We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be a Hit or Miss depending on who you rent it from” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northstar California Resort

Save Saved
You added Northstar California Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northstar California Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5001 Northstar Drive, PO Box 129, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Truckee
pittsburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Will be a Hit or Miss depending on who you rent it from”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property can really range from a 2-star to a 4-star property depending on who you rent the actual room/condo from. The four-star rating is actually for the first stay with Tahoe Mountain Lodging property in Northstar.

Stayed on this property (in the Village itself) twice - the first time rented it via TahoeMountainLodging (great). The next time it was through Northstar Property Management (poor). The rates turned out to be the same - however the quality of stay was quite different - Tahoe Mountain Lodging offered a far superior room and service.

Tahoe Mountain Lodging has a reception/lobby in the Village - whereas the Northstar Property Management had their reception/lobby in the entrance to the Northstar resort area off hwy 267 (about a mile and half from the Village itself).

The room offered by Tahoe Mountain Lodging was luxurious, clean and new. They also had ski racks in the ground floor and you did not have to lug your skis and boots to the room upstairs. The room was quite expensive but the price was something you could relate to the quality. Kitchen and bathroom were extremely well appointed, clean, functional and luxurious. They offered covered underground parking for these lodging. Nothing to complain about really if you were willing to pay the price in the first place.

My second stay, which was a room booked via Northstar Property Management had outdated/musty carpets, poor beds (very cheap and soft - could not really use them) - and the cupboards were barely useable as they were filled with the owner's junk and cleaning equipment. The TV did not work right - cable and DVD players were broken (and took half a day of not skiing to get right). No convenient ski storage in the building ground floor. The bathroom door was a pain to use (one which was a heavy hanging door with no handles to hold onto or locks). The showers looked fancy but were not really functional or powerful. The toilet flush broke down the first night we were there. Really a two-star place (one because it was clean including the kitchen and one additional star for the location) for the price paid - no comparison to the Tahoe Mountain Lodging property. I would definitely not rent from Northstar Property Management again and would rather chose to stay out in Truckee as there are no other reasonable options nearby.

I take it there are also owner-direct properties - which could be rented from VRBO - those could be hit or miss as well.

Both rooms did not offer Daily Housekeeping for the duration of our stay (3 days). Northstar Village itself can be quiet boring after skiing in the winter - but for the cabanas and the ski-rink. If you want a better after ski-life you would go to Truckee or better yet to South Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: Know who you are renting from - would recommend Tahoe Mountain Lodging as opposed to Nothstar Proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    16
    19
    24
See reviews for
67
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been to Northstar for the last 2 years. Each of those year the staff had reserved a section of the mountain near the ski school for snow play, including sledding. That area was "fenced off" from skier and was very safe to be in. It was very nice, having 1 kid in the ski school it was possible to play in the snow even sledding, they had build a nice little ramp for that, while keeping an eye on the older sibling ski development.

But this year they decided that providing a safe environment for family where kids can play and safely sled was no longer a good thing to have, instead kids play directly in the ski run which is way dangerous and they are banning sledding all together . Unfortunate when you have kids, at the end of the day, it is nice to have an outlet where they can just play in the snow and NortStar made sure to remove that and made it even less save. So staying at Northstar is no longer a viable options especially if you have very young kids and they just want to play in the snow, including sledding, in a safe environment go somewhere else. They offer tubing, but then, it requires you to go up the mountain and it is hourly, runs only during ski hours, the old play and sledding area was very nice, could use it until dark, safe convenient (*$ is very closed by) and have access the restroom.

Because of this change I give Northstar an average. They have the potential of being to go to place in Tahoe-Reno area but since they change their snow play area I can't give them more than 3 stars

Thanks

-D

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Northstar Village Rooms and Lofts. The property does not look at all like the photos that are shown. The room had a noisy wall heater, that blew hot air on the person sleeping near it. The bathroom area was the smallest I have ever seen with one sink that was dirty and the fixtures were broken. The toilet and bathtub were in a sepparate encosure which you had to completely enter to close the door. Once you were in there, you couldn't even move properly to hygentically clean yourself. The wall directly in front of the toilet had a small built in electric heater (circa 1960) with a timer but only worked once. It remained broken the remainder of the time. The bath tub would flood when you took a shower. The room had two queen size beds that were uncomfortable to say the least and came equipt with dirty bed coverings. I was grossed out that my children had to sleep there. There was a small refridgerator and microwave but no inroom safe so you had to take your purse/wallet everywhere. I had to lock it in the ski rental area. The room door had an actual key to open it, not an electric card. The door did not close properly so you felt rather un-safe in the room. The carpets were old and dirty. I looked under the bed and found someones slipper and behind the chest of drawers dirty wrappers. I guess no one really cleans the room.

There was parking in the garage below as long as you found a "green" area that was for guest. We didn't have a problem with the parking although in the covered area it was tight with the SUV and that is what everyone drives up there.

In summary, stay away from the "Hotel like" rooms. They are very old, outdated, small and not worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a Northstar operated property. You will need tyo pay a lot more money to stay in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom Ski in Ski out unit but it was fall and not skiing yet. They have a wonderful golf course, recreation center and some very nice restaurants. We like the Japanese restaurant and the Pizza sports bar. The golf course has a links style nine and a mountain nine with lots of trees and creeks. During ski season it is very family oriented with great terrain that are at different levels from the same chair.

Room Tip: The Ski Trail units are walkable to the Village and the Recreation center. The Village units are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our one-bedroom condo was top of the line—from the appliances to the hardware. The place was simply beautiful. The kitchen was fully equipped, linens were perfect, and the location (right in the village) was VERY convenient. The Iron Horse building was also exceptionally quiet—a big plus after long days of skiing. The resort is a little pricey, but we went as a treat to ourselves. If you want to save money, there are other local condos available a short walk from the village. The resort is also great for kids, with tons of fun and amenities right outside your front door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

first,know that Northtar has it really put together as a whole. the shuttle is well organized. the 3 bedroom 2 bath slept 8 but had room for more. not standing all over each other. I was in the gold bend condos. lifts had no lines over the new years holiday. not a stress vacation. had a guy in the ski rental (thomas helstrom) who was very helpful. safe and well worth the money!!!!
shuttle bus is less than 5 minn away from village.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went to Northstar with my wife and a group of friends and we all stayed in one of the condos which were amazing. 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, very luxurious, very nice, great kitchen, great rooms, beautiful views from the amazingly large balcony. The condo was so nice that it was hard to leave it for skiing... The mountain is beautiful and the ski experience awesome. There's something for everyone to do there. If you're beginner, do the classes. Well worth it. I would come back there without thinking.

The village is very neat. It looks like you are somewhere in Switzerland. There's plenty of restaurants, shops and even an ice skate ring, which is very fun. Prices are not very expensive, considering that you're miles away from the closes drugstore or supermarket.

The only complain I have is regarding the room service. We were a large group (8 people) and the condo did not have soap and shampoo. We had to request several times for them to bring it, and they were very economical when they did.

Room Tip: If you're a beginner, don't hesitate in taking ski classes. It's only a few hours, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northstar California Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar California Resort

Address: 5001 Northstar Drive, PO Box 129, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northstar California Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar-at-Tahoe™ Resort is host to a recently completed $55 million base area village featuring movie theaters, conference spaces, and 35 unique shops, galleries, California-based specialty stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Northstar California Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar-At-Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Northstar At Tahoe Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northstar California Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.