We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Village at Northstar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Village at Northstar to your Saves list
The Village at Northstar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Livermore, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We checked in and went to the 2 bedroom condo we rented. It looked old and out dated when we first walked in. I noticed that it could have been cleaner, too. When I was checking the bed for bugs I found 2 kinds in the bed! We went back to the office and were moved to another condo. This one was cleaner and no bugs but a pillow case was torn and there were disgusting stains on the comforter. A few hours later another couple walked in on us! At first, these people weren't going to leave! What if we hadn't been there? Who knows what would have happened to our belongings! We decided that we had had enough and left. So much for a nice relaxing few days in the mountains!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    19
    18
    26
See reviews for
72
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the 2 bedrooms condo but we didn't have enough warm water for bathtub. The air conditioner was very not stable too. It was always too hot upstairs, and too cold in the bedrooms downstairs. We called the front desk and the maintenance guy came quickly. But after he checked everything he told us that everything was fine. The heater is 30 yrs old so it took time to heat the water. So we needed to wait 20-30 minutes for the water heated after each shower. Every night we spent 2 hours to wait warm water. When we checked out, we complained the situations again. The lady in the front desk seemed very understandable because she told us many customers complained about hot water already. It was really unacceptable after all-day ski without warm water to bath!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Condos are dated and feel a little worn out. Shag carpet, dark woods, minimal lighting. Our condo was 2 bedrooms, sleeps up to 4. Sort of the place I would stay at when I was in my 20's. Only one very small full bath, and a tiny half bath. Room had a musty odor but was visually clean. Dishwasher full upon arrival with card that stated "dishes are clean"...in other words, unload yourself. We paid about $250./night which is way overpriced for this quality. Bedrooms were on lower floor, kitchen and main room on second floor, which made the lower floor a little on the cold side.

Room Tip: There are a large number of units that are individually owned, so the decor may vary. Ask to see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We spent a week at Northstar's Ski Trails condos in January. Upon arrival the condo had dirty placements on the table, hairs on the bathroom floor, dirty kitchen counter tops, and holes in the sheets. Worst of all, over the phone the had assure us that our family of 5 would be perfectly comfortable in the condo. Turns out, the condo sleeps 4, and then has some awful vinyl sleeping mats which they consider to be an adequate 5th bed. There isnt even a 5th chair at the dining room table! So for a week one of us had to take turns perching on the armrest of the couch to eat. The front desk's inability to or disinterest in resolving our situation was a joke. In general there seemed to be a lot of disorganization at Northstar, we had reserved rental equipment by phone and email, and when we got there there was no record of our reservation. We paid for a snowboard class the night before, and when we went the next day, there was no record of our payment.... On the upside, EVERYONE working in the lifts, at Guest Services, on the Mountain was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to be helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ritz Carlton if you want a clean quality room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the one bedroom condos in the Ironhorse South building. I was impressed by how well appointed the kitchen was. We especially enjoyed snuggling in front of the large, stone gas fireplace on chilly winter nights. You can walk right from the condo to the lifts and slopes. The bellman also recommended we rent skis through the Black Tie service, which comes right to your room to fit you with all your gear. It was so much easier than dealing with the lines the next morning.

Room Tip: I was glad our room was away from the center of The Village, as it was a little quieter where we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were originally going to go to Squaw but when we arrived in Tahoe, everyone told us that Northstar had invested the money in snow making and trails, and that they had the better snow, and it was true! Had a GREAT day of skiing there, lots of fun, beautiful vista views of the mountains and the lake. Had a great lunch at the Summit Deck and the new Zephyr Lodge was amazing! Food wasn't cheap, but the free parking was easy, a shuttle came every 2 minutes it seemed and dropped us off right at the village. The Northstar Village was HUGE and had lots of shops and restaurants. Everyone was so friendly!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I usually love this resort, but the conditions this year(i.e. lack of snow) make it a bit painful to pay 100 dollars a lift ticket when 1/3 of the lifts are closed and the open ones are in horrible condition. If you have to ski this year up in Tahoe for some reason, I'd probably just pick a smaller resort like diamond peak or mt rose for 1/2 the price, since you're likely to ski about the same amount of terrain. The village is still lively and fun, but if you're a skier, I'd probably just wait until next season before visiting. They really should discount the lift tickets this year given how horrible the conditions are.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village at Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village at Northstar

Address: 100 Northstar Drive, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village at Northstar 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northstar California Resort beckons visitors with its 3,170 skiable acres of impeccably-groomed trails and dramatic glade skiing; variety of luxury and family accommodations; and penchant for food and wine which highlights the best of California's freshly-sourced, seasonal ingredients. Distinctive detail imparts a true sense of California laid-back luxury and style - from The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe's slopeside elegance, mountain-view patios, award-winning spa and decadent cuisine, to The Village at Northstar's fine boutique shops, restaurants, movie cinema, 9,000 square-foot skating rink, heated cabanas and fire pits perfect for roasting S'mores. Deemed the best resort for families by Outside Magazine, Northstar California's intimate yet approachable atmosphere offers a year-round retreat which pours forth world-class ski and ride programs, culinary excellence and unique traditions which together offer an experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Village at Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northstar-At-Tahoe Hotel Truckee
Northstar At Tahoe Truckee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village at Northstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.