We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Truckee Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Truckee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Truckee Hotel
Save
You added The Truckee Hotel to your Saves list
10007 Bridge St, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

the location is good. right in the middle of old town with lots of bars and restaurants. unfortunately this hotel is way overpriced. 140$ for a king or queen with private bath is a good deal in a regular place, but this hotel does not have much to offer. not only is it very noisy with train traffic troughout the night, but the rooms are very hot and old. first room we got was the king size bed, the faucet ran non stop. hard to believe that staff did not notice this when they cleaned the room? this is a historic hotel and we were not looking for modern furniture etc, but it was just very basic, including the continental breakfast which we left and ate at another place. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The third-floor double without bath (cheapest option at $89 with AAA discount) we reserved was cramped and kind of depressing, but they weren't full so we upgraded to a roomy queen without bath on the second floor ($119). It was on the opposite side of the building from the main street and train tracks, so it was quieter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here recently here are my thoughts:

- Staff are very helpful and friendly (like most American hotels)
- The hotel and rooms are clean but basic
- The continental breakfast is basic - bagels or fruit is pretty much all we saw
- Right in the middle of Truckee so close to all shops/restaurants/bars
- Expensive given it is such a basic hotel (I think it charges a premium for the location and history of the place).

But by far the standout memory of this hotel is the noise from the trains.... before I booked I had seen the trains mentioned on here but decided to try it anyway as the hotel is a bit quirky and it is bang in the centre of truckee (we wanted to be in staggering distance of the pubs). However, if you book here you really need to be aware just how loud the train is - there was no way you could sleep through the noise and we counted 8 trains overnight on one night. By the end of our stay we were looking forward to moving onto the next town with no trains.

I wouldnt stay again because of the noise but also other hotels that are nowhere near the train lines and have more facilities are about the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

OVERVIEW: The Truckee Hotel is located right in downtown Truckee - one of the few places to stay in downtown. This is very convenient for shopping and dinner, however, downtown Truckee does not have much of an after-dinner nightlife. Try Moody's or the Bar of America if you plan to stay up late.
ROOMS: The price for a room is reasonable - if you don't mind sharing a bathroom down the hall with strangers. There are only 8 rooms with private bathrooms and the price jumps $60 for one of those rooms. The rooms are small, just enough space for a double or queen bed, a corner sink (yes, in the room), a nightstand and small storage next to the sink. The private bathrooms are large (but the sink is still next to the bed). There is no elevator, so expect to make good friends with the stairs (and hope you're not on the 4th floor).
BED: The bed was quite comfortable, and the down comforter on the bed was very warm. Surprisingly the bed did not squeak when I moved.
ELECTRICAL: Power for lights, outlets and the TV have been run to each room down the interior walls, but the hotel must still have some old electrical somewhere, because the power tripped in our second floor room. The front desk said that too many people were using their space heaters at the same time. I was able to use my blow dryer the next morning with no problems, but was afraid to turn it on high power.
BREAKFAST: The hotel's website boasts "a continental breakfast of rich brewed coffee and herbal teas, baked goods, fruit, oatmeal/cereals, and juice". However, when I came downstairs for breakfast at 8:30, there was no regular coffee available, and the only food out was english muffins and apples. With only one toaster, there was a long wait for the english muffins. Not sure if there were really other food choices available or not. It appeared that the front desk person was in charge of keeping the breakfast area stocked, but was too busy checking out people. I gave up and went out for breakfast.
NOISE: Having stayed in several historic hotels before, I thought I was prepared for this one. But the noise level was really incredible. The doors to the hallway and the doors for adjoining rooms are original, which means that they don't fit well in the frames. Both sound and light find their way in around the doors. There also must not be insulation in the walls. I could hear everything that went on the hallway, and everything that went on the in the room next to me. I could hear the guy in the next room brushing his teeth and yawning. I could hear the people above me using the bathroom (and not just flushing the toilet, if you know what I mean). I could hear every person that clomped up and down the stairs. Just a reminder that this means everyone around you can hear what YOU'RE doing too. :-). I did not notice the trains however. Probably the only thing that I didn't hear.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truckee hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
1.5 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 14 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
4.9 mi away
Northstar Lodge - A Welk Resort
2.4 mi away
Truckee Donner Lodge
Truckee Donner Lodge
#6 of 14 in Truckee
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Truckee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Truckee Hotel

Address: 10007 Bridge St, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Truckee, when you walk into the lobby you will find a caring and gracious staff that will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. The warm earth tone and rich wood complements the fresh mountain air as you ease into your stay with us. Every morning from 7-10 a.m. a continental breakfast of rich brewed coffee and herbal teas, baked goods, fruit, oatmeal/cereals and juice can be enjoyed in a warm setting while capturing the daily weather and news on a large flat screen TV. The Truckee Hotel is centrally located to many North Lake Tahoe ski areas such as Squaw Valley, site of the 1960's Winter Olympics, as well as Northstar, Sugar Bowl, Alpine Meadows, Tahoe Donner, Royal Gorge and more, including Tahoe's latest action packed Woodward at Tahoe. While staying at the Truckee Hotel you can access all of North Lake Tahoe's best amenities, shop in Downtown Truckee or dine in the many restaurants and bistros nearby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Truckee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.