We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for beginners and children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Donner

Tahoe Donner
11509 Northwoods Blvd., Truckee, CA 96161
530-587-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Attractions in Truckee
Type: Cross-country Ski Areas, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Horseback Riding Stables
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Former Olympian biathlete Glenn Jobe designed this cross-country resort to be serene and sociable. In the summer, it features an equestrian center with pony rides, wagon rides and trail rides.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for beginners and children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time skiing for my 4 and 6 yr old children as well as my 42y/o husband. All received lessons from the friendly staff (10am-noon) and enjoyed it. Great beginners runs (green and blue) but only minimal black diamonds...we went at the end of March and the snow was melting already.
Would recommend to all who are just beginning to learn to ski!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easy runs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a great place to learn, it is not crowed. Lots of families with small kids. Fun place to ski.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to teach kids to ski”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place to teach kids. Visited here with my grand kids , they loved it. Small and easy to keep track of them. Not a place for black diamond skiers. We had a great day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tahoe Donner Cross Country Ski Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Friday, took a 10 AM ski lesson with Chauncey, and spent the rest of the day on the trails. There are trails for every skill, as well as some snowshoeing trails. The trails are well groomed, and there are warming huts every so often. It is beautiful out there! They also have a small day lodge with a fireplace and yummy food. We saw young and old enjoying themselves at this great location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good nordic skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went skiing over the weekend at the nordic center. It was MLK weekend, so busy, but the staff has a good system for processing rentals. They had sleds, and we rented one for my 1 year old to ride in. The snack bar at the end was surprisingly nice, and there were lots of people hanging out.

Good experience, well maintained trails, beautiful scenery. It seemed a little expensive, but the last time I went was ten years ago in Colorado.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Donner also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tahoe Donner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Donner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.