We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donner Lake Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Donner Lake Village Resort to your Saves list
Donner Lake Village Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   15695 Donner Pass Road, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Stockton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very quiet and peaceful area to relax your body and mind. It so close to Donner lake and the water looks beautiful. Kayaking and fishing is mostly seen in the area. They also have boat rentals by the resort. Home like atmosphere with rooms that have kitchens to everything a kitchen would have. The have a little café not too far from the resort. They have several picnic tables all over the area and closer to skiing area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

W stayed over the winter weekend for our family ski trip. This place is quiet, has nice view and is very close to Donna Ski Ranch which has the lowest price of ski package for kids.

We has a studio with small kitchen, it has everything we need. This place is very old and needs updates desperately. All the drwers are falling apart, bathroom is dark and old. We spent most of time skiing and in Truckee, so it did not bother us too much.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sofa bed and small kitchen, it is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here on a big family trip the weekend of Feb. 1st. Others got a 2 bedroom condo. Very nice. Good view. We got a 1 bedroom and through default ended up with a great lake view. Panoramic. Room was very nice. The hallway, not so much. The walls were very dirty.

Overall, a very nice place. Its Donner Lake. You go for the snow and the lake. The staff is very friendly, although not very amenities are offered. I would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is very close to Sugar Bowl and Sierra Ski Ranch. They are just ten minutes or so up old highway 40 so you do not need to even get on I-80 to get there or into Truckee which is on the other end of Donner Lake. The staff here was very friendly and helpful which frankly was not expected from this level of hotel/resort. That all being said however there are some issues. The rooms are small and the beds are horrible. The rooms and halls have a dirty unkept feel even though they are not. Everything looks dingy because is is dated or painted a gross color. The hallways look like someone smeared mud and sand all over the walls but that is just the look they went with-yeech! The worst problem is that you can hear everything going on though out the level you are on.... it is like they have cardboard walls. Avoid any room near the sauna or other public area because you will not get any sleep. It was quiet while we were there but I could only imagine how loud it could be on a weekend or other major ski day. The place has a cool view lakeside of Donner Lake but when it is three degrees outside you are in that room so keep that in mind. The rate is a bit much for the quality of the hotel so I would check out other options in the area unless being quick and close to Sugar Bowl is important. Summer time? I don't know but if you are outside at the beach in June I guess the room wouldn't be a big deal.

Room Tip: Stay away from sauna or public gathering areas when picking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country,Ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location steps from the water, private boat dock for Townhomes, gorgeous views are the only reason for giving our townhome that we rented a "4" rating. If I was rating the townhome itself, I would rate it a 2. Townhome #254 is straight out of the 80's. It has never and I mean never been updated. All oak and tile (very worn out), dark brown carpet(very stained downstairs), wall paper everywhere(yes, 80's style), bedding was clean but bedspreads were obviously 30 years old, coffee table, railings etc...very scratched and needs refinishing, couches also from 80's and definetlly show they have been used for 30 years, non-stick pots and pans are so scratched up that I wouldnt even feed my dog off of them, Microwave is also an original 1980's dial one that would only work if we kept our finger pressed on the button, and dishwasher made a whining sound the whole time. I will say that the house cleaners do a great job for what they have to work with. It was clean but didnt feel clean because of the condition of the furniture and appliances. These townhomes are all individually owned so they are decorated differently so I cannot comment on any other place than #254. If you dont mind old run down accomodations and want a beautiful setting, then you will be happy.

Room Tip: This is a Townhome on the 2nd level with full kitchen, not a hotel room. Townhome next door has a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed with my son and his best friend for a soccer tournament and it didn't take long for us to be more interested in the resort than we were in soccer. Our one bedroom was quite comfortable with plenty of room for the four of us. It was wonderful to be able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the spectacular view of the lake or sit on the dock at the end of the day while the boys splashed around in the water. The sound of the boats on the water and the smell of the barbecue being used by other guests just added to the experience. The front desk service was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the cleaning service was exceptional. I would recommend it to anyone and have suggested that our entire team stay for our tournament next year. Don't miss out on this gem.

Room Tip: The resort has extra bath towels but bring your own beach towels if you need something larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We will be staying here again!! We LOVED the setting. The views were beautiful and the beaches close. There was lots of boat parking at the docks. Rental of any water activity items, from paddle boards to ski boats. We were up for a wedding and didn't have a lot of free time, be will be sure to go again when we can thouroughly enjoy our time there. Thankfully it wasn't too hot and we slept with the slinding door open for cool air, as there was no a/c unit in the room. Love it and will go back SOON!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Donner Lake Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village Resort

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Donner Lake Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donner Lake Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.