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame, california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Ritz Carlton Northstar does not disappoint! The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the Manzanita Restaurant was delicious and the outdoor patio and fire pit provided for great people watching! We stayed for 5 days over New Years and although the mountain had little snow, it was obvious that the Ritz Carlton was the perfect home base for all activities. All 3 of my teens rented their equipment and took private ski lessons. The ski staff at the hotel could not have been more accommodating. They took care of EVERY whim and my boys are all comfortable, knowledgeable skiers, now. The hotel is warm, the service is impeccable and the food is delicious. The bison nachos on the patio were to die for! There is a gondola that whisks you down to the village which was bustling with shops, people and more restaurants. We were always grateful, however, to hop on the gondola and return to the serene and sophisticated Ritz. Yes we brought our dog - EVERYONE LOVED her, yes, we stayed on the Club Floor (great lounge staff), yes I used the Spa (very good but not amazing) and yes, the trip was a fortune. We will definitely stay again....

Room Tip: The rooms facing Martis Valley are arguably the best views, but I loved facing the mountain and watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I was visiting friends in Tahoe and we came her for lunch. The experience overall was fantastic as once we entered the front door, the staff was amazing, friendly and acted happy to see us.
We had lunch at Mazanti (spelling?) which the service was excellent and very friendly. The wine list was right on, however, the menu selection was small. I ordered the burger medium and it was brought out more on the rare side. They were apologetic and fixed the order to our satisfaction. The brought out extra french fries which were delicious. Because of the staff, I overlooked the fact that my burger was undercooked. I would definately dine there again.

A hidden secret that I will definately partake in next time is that the lounge area, called the living room, has an exceptional menu with bison and turkey burgers. Much healthier options than the dining room. They have other items not on the restaurant menu including fun cocktails. Be sure to check this out!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel is priced to seriously deplete your wealth but does not provide what you would expect. While clean with a good staff we still had to send down for shampoo as housekeeping forgot to restock it. They also were reluctant to empty our waste baskets-why I don't know. The biggest fault for us was the food. While Chef Traci has a James Beard award her kitchen must not. The menu has odd untastefull and pretty much unhealthful dishes. One of us became ill after eating there. Of the other places to eat one was almost always closed and the other served $28.00 hamburgers and $14.00 bottled beer and mostly fried bar food. Really Chef Ramsey needs to visit them and change their menu-or Chef Traci had better do it. I ate elsewhere at great trouble.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz Tahoe the first week of January with our two pre-teen kids. We loved the area, the property, the staff, and the access to Northstar mid-mountain ski schools and activities. Three of us were first time skiers. Things were pretty slow because of warm weather/little natural snow and just past the x-mas crowd, so not sure how things would be at busiest times. Here's what we learned...
First, we upgraded to the club level and recommend this. While the food presentations were not extensive, it was sufficient to keep our tummies full, and the food was very high quality and the staff a pleasure. Compared to the high prices for food and drink on the property and limited food options at northstar Village, we found this well worth it. We ate breakfast, dinner, and evening dessert in the club lounge nearly every day.
Second, if you're renting your equipment at the mountain, do it the day before you ski, as the set-up process at the hotel was very time consuming. While Northstar ski resort owners have a shop right at the hotel, they are not 100% coordinated with the Ritz. Push them to outfit you with equipment at the hotel. If you don't push, they will send you down the mountain to northstar village to get your equipment, which is a hassle. If you push for what you want, the staff is accommodating and helpful. The on-site equipment storage and helpful with ski-out at beginning of day was great. If you don't ski well or are feeling lazy, ask them for the "sherpa" large snowmobile that will take you from hotel to mid-mountain where the schools are lifts are located.
Third - the Burton snowboard academy was fantastic way for our kids to learn to snowboard. They loved the instructors and were doing great after two days. It's expensive, both worth it to get the kids started in a great way.
Fourth - we learned what experienced skiers already know - if you ski a lot, come stay at this hotel - but bring your own equipment, and if you come to Northstar/Heavenly more than a few times in a year, buy a season pass by the autumn before the year you come. The hotel has great ski lift/instruction/equipment packages and help - but it's very expensive way to go.
Fifth - Northstar Village was nice, but didn't live up to the marketing hype. There is a very convenient gondola from hotel to village. Only a couple of decent dining options at the Village. Skating rink for those who like that. Otherwise some junk food and over-priced shopping. We did like the Japanese place a lot - extensive menu and fun atmosphere.

Room Tip: Club level if you can splurge. Higher floors would be better. Side facing down the mountain is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Address: 13031 Ritz-Carlton Highlands Court, Truckee, CA 96161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Truckee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a mid-mountain location on Northstar California, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe is the first and only AAA Five Diamond mountain resort in California. Highlights include luxurious guest rooms and suites with in-room fire places and floor-to-ceiling windows; ski-in/ski-out access on Northstar California with ski valet services; a 17,000 sq ft slopeside spa with treatments themed around water and woods; extraordinary dining in Manzanita featuring rustic California cuisine with mountain resort influences; a signature "Marshmology" experience each evening at the fire pit featuring the “Art of the S’more"; and a comprehensive children’s program allowing parents to make the most of their Lake Tahoe vacationDuring the winter season, The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe’s mid-mountain location provides for ski-in / ski-out access to Northstar California, consistently touted as one of the nation’s best family-friendly ski resorts. With a slope-side location on Northstar’s “Big Easy” run, the ski-in/ski-out access can be enjoyed by skiers and riders of any level. When you are ready for a day on the mountain, simply head down to mountain concierge where the ski valets will assist you with your boots and escort you to your skis and poles waiting on the slopes. Northstar offers world-class grooming and provides a plethora of family activities in the Village at Northstar accessed from the hotel by an intermountain gondola. At the heart of the Village is a 9,000 sq ft ice skating rink surrounded by cozy fire pits and a variety of options for shopping, dining and entertainment. During the summer months, Northstar transforms into family-friendly playground offering the region’s best mountain adventure. Families and their four-legged friends will love hiking the easy loop to Sawmill Lake. After a day on the mountain, guests can gather around the fire pit with The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Marshmologist for complimentary s’mores, enjoy cocktails on the resort’s heated outdoor terrace or enjoy a game of bocce in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Hotel Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.