We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donner Lake Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Donner Lake Village to your Saves list
Donner Lake Village
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   15695 Donner Pass Road, Truckee, CA 96161   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This beautiful property is one of a kind. Nice rooms, reasonably priced and very family friendly. We love staying at Donner Lake Village Resort. All the other guests are happy to be enjoying the lake and there is always someone friendly to visit with.

Room Tip: We like the lakeview rooms. All the rooms we have stayed in have been comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you enjoy American history this is a place to visit! This resort sits right on Donner Lake, nestled in the High Sierras! Just a 45 minute ride from Reno airport and very easy to find because it's the last hotel before the mountains. You can enjoy rock climbing, canoeing, boat rentals, etc! The room was spacious. clean, maybe a little dated, but no smells and with a balcony to sit on to smell the pines. And if you had a rainy day or snow like we did you can sit inside by a beautiful gas fireplace with a full view of the lake! It a breath taking!! Might add that during the summer months providing it's not raining there is an amazing open-air Mexican restaurant that sits diagonally across the street that is the best I've ever had, family owned, clean, and great staff! Check it out w rooms starting at $91.00 w full kitchen!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Donner Lake Village. We are pleased you enjoyed your lakefront stay! We strive to provide a memorable experience, with exceptional care and attention to detail. We are also offering a Unit Interior Upgrade Program to our condominium owners at the property, which will bring the rooms up to date.

We are glad you had a chance to drink in the Tahoe Pines and blue waters from your balcony view at Donner Lake Village. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked a Lodgette online and got a studio when we checked in -very nice. Given the reduced price plus upgrade we were quite content with everything, but I think we would have been disappointed had we paid full price.
The receptionists were very friendly, the location is good. Right on Donner Lake and very close to ski areas (e.g. Sugar Bowl 10min, Squaw 20min). There’s also a mini convenience store right across the street.
The kitchen had everything you needed, was clean and housekeeping was excellent. However, the rooms are fairly dated. The bathroom sink was a 70ies yellow, the paint on bathroom walls and door was peeling off....a little grubby, the sleeper sofa for the kids was VERY lumpy (I couldn’t have slept in it…but the kids didn’t care).
So, would we recommend this to my friends - or return? We would go back, if we got a good deal. And I would recommend this, but only to my “non-picky” friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We visited this resort in August of 2011. Based on some of the other reviews we were expecting to see run-down antiquated accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised.
We got a lake view king one bedroom and it had everything we needed for our six day stay.

We had several dinners in Truckee based on travelers' reviews and we found that many of the restaurants were over-rated. Believe it or not, the meal we enjoyed the most was a bunch of burgers and onion rings from Burger Me.

Room Tip: Get either 'lake view' or 'lake front'. All the others open up to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed only one night with my doughter and the experience was what you would expect from a 2 stars place in a resort area. Average effort in everything. Rooms decorated in the 70´s, and altough somehow renovated still "collecting" everything they found in all of these years...Corridors do really need some urgent investment. Lake view is really outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was our first visit here and it was great. The room had 1double bed and a pull out sofa for our two kids. The rooms are clean, warm with a full kitchen and everything you could need. Staff are very helpful. The resort is right on the Lake and very close to a couple of ski resorts. Great value for money. We will recommend here to all our friends.

Room Tip: The front desk did say we were in an updated room so maybe ask while your booking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

its an older hotel almost historical it was very clean well maintained the grounds were beautiful the hotel staff the grounds people to the house-cleaning staff were all so amazing very friendly very helpful we had such a great time it is older but we had everything we needed we are already ready to go back we found our family spot!!!!! if your looking for new bedspreads and cool decore this isnt for you but if you want 5 star staff and a 5 star view of the truckee lake this is it

Room Tip: we stayed in 242 if you go out to the terrace you can sit there and drink your coffee looking at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe - Truckee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 14 in Truckee
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
3.1 mi away
Truckee Donner Lodge
Truckee Donner Lodge
#6 of 14 in Truckee
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Road, Truckee, CA 96161
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donner Lake Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.