We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have a higher rating if the condo had A/C” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northstar California Resort

Save Saved
You added Northstar California Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northstar California Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5001 Northstar Drive, PO Box 129, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Whittier, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would have a higher rating if the condo had A/C”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in the Indian Hills area of Northstar in the middle of August. The front office informed us that most condos in that area do NOT have A/C. It was very uncomfortable most of the time. It was very hot and I would expect all the condos to have A/C considering the amount of money they charge. The most they could do was send over 3 fans and give us a small discount. The condo was clean and nicely appointed.

They resort was very nice, the staff was helpful, and the free shuttle was great. Dont expect to be within walking distance to the village. The shuttle is on-call and prompt. The recreation center is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    18
    18
    26
See reviews for
71
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Love this place. Units are lovely and super comfortable. Great restaurants and shopping in the village. You want to make sure your bedroom has a view and not close to the turn around/drop off (it's loud in the morning). The access to the lifts is right out your door if you stay in Big Horn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week's vacation in early August. Being experienced Tahoe visitors, we have explored most of the lodging options around the lake over the years. In the recent past, we have usually stayed in the Village at Squaw Valley. Since the change in ownership there, however, it has become just too expensive. We booked into the Northstar Aspen Grove studio condos for 5 days at $100 per day which included golf range balls, passes for the gondola, and rec. center passes. We found the condo to be fully equipped, clean, and quiet. While obviously not new, it felt more like a comfortable home than a hotel room. Because most of the lodging at this resort is privately owned and only managed by Northstar, you are at the mercy of the private owners taste and budget. Be advised that these condos do not have elevators so you could potentially be climbing 4 or more flights to get to your condo from the parking lot level. Also, the entire resort property is on a steep hillside so depending on your location you might have an uphill hike to the village proper. While the rental options are spread over a larger area, an excellent free shuttle runs on demand. The rec center is excellent with both a separate family and adult pool area, tennis courts, kids video game room, and adult quiet area. Northstar has over 100 miles of trails available for downhill mountain biking with separate well-marked hiking trails. The golf course is well maintained and not crowded. We found every employee we interacted with polite. The front desk folks were especially helpful giving us a free bike trail map of Tahoe after we mentioned we were bike riders. It's possible to be perfectly happy spending a day or 2 completely at the resort and then exploring North Tahoe. King's Beach is only a short 10 minutes away over the Brockway summit (where you can find easy access to the Tahoe Rim Trail). All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and recommend Northstar at Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, being invited by a friend. We tend to stay at places that are much cheaper than this one, so for me that was an absolute first. I read most of the reviews afterwards and we must have stayed at the fantastic condos the "excellent" reviews swoon about.

The condo had three bedrooms, high ceilings, a gas fireplace as well as a fully equipped kitchen which would be my dream to have at home.

Since we stayed in the middle of summer there is nothing I can say about the skiing, just how impressed I was by the condo. The appliances were all great (Cuisinart mostly) and the kitchen was outfitted with marble countertops, which made preparing food a joy.

The bedrooms were very comfortable, the beds were great, as were the bathrooms - very clean and warm.

The condo had AC in all rooms, which initially was a bit too cold for me - but then, you can easily change the temperature to a climate that suits you.

While the price is way out of my league, I would recommend staying there to anyone who can afford to and wants to spend a couple of days in nice surroundings.

The most remarkable feat for me was the peaceful atmosphere: normally I will only be able to sleep with earplugs in hotels. In this place I slept like a baby without any.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We checked in and went to the 2 bedroom condo we rented. It looked old and out dated when we first walked in. I noticed that it could have been cleaner, too. When I was checking the bed for bugs I found 2 kinds in the bed! We went back to the office and were moved to another condo. This one was cleaner and no bugs but a pillow case was torn and there were disgusting stains on the comforter. A few hours later another couple walked in on us! At first, these people weren't going to leave! What if we hadn't been there? Who knows what would have happened to our belongings! We decided that we had had enough and left. So much for a nice relaxing few days in the mountains!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the 2 bedrooms condo but we didn't have enough warm water for bathtub. The air conditioner was very not stable too. It was always too hot upstairs, and too cold in the bedrooms downstairs. We called the front desk and the maintenance guy came quickly. But after he checked everything he told us that everything was fine. The heater is 30 yrs old so it took time to heat the water. So we needed to wait 20-30 minutes for the water heated after each shower. Every night we spent 2 hours to wait warm water. When we checked out, we complained the situations again. The lady in the front desk seemed very understandable because she told us many customers complained about hot water already. It was really unacceptable after all-day ski without warm water to bath!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Condos are dated and feel a little worn out. Shag carpet, dark woods, minimal lighting. Our condo was 2 bedrooms, sleeps up to 4. Sort of the place I would stay at when I was in my 20's. Only one very small full bath, and a tiny half bath. Room had a musty odor but was visually clean. Dishwasher full upon arrival with card that stated "dishes are clean"...in other words, unload yourself. We paid about $250./night which is way overpriced for this quality. Bedrooms were on lower floor, kitchen and main room on second floor, which made the lower floor a little on the cold side.

Room Tip: There are a large number of units that are individually owned, so the decor may vary. Ask to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northstar California Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northstar California Resort

Address: 5001 Northstar Drive, PO Box 129, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northstar California Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar California Resort is host to a recently completed $55 million base area village featuring movie theaters, conference spaces, and 35 unique shops, galleries, California-based specialty stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Northstar California Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar-At-Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Northstar At Tahoe Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northstar California Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.