We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple place, great view, good fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Grill

Moonstone Grill
100 Moonstone Beach Rd, Trinidad, CA 95570-9619
707-677-1616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Trinidad
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Simple place, great view, good fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had dinner here one evening during a visit to greater Trinidad - well, how about just Trinidad? There aren't many restaurants in the neighborhood and even fewer that beckon for dinner. Moonstone is one of them. They trade on their view of the coast, which is pretty good, not spectacular, but totally respectable. The surprise is that the food is even better. They have a large bar where you can prop yourself up on your elbows and solve the world's problems with the help of local libations. The tables are arranged along the windows to max out on the view. The food itself was quite good - the fish in particular. Friendly service from a staff who presumably are working their way through something, perhaps college or life or whatever. All in all, a very pleasant place for an evening meal. The "Scenic Drive" that connects the restaurant with Trinidad is hair-raising and also offers views that are spectacular. Drive it BEFORE you visit the bar. Afterwards, return via good old safe CA101.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best meal we have had on our trip through Oregon and Northern California!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this restaurant without a reservation and they accommodated us. So happy they did! Absolutely the best meal we have had yet! I had the Kobe strip and my husband had the filet. Both were excellent cuts of meat and cooked to perfection. Being from the south, the greens and garlic mashed potatoes were appreciated and delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding.CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Moonstone more than met our expectations. Well run bar with original margarita. Great service. The sunset view was spectacular. Delicious meal.. All in all, a delightful evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view, great staff, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After a drive down a secluded, sometimes single lane lush roadway called scenic drive down to what felt like the enchanted beach we arrived at the restaurant sans reservation on a busy night. While there were no tables available we were offered a spot at the bar. The patrons seemed a healthy mix of local friends meeting for a fun Thursday evening and vacationers celebrating various events. All tables are at a widow facing the most glorious beach breakers view, and the bar, while in the middle of the room shares this view. There is not a bad view in the house. Despite our lack of imbibing, the bartender treated us with all the care and respect of the others in her service. The wait staff was prompt, courteous, and attentive. The scallop Rockefeller appetizer was so fresh and delicious, and my dinner, the house seafood special, consisted of Hawaiian white fish on a bed of the most subtle yet divine coconut almond rice. My husband ordered a curry dish which he also thoroughly enjoyed. If you are in Trinidad this is a place to put on your itinerary for sure. The perfect spot to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or any other special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were taken here for a special dinner by my son and his wife and daughter. The setting is right on the ocean in Trinidad and the sun setting on the ocean was beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Grill also viewed

 

Been to Moonstone Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.