We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in North Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge

Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge
4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96162   |  
Hotel amenities
Pacific Grove, California
1 review
“The place to stay in North Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've scheduled company trips to Northstar for the last 4 years. The first year we rented a house and had fun. The next two years we stayed at Iron Horse at Northstar resort and it was incredible. This year we decided to try Great Bear at Northstar and we will definitely be back next year. Iron Horse is now our second favorite . . . it can't get much better than stepping out of the elevator and into your place . . . not to mention the proximity to restaurants, bars, entertainment, and the gondola (when you're ready to hit the mountain). The view of the ice rink and listening to live music after a day of skiing is pretty sweet!

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all really nice, but ask for the units that have a balcony facing the ice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you very much Max for taking the time to provide a review of your visit to Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge! You are so correct when you say that having a view of the ice rink and listening to music apres' ski is pretty sweet, I so agree. I also appreciate you recommending that folks request the ice rink view. But guess what, here's the cool thing....every residence that Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging represents in the Great Bear Lodge has a deck with a view of the ice rink. So next year, we hope you will be joining us again on business or pleasure for that matter, when you return, all you have to do is reserve a Great Bear Lodge residence again and you'll be guaranteed that fantastic location above the ice rink. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

One of the best resort accommodations I have ever stayed in. Very posh and amazingly super clean. Better than expected. Linens and beds were great as was furniture. Would definitely stay again. Security was not a problem at all, elevators are very safe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTahoeBear, Director of Sales at Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Sol glad you enjoyed Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge...it's quite a compliment when a guest from New York City takes the time to write a review commending our accommodations (New York has phenomenal hotels). Thank you so much for staying with us this summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed in a four bedroom and four and a half bath unit in Great Bear Lodge. Check in was easy and friendly. We had three cars in our group and they provided us with free parking inside a secure garage requiring key card to enter.

From the garage you enter the "private elevator" which opens right into your unit. Somewhat fabulous until later in our stay when others were also using the elevator which services about 8 units, guests in the elevator could walk right into our condo when the door opened - no security. Many times we got in the elevator to go down and it would go to another floor, sometimes up and sometimes down and open to another condo. Once it opened to a condo that appeared to be unoccupied and anyone could have just walked in. Yes you do need a key card to press the button for your unit but there would be no recourse if someone in the elevator wanted to enter your condo with you. The other tenants were cordial about this but equally astonished.

The condo was beautiful. It was immaculate, absolutely not a crumb anywhere. Everything exactly in its place. The most obcessive complusive person would find no fault here. The kitchen was perfectly stocked with everything you need to prepare meals and a lot more. They provided everything you would need right down to foil and saran wrap, even scotch tape. All dishwashing supplies along with Tide detergent for the full size washer and dryer were provided. One of our four bedrooms had two beds, two of them had queen beds, and the master had a king - along with a queen sofa bed, if needed. The media room had a small sofa bed. We had seven adults and more than enough places to sleep. Each of the bedrooms had a full size private bathroom connected to it and there was a spacious half bath off the entry hall. There was a long dining table which would seat 10, a beautiful fire place in the living room and two balconies. The larger balcony overlooked the Village but it was not noisy. We didn't use the side balcony because there was no furniture on it and very little on the larger one, two chairs is all.

Safeway (grocery) is a convenient and beautiful 10-15 minute drive to Tahoe City. If you are interested in a casino it is not far from Safeway too. There is a nice swimming pool, exercise room, and game room with pool table on the premises and were never busy or crowded. We went on the "Wine Walk" which was supposed to be wine 'tasting' at different shops and restaurants but each poured a generous half glass and some provided food including pizza. Well worth the $20 and you keep the glass. There are several restaurants if you don't want to cook but there really isn't anywhere in the Village to buy things like milk or bread.

The condo was beautiful along with the view. In summer there is free roller skating. We saw two weddings from our balcony. There is live music. In the evening you can sit near a fire in one of many cabanas surrounding the skating rink. There are gondolas that will take you up the mountain (and back or ride your bike down) and one that will take you to the Ritz Carlton. All in all very relaxing with just enough things to do and see.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge

Address: 4001 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96162
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty lodging in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Bear Lodge located in the New Village at Northstar™ features luxurious three and four bedroom condominium residences with commanding views of the outdoor ice rink, mountain slopes and Northstar's Valley. Enjoy the ultimate in privacy, with direct elevator access into each home, with the convenient location in the heart of Northstar's New Mountain Village. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging Great Bear Lodge to your Saves list