We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got the job done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Truckee Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Truckee Hotel
Save
You added The Truckee Hotel to your Saves list
10007 Bridge St, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Got the job done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in July 2014. We wanted a room that had basic comforts and that wasn't very expensive, and that's what we got.

We had a rainy two days in town, and the Truckee Hotel turned out to be a great base camp from which to explore town and to be able to run back to for shelter. We spent time in the communal TV/hang out room, and on the expansive balcony, and enjoyed watching a movie and playing cards to wait out the rain.

Our room did not have a private bath, and we found the shared bathrooms to be very nice: clean, spacious, and plenty of towels and toiletries.

We were on the second floor (can't remember the room) and our room was not large, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. We didn't find it to be noisy.

If we return to Truckee, we will definitely look into staying here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson Harbor, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We lived in the Reno/Tahoe/Carson City area for 15 years, having moved away last March. During that time we always loved coming up for day trips to Truckee and spending time at Moody's downstairs. So it was with great excitement we came back as tourists and had the chance to stay at The Truckee Hotel.

I love old historic hotels, but this one left much to be desired. While I was aware that it was "European style" and that we would have to share a bathroom, I didn't think that meant with the entire floor! The room was really spare, with hardly any furniture other than one folding chair, and no armoire or storage space for our belongings. We arrived at 11 PM and the room was unbearably hot, even after turning off the radiators and opening the windows wide. Incidentally, the windows on our third floor location had no grill, inviting a lethal trip to the sidewalk for a curious small child.

No TV either. I guess they cater to purists. They did have wifi, but I can't comment since we didn't use it.

On the plus side, we did arrive late due to unscheduled delay and the night desk clerk, Dylan was extremely helpful to us, staying at his post until we arrived, and helping us with our luggage up to the third floor.

It was a bucket list item for me, but I wouldn't stay there again and do not recommend it for anyone but a single individual with a sense of adventure and sufficient funds to pay for the very overpriced room charge.

Room Tip: Maybe as close to bathroom as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

The hotel had a bar and our bartender, Lindsey was very kind, attention oriented and was down right funny! She gave us some advice for our mini trip on what to do and where to eat. Our room was pretty cool as well! It was different and I do love the old vintage look the hotel showed!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Weekend getaway and what a great hotel town people bar! Jillian at front desk is so welcoming and helpful! Stayed in Truckee for concert in Squaw. So recommend. Stayed in rooms with and without bathroom both were.fine cant beat the sun thru thurs price!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

This is a Historic Hotel and as such they cannot change some things. There is no elevator and the toilets are down the hall. That is the way it was in 1900 BUT, the towels were threadbare and there was no way of regulating the steam heat that came from the boiler in the basement! Heat rises and the 3th floor was very hot all night! The windows were open and a fan on but the heat still kept coming. One of the windows had to be held open by propping a book in it.. The carpets had not been laid properly and had ripples that you could trip on. The staff gave us no heads up as to what was available in the hotel. There was a very nice room on the 2nd floor that would have been good for visiting or cards (one folding chair in our room) that we only found out about on our way out by snooping around. This could have been a much better experience if the staff had taken more care.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the 3rd floor-that stair case is very steep. Some rooms have a bath attach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

My sister and I booked a European double for two nights. Our room included a comfortable full bed, a sink, and a bathroom just down the hall (shared with other guests but we literally never saw anyone else use it). Definitely not flashy or with many frills, but we got what we paid for! The room was a little noisy next to the train and with a bar across the street, but it wasn't incredibly loud. Our room seemed really warm, so we called down to the front desk and the receptionist immediately came up to help turn down the radiator and open the window. Hotel is 5 minutes from Safeway, 20 minutes from Sugar Bowl ski resort, and located in the cutest part of Truckee with lots of old-fashioned bars, restaurants, and shops. The continental breakfast includes oatmeal, apples, muffins, bagels, tea and coffee, but is definitely a solid meal. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I say it isn't safe because of a few factors....no elevator, no one really monitoring the hotel and worst of all, GUESTS ARE LOCKED IN AFTER HOURS!
When we stayed (unexpected and without options) it was expensive, my 82 year old mother had to walk up the stairs, the room, decor and furnishings were drab, old and smelled. We couldn't believe how bad it was. No room service, no restaurant, and when I asked the staff (a young woman) about the night staff, she said the hotel would be locked! We would not have access to the outside until morning and if there were an emergency, call 911 ... 911 would call the hotel staff off premises! Screwy and dangerous. We were desperate and held prisoner all night. Couldn't wait to leave in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Truckee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Truckee Hotel

Address: 10007 Bridge St, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Truckee, when you walk into the lobby you will find a caring and gracious staff that will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. The warm earth tone and rich wood complements the fresh mountain air as you ease into your stay with us. Every morning from 7-10 a.m. a continental breakfast of rich brewed coffee and herbal teas, baked goods, fruit, oatmeal/cereals and juice can be enjoyed in a warm setting while capturing the daily weather and news on a large flat screen TV. The Truckee Hotel is centrally located to many North Lake Tahoe ski areas such as Squaw Valley, site of the 1960's Winter Olympics, as well as Northstar, Sugar Bowl, Alpine Meadows, Tahoe Donner, Royal Gorge and more, including Tahoe's latest action packed Woodward at Tahoe. While staying at the Truckee Hotel you can access all of North Lake Tahoe's best amenities, shop in Downtown Truckee or dine in the many restaurants and bistros nearby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Truckee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.