We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village at Northstar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Village at Northstar to your Saves list
The Village at Northstar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Staying in the village makes for easy and convenient fun! Rustic type rooms, comfortable beds, great pool and play area. The only down fall was that room stay offered 2 free roller skating tickets but the rink was closed due to the brew-fest the following day. I feel that for the $$$ they should have offered something in return and pre-warn families prior to their stay. Otherwise great overnight get away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    23
    22
    26
See reviews for
82
30
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in one of the condos here at NorthStar. What a beautiful place! The weather was gorgeous and there was lots to do! The snow is usually good, not quite as good as Utah. Easy drive for me from Sacramento to it's hard to beat. Overall, a very nice resort with great amenities, fun for children and adults.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Booked an impromptu spring ski weekend and decided to give the Village a try. The village has lots of shopping and dining options including a roller skating rink and even a movie theater. There are a couple of high end condo (Hyatt and Ritz) properties for those who want a four or more star experience. The Village Lofts and Rooms are bare bones accommodations that are close to the gondola. Noise wasn’t an issue during our stay but might be during winter or spring break if on the lower floors. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Overall we were impressed by the Northstar at Tahoe resort and we will return for the great skiing and overall quality of the resort but we will be looking for better lodging for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was part of a group visiting North Lake Tahoe/Truckee for a few days. This place looks and reads great electronically but it is totally different when you arrive. Any other accommodations on the property that looked nice had a big price tag.

I am referring to the lodge rooms. Dated, beat up by the ski visitors, nonworking items, and feel like a blast furnace in the summer without air conditioning (there were fans in the room but a few did not work). If you get to sleep in the loft, you will bake like a muffin. It does cool down eventually at 7:00am when you get up.

We were excited to read about all the shops and bustle in the village to find out that 85% of the places were closed for the summer.

Not a great experience ... you can take your chances.

Don't be mislead by extra sleeping accommodations which for some in our group was a rubber type mat for the floor.

Room Tip: Pay the money for something nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days in a condo in the Catamount Lodge. Flew in from Washington, DC. Booked the room through VRBO, not Northstar. Great location directly across from the gondola. Starbucks a few doors down. There is no housekeeping unless you stay for more than 6 nights or request it for an extra fee. Condo was roomy, modern and very well equipped kitchen, laundry and a huge bathroom. Ski lockers on first floor to store everything was great!

Overall Northstar is pretty expensive for what it is. We have stayed at several top ski locations in Utah and they were a far better value for the money. Dining options are expensive and a little limited. Do not bother eating at the lodge at the top of the ski mountain for lunch - very expensive, limited menu and bad food. The Zephyr at mid mountain is much better and offers everything you could want.

Nice mountain to ski - mostly blues and blacks so if you are truly a beginner skier you have somewhat limited options. Mountain is not that big and we skied pretty much everything in a few days. If you are skiing here for a week you would get a little bored if you like to try new slopes.

Lift operators were very friendly and all the ski patrol staff were very polite. Good mix of groomed and ungroomed slopes, wide and narrower slopes, moguls and a terrain park if you snowboard.

Fun activities in the Northstar village for kids - ice or roller skating depending on the time of year, bungee jump trampoline, ice cream, daily s'mores. Shopping options like Patagonia, Burton and Helly Hansen. Starbucks. Lots of seating with outdoor fire puts and 2 outdoor bars for post skiing drinks.

Main pool is near the check in building in the fitness center so it's about a 5 minute walk, depending on where you are staying in the village. Our building had a small outdoor hot tub but we opted for the larger one at the pool. Our building did have its own fitness center.

About 15 minute drive to Truckee for off site dining. Drunken Monkey was great for sushi and the restaurant 50/50 is great for kids and very reasonably priced.

Overall good stay for 4 days but there are lots of better skiing options elsewhere out West if you're not fixed on being in California.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I booked a "loft style" Village room, but was very concerned because of the online reviews. However, at the late date that I made my booking, the loft or hotel style rooms were the only ones available in the Village through the Northstar website. Since we did not have a car, being in the Village was a must for us. I was very pleasantly surprised when we checked in. Maybe we were lucky, but the unit was better than I expected based on the online reviews I had read. The kitchen had been remodeled with granite counter tops and nice appliances. The bathroom also had a granite counter. The flooring in the entry, kitchen and bathroom was a nice stone flooring. The loft in general was fairly nice. It was by no means a "luxury" unit, but the website does not imply that the "Village Rooms and Lofts" are luxury units. For example, the "Village Rooms" are described as "Cozy, convenient, casual, simple". The "luxury" units are the Ironhorse, Big Horn and other condo units that are booked through the Northstar website, but are managed by "Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging". The "Village Rooms" and Village Lofts" are managed by "Northstar". I don't know if we just got lucky with a nice loft room, but our room was clean and we were happy with it. We were on the 3rd floor and had no problem with noise. The daily maid service and great attitude of all the Northstar staff we encountered was an added plus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 in one of the "hotel-style rooms". Booked through Northstar website, which had 4 photos of possible rooms. The first two were recently remodeled and looked great, the second two looked older but still not too bad. When we arrived we could immediately see that we were not in the brand new "Village" building that is shown in panoramic shots all over the website, including the booking page for the hotel-style rooms. Rather, we were in a decrepit depressing building which we soon found out housed our decepit depressing room. Shag carpeting, loud cranky wall heater, ancient bathroom, and a bit farther away to all the shops and a very long staircase up to the gondola. Definitely not "ski in, ski out" as advertised.

I called the front desk to complain about the room and ask to be moved to one of the new rooms in the new building and they gave me the run around for awhile and even tried to tell me they had "nothing to do with" our reservation. Hmmm...I made my reservation through the Northstar website but the front desk had nothing to do with it. Finally she admitted that there were no remodeled hotel-style rooms, all the hotel-style rooms were in the old building. She didn't sound at all apologetic even as I pointed out the photos on the website that showed the new rooms, nor did she offer us any sort of compensation for our disappointment. We felt tricked. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother with "hotel-style rooms", they are in the old building and have not been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
1.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1.3 mi away
Northstar Lodge - A Welk Resort
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
8.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
24.5 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village at Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village at Northstar

Address: 100 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village at Northstar 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar California Resort beckons visitors with its 3,170 skiable acres of impeccably-groomed trails and dramatic glade skiing; variety of luxury and family accommodations; and penchant for food and wine which highlights the best of California's freshly-sourced, seasonal ingredients. Distinctive detail imparts a true sense of California laid-back luxury and style - from The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe's slopeside elegance, mountain-view patios, award-winning spa and decadent cuisine, to The Village at Northstar's fine boutique shops, restaurants, movie cinema, 9,000 square-foot skating rink, heated cabanas and fire pits perfect for roasting S'mores. Deemed the best resort for families by Outside Magazine, Northstar California's intimate yet approachable atmosphere offers a year-round retreat which pours forth world-class ski and ride programs, culinary excellence and unique traditions which together offer an experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village at Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar-At-Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Northstar At Tahoe Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village at Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.