We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cross country ski trails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Donner

Tahoe Donner
11509 Northwoods Blvd., Truckee, CA 96161
530-587-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Activities in Truckee
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Cross-country Ski Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former Olympian biathlete Glenn Jobe designed this cross-country resort to be serene and sociable. In the summer, it features an equestrian center with pony rides, wagon rides and trail rides.
MIAMI
Top Contributor
812 reviews 812 reviews
260 attraction reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Great cross country ski trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

TRails are well groomed with several warming huts along the way.
Skiing here is for all capabilities, from easy, to intermediate and difficult. There is a nice lodge and cafe for food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I lived here! (and I loved it!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Tahoe Donner is a great place to vacation in both the summer and the winter. It's on the cleaner side of Lake Tahoe, North Lake Tahoe. For some reason this area of the Tahoe area is just always greener and cleaner. Tahoe Donner is full of vacation rentals that are moderately priced, their are several that are adjacent to the Tahoe Donner Golf Course where I used to live. The area has several restaurants with in a short drive, equistrian center, golf, hiking, both nordic and cross country skiing. It is just up the hill from Donner lake which has a great area to rent small boats, kayaks, and bicycles. It is a great place to visit year round, the best deals for lodging are in the fall and spring.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
“Fun of families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Paddle boats that seat 4! Was alot of fun. BBQ pits on the beach, snack shack near by. Great little spot. Playground for the kids, plenty of shade if needed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at a cabin in Tahoe Donner. Note... This is not on Donner Lake and is a good ten minute or more drive to the lake depending on where you are. The cabin was on a hill preventing bike riding or easy walking. But, a short drive down the hill, led to bike, walking and horse paths. We were some distance from the Rec center and amenities, but the are was beautiful. Huge Mule Deer came to graze at sunrise and the sunsets were spectacular! Note, the first day the cabin was quite hot and without air conditioning. The sun bakes it on the ridge and there was little relief. The weather turned and we cooled down. We could not have stayed if the weather had not changed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tahoe Donner is the single best planned unit development around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

There is NOTHING I don't like except the Northwoods entrance off Donner Pass Rd which is steep and slippery in a winter storm .. But TD has everything a family could want and MORE. We love it so much that we bought 2 properties there - and pay the dues on both of them just so that we could have the amenity package .. we'll keep one of the properties for our lifetimes .. We did live there for about 5 years ... but we wanted acreage so we moved down to the banana belt section where we can spread out a bit more. Excellent community fantastic amenities - FIRST CLASS

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Donner also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tahoe Donner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Donner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.