We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a few days stay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northstar California Resort

Save Saved
You added Northstar California Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northstar California Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5001 Northstar Drive, PO Box 129, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for a few days stay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days in a condo in the Catamount Lodge. Flew in from Washington, DC. Booked the room through VRBO, not Northstar. Great location directly across from the gondola. Starbucks a few doors down. There is no housekeeping unless you stay for more than 6 nights or request it for an extra fee. Condo was roomy, modern and very well equipped kitchen, laundry and a huge bathroom. Ski lockers on first floor to store everything was great!

Overall Northstar is pretty expensive for what it is. We have stayed at several top ski locations in Utah and they were a far better value for the money. Dining options are expensive and a little limited. Do not bother eating at the lodge at the top of the ski mountain for lunch - very expensive, limited menu and bad food. The Zephyr at mid mountain is much better and offers everything you could want.

Nice mountain to ski - mostly blues and blacks so if you are truly a beginner skier you have somewhat limited options. Mountain is not that big and we skied pretty much everything in a few days. If you are skiing here for a week you would get a little bored if you like to try new slopes.

Lift operators were very friendly and all the ski patrol staff were very polite. Good mix of groomed and ungroomed slopes, wide and narrower slopes, moguls and a terrain park if you snowboard.

Fun activities in the Northstar village for kids - ice or roller skating depending on the time of year, bungee jump trampoline, ice cream, daily s'mores. Shopping options like Patagonia, Burton and Helly Hansen. Starbucks. Lots of seating with outdoor fire puts and 2 outdoor bars for post skiing drinks.

Main pool is near the check in building in the fitness center so it's about a 5 minute walk, depending on where you are staying in the village. Our building had a small outdoor hot tub but we opted for the larger one at the pool. Our building did have its own fitness center.

About 15 minute drive to Truckee for off site dining. Drunken Monkey was great for sushi and the restaurant 50/50 is great for kids and very reasonably priced.

Overall good stay for 4 days but there are lots of better skiing options elsewhere out West if you're not fixed on being in California.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    19
    18
    26
See reviews for
71
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I booked a "loft style" Village room, but was very concerned because of the online reviews. However, at the late date that I made my booking, the loft or hotel style rooms were the only ones available in the Village through the Northstar website. Since we did not have a car, being in the Village was a must for us. I was very pleasantly surprised when we checked in. Maybe we were lucky, but the unit was better than I expected based on the online reviews I had read. The kitchen had been remodeled with granite counter tops and nice appliances. The bathroom also had a granite counter. The flooring in the entry, kitchen and bathroom was a nice stone flooring. The loft in general was fairly nice. It was by no means a "luxury" unit, but the website does not imply that the "Village Rooms and Lofts" are luxury units. For example, the "Village Rooms" are described as "Cozy, convenient, casual, simple". The "luxury" units are the Ironhorse, Big Horn and other condo units that are booked through the Northstar website, but are managed by "Tahoe Mountain Resorts Lodging". The "Village Rooms" and Village Lofts" are managed by "Northstar". I don't know if we just got lucky with a nice loft room, but our room was clean and we were happy with it. We were on the 3rd floor and had no problem with noise. The daily maid service and great attitude of all the Northstar staff we encountered was an added plus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 in one of the "hotel-style rooms". Booked through Northstar website, which had 4 photos of possible rooms. The first two were recently remodeled and looked great, the second two looked older but still not too bad. When we arrived we could immediately see that we were not in the brand new "Village" building that is shown in panoramic shots all over the website, including the booking page for the hotel-style rooms. Rather, we were in a decrepit depressing building which we soon found out housed our decepit depressing room. Shag carpeting, loud cranky wall heater, ancient bathroom, and a bit farther away to all the shops and a very long staircase up to the gondola. Definitely not "ski in, ski out" as advertised.

I called the front desk to complain about the room and ask to be moved to one of the new rooms in the new building and they gave me the run around for awhile and even tried to tell me they had "nothing to do with" our reservation. Hmmm...I made my reservation through the Northstar website but the front desk had nothing to do with it. Finally she admitted that there were no remodeled hotel-style rooms, all the hotel-style rooms were in the old building. She didn't sound at all apologetic even as I pointed out the photos on the website that showed the new rooms, nor did she offer us any sort of compensation for our disappointment. We felt tricked. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother with "hotel-style rooms", they are in the old building and have not been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed for 5 nights at Northstar the week after the President's weekend holdiay. We had booked a 2 bedroom 1 bath condominium unit several months in advance. A couple of days before our trip, we decided to arrive a day early in order to get there before a big snow storm but the condo we rented was not available so we were given a room at the 'Northstar Village Rooms' which the booking agent described as a hotel room conventiently located in the village. The location was convenient but the room was a dump, not even motel quality. It looked like it hadn't been remodeled in 20 years and the bathroom was ridiculously small. Also, at 4am we were awakened by a truck that was unloading product for the village outside our window. On top of everything, they had the nerve to charge $400/night for the room. It was a bad way to start the vacation. Luckily, the rest of the trip we were able to stay in the condo. The condo was attractive, clean, roomy, and had nice full kitchen. It also had 2 decks with a beautiful view of the forest. We have stayed in the condos before and the quality does vary a little depending on the owner, but we have always had a good experience with them.

Room Tip: Avoid the Northstar Village Rooms. The condos are a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family of four HIGHLY recommend this resort.
Just got back from spending 5 wonderful nights at a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo managed by Northstar at Tahoe Resort. We stayed in the Aspen Grove on Silver Strike Road. We could have easily walked to the village, but used the free and very convenient on-call shuttle instead. For dinners in the village, we just drove 2 minutes and parked in the free 2 hour parking zone.
The condo #3102 was very clean and fresh. It wasn't ultramodern, but we really couldn't have asked for more. Our condo was rated a "Silver" so I can only guess a "gold" condo would have been completely renovated. Ours was nicely furnished with a fully equipped kitchen and washer and dryer. It also had a gas operated fireplace that burned provided wood. The layout of the condo was the 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms downstairs, and then stairs led up to the kitchen, dining area, living room, laundry room, and fireplace. Both floors had balconies.
We had 2 complaints: The heating system was difficult to adjust since the thermostat was in the same room as the fireplace so the top floor would be warm but too cool in the bedrooms. Also if you are a light sleeper the heater was loud in the master bedroom when it came on during the night. The second bedroom was too warm but closing off most of the heating vent made it comfortable for the kids to sleep.
Other complaint: the sofa was nice looking but offer little support--you just sunk into it--not very comfortable.
The DVD didn't operate but management replaced it that day and left detailed instruction on how to go between cable and video modes.
Since we stayed 5 night, housekeeping efficiently changed towels, removed trash, and did light clean up on 3rd day.
We also highly recommend the ski school offered by Northstar. Our children (ages 13 &10) learned so much in 2 days of semi private lessons (called Ultimate 4 Package).
We'd recommend for lunch and dinner: Tavern 6330', Manzanita at the Ritz Carlton, and The Pub in the Village and Gar Woods near the Lake.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in Aspen Grove Condos to be closest to Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Granted the rooms are awful. They are like a bad revisitation to 1970, complete with cheap wood paneling and cheesy bedspreads. However, the location is so incredibly cool that it worked great for us in spite of this. In fact, the overall family ski-trip experience - the village amenities, the skiing itself, and the non-skiing activities - were the best I've experienced anywhere in the US.
We chose to stay in the Village itself in the 'Village Rooms', which are designated as hotel-style rooms. If you are able to, find out as much as you can about the specific room you will be assigned... 3rd level is best (first is shops, then there is a 2nd and 3rd level). We were on the 2nd and heard our inconsiderate upstairs neighbor all night. Alternatively, you could stay at the condos 1/4 mile away from the village, it seems that the rooms are nicer there and it would be quieter... Great ski-in-ski out access also, better than the Village Rooms. Only downside to condos is proximity to the Village.

Room Tip: As mentioned, try for the 3rd level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family in a studio loft. Cannot beat the convenience of the shuttle to village, we all, kids and adults alike, love the village, the amenities, lunch at the ritz, and skiing at Northstar is a family favorite. The studio condo is a disappointment for the money though, beyond rustic, barely decorated, super noisy heater, minimal amenities in kitchen, really basic all the way...seems chinzy for this much money. Its all about location. We'd come again but manage your expectations.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northstar California Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar California Resort

Address: 5001 Northstar Drive, PO Box 129, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northstar California Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar California Resort is host to a recently completed $55 million base area village featuring movie theaters, conference spaces, and 35 unique shops, galleries, California-based specialty stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Northstar California Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar-At-Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Northstar At Tahoe Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northstar California Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.