We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Grill

Moonstone Grill
100 Moonstone Beach Rd, Trinidad, CA 95570-9619
707-677-1616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 restaurants in Trinidad
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great views and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really enjoyed this restarant, pricey but get there early the view on the beach is great. The drive to get there is also quite fun. Food was good as was the service. Burgers looked amaxing but they ran out by the time we got here - would definetly go back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    26
    27
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal to match a Perfect View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This restaurant has a great location. We happended to catch a fog-free sunset that was gorgeous. I had a scallop appetizer, which was amazing, and the duck for my entree. The scallops were cooked perfect, and the duck as well. It was almost as tender as the scallops. We'll be visiting again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Moonstone Grill has it all. The view is fantastic from anywhere in the restaurant. The food and drinks are delicious. The staff is the tops. This is my favorite restaurant on the North Coast of California.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Locals Won't like it if they know I'm reviewing this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Moonstone Grill is a great place to watch the ocean and sunset. It is not large and is at the end of a mall road where there is no coastal route. Food is excellent and the bar is right out of a movie set in the quintessential California Beach bar- go early, go or a stroll on the beach, watch surfers and then sit back and have a laugh and a great dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This restaurant served good food. I ordered the kobe beef special and my gf had the ruby trout. It was dark out but I'm certain that the view from the back is marvelous during the day. Staff was very nice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Grill also viewed

 

Been to Moonstone Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.