We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“american express credit card” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larrupin Cafe

Larrupin Cafe
1658 Patricks Point Drive, Trinidad, CA 95570
707-677-0230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Trinidad
Price range: $20 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Vista, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“american express credit card”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Drove by the restuarant on 12-24-2012 to see what restuarant was all about. Wanted to take our son and his girlfriend for a nice dinner before leaving the area. My wife called on 12-24-2012 to find out what type of payment they took. She was directed to a voice recording since no one was there yet. She received a return call that afternoon. My wife asked if they took American Express credit card as payment and was told they did. when the bill came I was surprised when the waitress came back to advise us that they DO NOT ACCEPT AMERICAN EXPRESS as payment. I informed the waitress that my wife had called in advance and was told they did. We went for dinner the evening of 12-26-2012 and had a delicious meal. The waitress we had was rather bothered by some of our not knowing the normal ritual of their restuarant. If you choose to visit this establishment be forewarned that they DO NOT ACCEPT AMERICAN EXPRESS as payment even though they tell you they do. I think it is a ploy to get you to their place. Fortunately we had back up to pay. Hate to think what would of happened if we couldn't. Word of advice. Try to get the younger waitress. The OLDER waitress is somewhat snotty if you get my drift. Food is good but the help could use a tune up..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    45
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, Ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Eclectic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is my favorite local restaurant. The food board is a wonderful start...local cheeses, pate and the famous Larrupin sauce. I have tried everything on the menu except the vegetarian options. All excellent. Many of our guests LOVE the brisket. Great selection of wines, beautiful gardens....personable service. Thumbs up!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ambience and very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

When I say good, I not only mean taste but good as in organic, home grown or locally supplied. The fish is fresh and fabulously prepared by chef/owner who greets his guests individually in the beautifully decorated dining room. Very elegantly homey atmosphere! I will be going back! You must sample the goat cheese mousse with raspberry sauce, sounds a little different but you will think you are in heaven with one bite, and almost no guilt.
If you go in the summer the patio, with live music, is really sweet!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Had an excellent dinner on Halloween”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Larrupin Cafe was decorated with lots of Halloween regalia, one of the few restaurants open. We had tasty meals including their special cheese and fruit board appetizer. One of us had the duck, the other the salmon special (one of the tastiest salmon dishes ever).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love it here! Been coming here for years and still so good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The atmosphere is eclectic, relaxing and homey. The food here is really good. I wouldn't say it is totally amazing but it is very good. I have been here alot. Celebrated my ex boyfriend's graduation here and have lots of fond memories of this place. For me there is something soulful about the place and considering I spent most of my 20's in this area I guess I can see why. The restaurant has beautiful views and is really not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larrupin Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Larrupin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larrupin Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.