We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 5 stars, maybe even 6!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vandees Boutique B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Vandees Boutique B & B to your Saves list
The Vandees Boutique B & B
2C Lime Kiln Lane, Aghalee BT67 0EZ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Aghalee B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic 5 stars, maybe even 6!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Must admit, I'm not normally a B&B person, but what have I been missing! No sooner booked and had contact from the owners by email. Good directions given if needed and contact numbers. JP and Noreen are a lovely couple. It was a solo stay as I had a function to attend nearby. JP provided transport to and from, really appreciative of that. The house - what can I say but fantastic, beautiful property. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and great big bathroom. Most importantly very clean throughout. Great nights sleep, but they saved the best to last - the breakfast, wow. Honestly, this B&B puts hotels to shame and I will most definitely be making a return visit in the new year. A lovely part of the world, but just didn't have the time this trip to see it. A definite 5 star experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here when we were guests at a wedding in the area and had a brilliant time. The B&B is beautiful, uniquely decorated, stylish and very comfortable. The location is lovely, set in the middle of green countryside.

The owners Noreen and Jean Paul were very friendly and helpful from the first inquiry. Great email and telephone communication to arrange for the five of us to stay. They provided complimentary transport from the B&B to the wedding and back at the end of the party. Jean Paul was great entertainment on return to the B&B, where we all had a glass of wine and chatted. The next morning we woke to a delicious home cooked Ulster Fry (with continental option).

They also posted me my earrings which I discovered I had managed to leave behind.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with Jean-Paul on our journey through Ireland. We were sad that we missed meeting Noreen as they are obviously a special couple who have created a beautiful and unique home.
Every possible need has been thought of, with a super comfortable bed with feather duvet and pillows, a well appointed bathroom with fluffy towels and every extra one might wish for.
Jean-Paul made a recommendation and a booking for dinner for us and even offered to run us there.
Breakfast was served to a background of Irish music which we took away as a CD.
This is a gorgeous place to stay, and we were sorry that we could not stay a little longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Noreen and JP welcomed me into their home and I immediately became part of their family. Their warmth and hospitality made my stay into one of the most unforgettable experiences I have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble and their friendliness and love of people was apparent. I long to go back there sometime and would rate this as highly as I can.

Room Tip: Alll rooms are amazing and have their own unique charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for the night, after going to a wedding in Rivervale Barn. Our stay was fantastic, we wished we could have stayed another few nights. Everything about the B&B was totally unique, amazing art work and lovely decor. The bedrooms were total luxury, with great attention to detail. The beds were really comfy, and the power shower in the morning was just the ticket! Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, a perfect fry, and homemade banana bread to finish. The owners made us feel so welcome, they were totally accommodating in every way. We can't wait to visit again and we will be telling all our friends to check it out for a luxurious and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Noreen and JP at their wonderful B&B for a weekend treat... And what a treat it was! The welcome was warm and the house a fantastic boutique experience. Our room was beautifully appointed, with amazing attention to detail, and with the bathroom putting some of the best hotels I have stayed in to shame. We went out for dinner on Saturday night, and our hosts were kind enough to drop us off, and pick us up from the restaurant - Now that's what I call customer service! We arose late to, what I can only describe as, the best breakfast I have ever had. We were waved off sometime after the great 'full Irish' start to our Sunday by our hosts, but we will be back! I cannot recommend the Vandees enough. Thank you Noreen and JP - see you again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, Co Antrim
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay and chose the Vandees B&B. We were not disappointed. The location is tranquil and the room was lovely and furnished in a very individual way.
There were lots of special touches including homemade biscuits in the room and a welcome drink was offered. We received a very warm welcome from JP and Noreen and they gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner. The breakfast next day was of excellent quality including a beautiful fruit salad and quality sausage. The presentation was excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer and had time to explore the local area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vandees Boutique B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vandees Boutique B & B

Address: 2C Lime Kiln Lane, Aghalee BT67 0EZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Aghalee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aghalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vandees Bed and Breakfast is an idyllic rural retreat owned by Jean Paul and Noreen Van der Velde. Described as going "beyond the bizarre" their unique and individually styled home was chosen to feature in the BBC House of the Year program. Just recently opened and bordering on the edge of Co Armagh/Antrim and Down, The Vandees is ideally located to explore and visit most major attractions in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Vandees Boutique B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vandees Boutique B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.