We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski trail condos need updating; new village is great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village at Northstar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Village at Northstar to your Saves list
The Village at Northstar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Ski trail condos need updating; new village is great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

Just returned from four nights at Northstar's Ski Trails condo during spring break. My family had never been to Northstar before.
Pluses: Family oriented, friendly and professional staff, easy to get to from I-80 and Truckee, well run ski area with lots of grooming, the new village ice rink and surrounding retail/restaurants are tasetefullly developed and a fun gathering spot. Our kids enjoyed skating and bungee swinging. Highly recommend the pizza restaurant there -- reasonable, friendly, good pizza, ,kid friendly. Skiing is not Heavenly or Squaw Valley but the intermediate runs are long. The back side is rated black but it was mostly groomed when we there and those are the best runs -- and least crowded -- on the mountain.
Minuses: The Ski Trails condos are still stuck in the 70s despite some updated kitchen appliances. The new condos in the Village are much nicer but of course, extremely expensive. No hot tub or pool -- you have to take a bus to the Rec Center and fight the crowds. For the money, the condos do not compare to more updated and spacious lodging at other desintation ski areas.

  • Liked — Northstar is oriented more to kids of all ages than any other resort at Tahoe
  • Disliked — Ski Trials condos need updating
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    20
    18
    26
See reviews for
78
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

I'd always heard great things about Northstar and how family friendly it was. By the end of the trip, my two kids and I agreed that we would not be back. At a high level, the place was disorganized and not very professionally run. Much of the staff did not speak English very well and did not really understand customer service. We stayed in the condos just beyond the village. It was shabby with junky furniture. Very disorganized ski rental process that took 1.5 hours. We went skiing and tubing, both were expensive and crowded.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

Winter fun!!

We stayed at Northstar during the summer last time and had a great time. We stayed in this condo as well(we requested it) Last time we stayed in this unit it was great. Granite counters, flat screen tv's and real upscale cabin feel. Well it has been about about a year and half since staying here. It is even better. New sofa upstairs (last one seemed fine but new is always better) They have added more mountain fixtures. My wife is a freak about cleanliness and she was thrilled. We are able to walk to the village.
Love Northstar for its kids program. My wife and I just drop them off for day lessons and we get to enjoy the mountain. The kids loved their instuctors and we planned on skiing with them the second day but they WANTED to go back to lessons.

Great fire pits at the end of a long skiing day. Kids get to ice skate and we had a glass of wine...perfect

  • Liked — completly upgraded, close to skiing, clean
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

My advice to anyone going to Northstar is to LOCK UP YOUR SKIS and poles, especially if they are a good pair. I had a good pair of Dynastar skis "switched" along with a good pair of graphite poles. The skis were the same model, color and size as mine, with the exception of the binding. Surprisingly, the bindings if the skis switched with mine fit my boots. I posted the "switch" on Craigslist hoping to get a response. I did not. Lo and behold, others have posted the same thing. Switched skis, very similar if not the same, and the bindings fit the boots of the person who had the switch made on them. I got the same story from Northstar's security that others have: "it happens all the time". I ski other resorts at Tahoe, and never hear of this happening “all the time”--only at Northstar. Their security office needs to take these reports more seriously. Another option is to just stop skiing there or lock your equipment up. I sure will if I go again.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havelock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

Northstar resort at Tahoe is exceptional. We traveled to the resort for a family trip with our 2 and a half year old. We were not sure how "kid-friendly" the restaurants and accomodations were when we booked. However, we were pleasantly surprised with the time and effort put forth by the reservation staff - who helped to ease our concern by describing their services and the condo layout. We stayed at Iron Horse Lodge. It was top notch - with every amenity you could think of. The condo was in the village which made for easy walking (or sledding) around the coffee shops, ice rink and restaurants. Our son LOVED it. The best part of our trip was a day of skiing. We put our son in the Northstar childcare program that is located on the resort property. The teachers were great - he didn't want to leave! He even took a nap there. I highly recommend it if you have a young one and you would like to ski, etc.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village at Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village at Northstar

Address: 100 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village at Northstar 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar California Resort beckons visitors with its 3,170 skiable acres of impeccably-groomed trails and dramatic glade skiing; variety of luxury and family accommodations; and penchant for food and wine which highlights the best of California's freshly-sourced, seasonal ingredients. Distinctive detail imparts a true sense of California laid-back luxury and style - from The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe's slopeside elegance, mountain-view patios, award-winning spa and decadent cuisine, to The Village at Northstar's fine boutique shops, restaurants, movie cinema, 9,000 square-foot skating rink, heated cabanas and fire pits perfect for roasting S'mores. Deemed the best resort for families by Outside Magazine, Northstar California's intimate yet approachable atmosphere offers a year-round retreat which pours forth world-class ski and ride programs, culinary excellence and unique traditions which together offer an experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Village at Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar-At-Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Northstar At Tahoe Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village at Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.