We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to live and play!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Donner

Tahoe Donner
11509 Northwoods Blvd., Truckee, CA 96161
530-587-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Activities in Truckee
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Cross-country Ski Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former Olympian biathlete Glenn Jobe designed this cross-country resort to be serene and sociable. In the summer, it features an equestrian center with pony rides, wagon rides and trail rides.
Truckee, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best place to live and play!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We love living here in TD. The amenities are fabulous, it's easy to meet people and they are warm and welcoming. Water aerobics and Zumba are my favorite classes, but I also use the gym and the trails. And we love our homeowners' beach at Donner Lake, where we have potluck BBQs every Monday evening during summer. The downhill ski hill is the best and most affordable place in Tahoe to teach grandkids to ski!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Trails Rock ~ whether hiking, biking or horseback riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Tahoe Donner trail system is unbeatable. I have hiked them, mountain biked them and have been horseback riding. They are well marked, so even if you are alone, it's difficult to get lost. The TD Association has done a great job of keeping them up, adding bridges over creeks, clearly marking the boundaries, and keeping them clear of garbage. Euer Valley is a beautiful place to bike or hike.

There are some steep climbs, but the maps clearly mark them and you can still enjoy an all day hike wth young children.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for beginners and children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time skiing for my 4 and 6 yr old children as well as my 42y/o husband. All received lessons from the friendly staff (10am-noon) and enjoyed it. Great beginners runs (green and blue) but only minimal black diamonds...we went at the end of March and the snow was melting already.
Would recommend to all who are just beginning to learn to ski!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Easy runs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a great place to learn, it is not crowed. Lots of families with small kids. Fun place to ski.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to teach kids to ski”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place to teach kids. Visited here with my grand kids , they loved it. Small and easy to keep track of them. Not a place for black diamond skiers. We had a great day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Donner also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tahoe Donner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Donner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.