We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort - highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village at Northstar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Village at Northstar to your Saves list
The Village at Northstar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stay for a week at Northstar At Tahoe in the Catamount Lodge (too early to ski). The area is all-inclusive (meaning everything you need is in the Village). The condo we stayed in was beautiful! I loved the gas fireplace, high ceilings and in the kitcheen; granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances.
Activities; Take the skilift and hike some trails. Skate on the outdoor arena in the Village. Be sure and check out the Chocolate Bar!
Beautiful surroundings! Beautiful resort!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    19
    18
    26
See reviews for
72
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We once again visited Northstar in mid-June. We stayed at the Village Condos run by Tahoe Mountain Resort Lodging. These condos are great. New, access to new pool/workout room etc.

While there we visited friends staying at a place booked through Northstar lodging. The condo was as described here. Old and very dated.

I do love the Village-at-Northstar, but I would recommend the new condos. I checked the website, and I believe you can book the new condos through Northstar also, but you have to ask.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northstarattahoe, Manager at The Village at Northstar, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
We’d like to take this opportunity to respond to our guests’ reviews with some insider information we hope will help you plan a trip that lives up to your expectations. As there is a wide variety of lodging available on-site at Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort, we’d like to arm you with information to help navigate your way to a place that is right for you – particularly if this will be your first time visiting Northstar Resort.

Northstar Resort has lodging for just about any budget, size of party, and offers everything from studio condos in the Village at Northstar to 6-bedroom mountain homes available for rent through Northstar Resort Lodging. All of these properties are individually owned. We require owners to do a certain amount of maintenance each year, as well as make appropriate upgrades in order to be included in our rental program. If the owners do not meet this requirement, we will no longer rent their unit. The owners are free to rent their unit on their own, but there is no guarantee to the guest what kind of shape the unit is in.

Luxury condos in the Village at Northstar are managed by Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging and can be rented through Northstar Resort as well. The newly opened Northstar Lodge-Hyatt Residence Club and The Ritz-Carlton Highlands, Lake Tahoe, which comes online this winter, can also be booked by Northstar Resort. Please keep in mind that although you can book these properties through Northstar Resort, we do not manage these properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Stayed for three days last week for some spring skiing for me and the family (kids 10 and 12). The room was clean, a bit small, with plenty of extra towels, refrigerator, and starbucks coffee. The daily maid service was lacking in some areas (basically they only changed the trash)(did not refill starbucks coffee!) but nothing serious enough to prevent me from returning. The internet wireless connection was not working for our room. They explained that they were in the process of changing to broadband, and some rooms had difficulty connecting. I was able to use the internet at the recreation area (5 minute walk), and a starbucks was near by if you have T mobile. I suggested that they give me a discount on my room for the inconvenience, and they agreed to discount the entire stay 10%. This was even more than I expected. I'd stay there again if they ran the similar deal ($250 per night ... comes with two express lift tickets for each day of stay (express ticket gets you into the short lift lines).
Bring your sunscreen in spring!! I got a sunburn!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Our original booking was for a village room ($260/night) that was circa 1960 complete with disgusting carpets, a bathroom the size of a small closet, and a sliding door that wouldn't open more than half way...Upon complaining they moved us to a condo ($300/night) that came complete with rotting food in the fridge, carpets so dirty that we wouldn't walk barefoot on them, and a bed that sinks to the middle. On the sheets were several long black hairs (I am a blonde) and a scattering of crud on the bathroom floor. I could not recommend these accommodations to anyone but perhaps a frat party, which was likely the previous renters. I expected a whole lot more for $300/night and will never give them my business again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We went to Northstar for 3 nights at the end of March. We arrived early (12pm, check-in is 4pm) but were able to check in to our room with no delay. We stayed in a village room - it was a good size and a great location if you will be arriving by airport transfer. The rental shops, tickets booths, lifts up to mid-mountain, restaurants and ice skating were all a few steps from our door. The walls are a little thin - you can hear lots of people clomping up and down the corridors in their ski boots but it wasn't unbearable. We took a learn to ski lesson and it was excellent. The deal for the lesson, rental and lift passes was very good and they seem to be very well organized and set up for it. There were a lot of children at the resort and the kids ski school looked very good - an excellent way to keep the kids happy while the adults get some serious skiing in! We ate in 3 of the village restaurants (pizza place, pub and Japanese place - all of which were good if a little bit expensive. There was a good mix of levels of skiing and a snowboard academy for people wanting to hone their skills.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Booked the Stay and Ski Free Package and it did not exceed our expectations. The ski in ski out was the greatest part of the resort. From our room it was about a 5 minute walk to the gondola that took you up to the lifts.
Stayed in the village and the room was small and hard to get the temperature control accurate. There was a microwave and ice box but no utensils to go along with it. The heater in the bathroom was better than the one in the living area. All in all a clean room, but overpriced. The resort was nice but keep in mind the complementary ice skating is weather depending. Who knew?!
The mountain was good for us, beginner/ intermediate. We were there mid week and no lines no hassel, great conditions and grooming.
Also when you check in the front desk person was not so helpful as to explain where our actual room was. Very confusing especially at nighttime to find the right building and where to park.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Won't return. Sofabed and Cable TV were broken, Northstar ticket sales refused to provide promised express passes until I complained. Ticket sales overcharged me by 34%, had to return with receipts.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village at Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village at Northstar

Address: 100 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village at Northstar 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar California Resort beckons visitors with its 3,170 skiable acres of impeccably-groomed trails and dramatic glade skiing; variety of luxury and family accommodations; and penchant for food and wine which highlights the best of California's freshly-sourced, seasonal ingredients. Distinctive detail imparts a true sense of California laid-back luxury and style - from The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe's slopeside elegance, mountain-view patios, award-winning spa and decadent cuisine, to The Village at Northstar's fine boutique shops, restaurants, movie cinema, 9,000 square-foot skating rink, heated cabanas and fire pits perfect for roasting S'mores. Deemed the best resort for families by Outside Magazine, Northstar California's intimate yet approachable atmosphere offers a year-round retreat which pours forth world-class ski and ride programs, culinary excellence and unique traditions which together offer an experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Village at Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar-At-Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Northstar At Tahoe Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village at Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.